[OCG] OCG Rulings 1/30/2014

1/30/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If a player controls a monster affected by Forbidden Lance, and another monster, when resolving the effect of Creature Swap can that player choose the monster that is unaffected by Spell effects?
A: For the effect of Creature Swap, a player can choose a monster affected by Forbidden Lance. In that case, switching control of it with an opponent’s monster is impossible, so the effect of Creature Swap disappears.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13066&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a player Special Summons Proto-Cyber Dragon to their side of the field, and Inferno Reckless Summon is activated, will they be able to Special Summon other copies of Proto-Cyber Dragon, or Cyber Dragon?
A: When resolving Inferno Reckless Summon, the player will Special Summon as many monsters from their hand, Deck, or Graveyard as possible with the same name as the monster you Special Summoned, which in this case is Cyber Dragon.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13064&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If there are no copies of Number 101: Silent Honor ARK in a player’s Graveyard, but they do control a Number C101: Silent Honor DARK with Number 101: Silent Honor ARK as an Xyz Material, is it possible to activate the effect of Number C101: Silent Honor DARK to Special Summon itself when it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard?
A: Yes, it is possible.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13063&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the Xyz Summon of Cyber Nova Dragon is negated by the opponent’s Solemn Judgment, and it is then sent to the Graveyard, is it possible to activate its effect to Special Summon a Machine-Type Fusion Monster from the Extra Deck?
A: Yes, it is possible.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13067&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to activate the effect of Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage, targeting an Xyz Monster the opponent controls that has been affected by Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand?
A: Yes, it is possible. In this case, the effect of Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage will resolve as far as having its name, original ATK, and effects become the same as the targeted monster’s name, current ATK, and original effects, but the targeted monster’s ATK will not become 0.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13065&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to target an Effect Monster with 0 ATK with the first effect of Gorgonic Guardian?
A: No, it is not possible.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13061&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to target a Normal Monster with the first effect of Gorgonic Guardian?
A: Yes, it is possible, but not a Normal Monster with 0 ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13062&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the turn in which a player has already activated the effect of a card other than a “Chronomaly” card, can they activate the effect of Chronomaly Nebra Disk that Special Summons it from the Graveyard? Also, if the effect of a card other than a Chronomaly card is activated but has the activation negated, can that effect of Chronomaly Nebra Disk be activated that turn?
A: During the turn in which a player has already activated the effect of a card other than a “Chronomaly” card, the effect of Chronomaly Nebra Disk that Special Summons it from the Graveyard cannot be activated. If the effect of a card other than a Chronomaly card is activated but has the activation negated, that effect of Chronomaly Nebra Disk can be activated that turn. (Note that if only the effect is negated but not the activation, then the effect of Chronomaly Nebra Disk cannot be activated that turn.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13060&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the turn in which the effect of Heraldry Augmentation to add a “Heraldry” Spell/Trap Card from the Deck to the hand has been activated, if another copy of Heraldry Augmentation is activated in the Field Zone, can its effect to add a card to the hand be activated?
A: Yes, the second copy’s effect can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13057&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the effect of Ghostrick Jackfrost that flips an attacking monster face-down and Special Summons Ghostrick Jackfrost from the hand, if that attacking monster has become unaffected by other card effects because of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, how does Ghostrick Jackfrost resolve?
A: In this case, it is not possible to resolve the effect which flips the attacking monster face-down, which means the part that Special Summons Ghostrick Jackfrost from the hand also does not apply. (It will remain in the hand.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13068&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the second effect of Number 36: Chronomaly Fork Hyuk, if the targeted monster’s current and original ATK are now the same, will that monster be destroyed?
A: No, the targeted monster will not be destroyed.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13059&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the Xyz Summon of Number 18: Heraldic Progenitor Plain-Coat is negated by Solemn Judgment, and it is then sent to the Graveyard, is it possible to activate its effect to send 2 “Heraldic Beast” monsters from the Deck to the Graveyard?
A: Yes, it is possible.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13058&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If 2 copies of Evilswarm Kerykeion are sent to the Graveyard in the same turn, is it possible to use the effects of each one to reduce the number of Tributes needed for the Normal Summon of an “lswarm” monster?
A: Even if 2 copies of Evilswarm Kerykeion are sent to the Graveyard in the same turn, this effect can only be applied once per turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13049&keyword=&tag=0

(The following 2 rulings were asked separately for Blaster, Tempest, and Tidal, for a total of six new ruling entries, but they all asked the same thing so I decided to consolidate them into 2 “Dragon Ruler” rulings.)

Q: Explain the text in each “Dragon Ruler” monster that states, “You can only use 1 [Dragon Ruler] effect per turn, and only once that turn.”
A: Each “Dragon Ruler” monster has 4 different effects. Among those effects, only 1 can be activated per turn, and only once that turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13054&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a “Dragon Ruler” monster was Special Summoned by its own effect, and then control of it was switched using Creature Swap, would its effect of returning to the hand activate during that End Phase?
A: If Special Summoned, as long as it is the opponent’s End Phase (from the perspective of the current controller of the “Dragon Ruler” monster), its effect of returning to the hand will activate. However, each player can only use an effect of each “Dragon Ruler” monster once per turn. In the above scenario, the player who Special Summoned the “Dragon Ruler” monster has already activated its effect that turn, but not its current controller. Therefore, in this case, it will activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13053&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons