[OCG] OCG Rulings for 11/7/2013

11/7/2013
Assorted rulings:

Q: If a Sangan whose effects have been negated as a result of the effect of Number 107: Galaxy-Eyes Tachyon Dragon is sent to the Graveyard, what happens with the effect of that Sangan?
A: In that case, the effect of Sangan that activates in the Graveyard is applied normally.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12963&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: The effect of Mermail Abyssmegalo to Special Summon itself was activated, discarding an Atlantean Marksman as a cost. In this case, how does this scenario resolve?
Furthermore, in this situation, can the opponent activate Bottomless Trap Hole?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Atlantean Marksman does not activate immediately.
The effect of Mermail Abyssmegalo to Special Summon itself is activated as Chain Link 1, and you check whether or not to respond to that effect with cards like Divine Wrath.
After the effect that Special Summons Mermail Abyssmegalo is done resolving, the effect of the successfully Special Summoned Mermail Abyssmegalo and the effect of the Atlantean Marksman discarded from the hand activate and form a chain.
(While building that chain, the mandatory effect of Atlantean Marksman is Chain Link 1, and the optional effect of Mermail Abyssmegalo is Chain Link 2)
Furthermore, if the opponent wishes to activate Bottomless Trap Hole, it is activated at this point as Chain Link 3.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12964&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

NOTE: The original text has a typo saying “Atlantean Marksman” is activated as Chain Link 2 because it’s optional. This is most likely a name error, and they meant Mermail Abyssmegalo’s effect instead.

Q: If the opponent activates D.D. Crow in a chain to the effect of Evilswarm Kerykeion that adds 1 “-lswarm” Monster from the Graveyard to the hand, so that the targeted “-lswarm” Monster cannot be added to the hand, can the effect of Evilswarm Kerykeion that Normal Summons 1 “-lswarm” Monster be activated that turn?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated during that turn.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12965&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

NOTE: The ruling initially talks about Constellar Sombre in a typo. The ruling applies to both cards anyway.

Q: When can Breakthrough Skill be activated?
A: If a Breakthrough Skill that is Set on the Field is activated to perform the effect that negates the effect of a monster the opponent controls, it can be activated during either player’s turn.
The effect of Breakthrough Skill that is activated by Banishing it from the Graveyard can only be activated during your own turn.
(Furthermore, even if it’s your turn, if this is the turn in which Breakthrough Skill was sent to the Graveyard, the effect of that Breakthrough Skill in the Graveyard cannot be activated)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12966&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of The Transmigration Prophecy 1 of the 2 targets is no longer in the Graveyard, is the remaining one still returned to the owner’s Deck?
A: Even in that case, the remaining target is still returned to the owner’s Deck.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12967&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Dewloren, Tiger King of the Ice Barrier that monster is no longer face-up on the Field, how does its effect resolve?
A: In that case, the part of the effect that increases its ATK is not performed, but even in that case, the part of the effect that returns the targeted cards to the owner’s hand is still applied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12968&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: Can Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters be targeted for the effect of Dewloren, Tiger King of the Ice Barrier that returns cards to the owner’s hand?
A:Yes, they can.
In that case, the Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters do not return to the hand and return to the Extra Deck instead.
Since those monsters did not return to the owner’s hand, they are not counted towards the number of cards returned to the hand this way.
(The ATK of Dewloren, Tiger King of the Ice Barrier does not increase by the number of monsters returned to the Extra Deck)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12969&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If a LIGHT Monster you control battles with an opponent’s monster that is unaffected by the effects of other cards as a result of the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, can you activate the effect of Honest from the hand?
A: Yes, you can.
Since the effect of Honest does not affect the opponent’s monster, even if the opponent’s monster is unaffected by the effects of other cards as a result of the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, the effect of Honest is applied normally.
The LIGHT Monster you control gains ATK equal to the ATK of the opponent’s monster.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12970&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: While you control a face-up Imperial Customs and Vanity’s Emptiness, if a card from your Deck or your side of the Field is sent to you Graveyard, is Vanity’s Emptiness destroyed?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness that destroys it when a card is sent from your Deck or your side of the Field to your Graveyard activates and starts a chain, but ultimately is not destroyed, and it remains on the Field.
Furthermore, the effect that prevents both players from Special Summoning is still applied normally.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12971&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: Does the effect of Evilswarm Obliviwisp that negates the effects of an Effect Monster it battles with activate even if it is determined that that Evilswarm Obliviwisp is destroyed in the Damage Calculation of that battle?
A: Even in that case, the effect activates.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12972&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If Summoner of Illusions is flipped face-up while you control a Vanity’s Fiend, how does its FLIP Effect resolve?
A: Even in that case, the FLIP Effect of Summoner of Illusions activates, and the part of the effect that tributes 1 other monster is still performed, but the part of the effect that Special Summons 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck is not performed.
Furthermore, if during that resolution Vanity’s Fiend is tributed, and as a result, the effect that prevents monsters from being Special Summoned is no longer applied, the part of the effect of Summoner of Illusions that Special Summons 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck is performed.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12973&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Void Trap Hole the monster the opponent Special Summoned has less than 2000 ATK, how does this resolve?
A: If a monster with 2000 or more ATK Special Summoned by the opponent had its ATK reduced to less than 2000 by the effect of Shrink when Void Trap Hole resolves, the effect of Void Trap Hole does not resolve.
(The effects of that Effect Monster are not negated and it is not destroyed)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12974&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If the opponent Special Summons an Effect Monster with 2000 ATK or more, Void Trap Hole is activated, and Forbidden Chalice is chained targeting that Effect Monster, how does Void Trap Hole resolve?
A: In that case, at the time of the resolution of Void Trap Hole, since the effects of that Effect Monster have already been negated, the effect of Void Trap Hole is not applied.
(The effects of that Effect Monster are not negated by it, and it is not destroyed)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12975&keyword=&tag=-1.action?request_locale=en

Q: If a face-up “Fire Fist” Monster you control is targeted for the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Cardinal, and at the time of the resolution of the effect that monster has been flipped face-down, is that monster returned to the owner’s Deck?
Also, if a face-up monster the opponent controls is targeted for the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Cardinal, and at the time of the resolution of the effect that monster has been flipped face-down, is that monster returned to the owner’s Deck?
A: If a face-up “Fire Fist” Monster you control is targeted for the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Cardinal, and at the time of the resolution of the effect that monster has been flipped face-down, that monster does not return to the owner’s Deck.
(The other cards return to the Deck as usual)
Also, if a face-up “Fire Fist” Monster the opponent controsl is targeted for the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Cardinal, and at the time of the resolution of the effect that monster has been flipped face-down, that monster does not return to the owner’s Deck.
(The other cards return to the Deck as usual)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12976&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons