[OCG] OCG rulings 1/23/2014

1/23/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If D.D. Crow is activated in a chain to the effect of Evilswarm Kerykeion that adds 1 “Evilswarm” monster from the Graveyard, to the hand, so that the “Evilswarm” monster cannot be added to the hand, can the effect to Normal Summon 1 “Evilswarm” monster be activated that turn?
A: Yes, it can.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12965&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Pilgrim Reaper be activated if either player has 4 or less cards left in their Deck?
A: The effect cannot be activated if both players don’t have 5 or more cards left in their Deck.
Furthermore, if at the time of the resolution of the effect either player has 4 or less cards in their Deck, the effect resolves normally. (The players who have 4 or less cards left in their Deck send all the cards left in their Deck to the Graveyard when the effect resolves.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13035&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Floatress be Synchro Summoned after a Level 8 or lower monster has already declared an attack that turn?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, those Level 8 or lower monsters are still affected by the effect that prevents Level 8 or lower monsters from attacking during the turn in which they are Normal or Special Summoned, but since they have already declared an attack, those monsters end up receiving no effect from this effect.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13036&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Santa Claws Special Summoned by the method described in its text returns to your control by the effect of Owner’s Seal, which player can activate the effect that draws a card?
Also, if Remove Brainwashing is activated in a chain to the effect of a Santa Claws controlled by the opponent, so that you take control of that Santa Claws, which player draws a card?
A: The player who can draw a card with the effect of Santa Claws that activates during the End Phase is the player who activates the effect.
Therefore, if a Santa Claws Special Summoned by the method described in its text returns to your control by the effect of Owner’s Seal, the player who can activate the effect to draw a card is you. (The opponent cannot draw a card.)
In the same way, if Remove Brainwashing is activated in a chain to the effect of a Santa Claws controlled by the opponent, so that you take control of that Santa Claws, the opponent is who draws a card. (You cannot draw a card.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13037&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Satan Claws Special Summoned by the method described in its text is no longer face-up at the time of the End Phase because it was destroyed or similar, can the effect that allows the controller to draw 1 card be activated?
A: No, it cannot.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13038&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Felice, Lightsworn Archer be Special Summoned from the Deck by the effect of Summoner Monk?
A: Felice, Lightsworn Archer is a Special Summon monster, but as long as it is a card effect, it can be Special Summoned.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, Felice, Lightsworn Archer can be Special Summoned by the effect of Summoner Monk.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13039&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Felice, Lightsworn that destroys 1 monster on the field the targeted monster is affected by Forbidden Dress or it is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device so that it is not destroyed, is the part of the effect that sends 3 cards from the Deck to the Graveyard still applied?
A: In that case, that part of the effect is not applied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13040&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can you equip more than 1 copy of Number 58: Burner Viser to the same Xyz Monster?
A: Yes, you can.
The effect of each copy that activates when Battle Damage is inflicted to the opponent can be activated. (1 card must be discarded as a cost for each of these effects.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13041&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Ruffian Railcar that was sent to the Graveyard is no longer in the Graveyard during the End Phase because it was Special Summoned or banished, can its effect be activated during the End Phase?
Also, if a Ruffian Railcar that activated its effect is no longer there as a result of the effect of D.D. Crow being chained to its activation, how does the effect resolve?
A: If a Ruffian Railcar that was sent to the Graveyard is no longer in the Graveyard during the End Phase because it was Special Summoned or banished, its effect cannot be activated.
Also, even if a Ruffian Railcar that activated its effect is no longer there as a result of the effect of D.D. Crow being chained to its activation, the effect resolves normally.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13042&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the opponent activate Torrential Tribute when Snow Plow Hustle Rustle is Special Summoned from the hand by its own effect?
A: Basically, the opponent cannot activate Torrential Tribute at that time.
After performing the part of the effect that Special Summons this card, the part of the effect after the “then” has to be performed.
Furthermore, if the opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon to the activation of the effect of your Snow Plow Hustle Rustle, so that you do not control any cards in your Spell & Trap Card Zone, since the last thing to happen is performing the part of the effect that Special Summons this card, the opponent can activate Torrential Tribute.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13043&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Minerva, Lightsworn Maiden that sends 1 card from the Deck to the Graveyard activate if it’s sent from the hand to the Graveyard as a cost to activate Raigeki Break or from the Deck to the Graveyard to activate the effect of Card Trooper?
A: As long as it is sent from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard, even if it’s sent to the Graveyard as a cost in the proposed scenario, the effect of Minerva, Lighsworn Maiden will activate.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13044&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Michael, Lightsworn Ark that activates when it is destroyed target another copy of itself in the Graveyard?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, the targeted copy of Michael, Lightsworn Ark is returned to the Extra Deck, and since it was returned, it is included towards the amount of cards returned for the part of the effect that inflicts 300 damage to the opponent for each card returned.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13045&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Geargiattacker was flipped face-up and its effect was activated. How is the number of Spell and Trap Card to destroy decided?
For example, if when Geargiattacker is flipped face-up there are other 3 “Geargia” monsters on the field, but the opponent only controls 2 Spell or Trap Cards, how does this resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, since there are 3 other “Geargia” monsters on the field, when the effect of Geargiattacker resolves, 1 to 3 Spell or Trap Cards on the field are destroyed.
If there are only 2 spell or Trap Cards on the field whe nthe effect resolves, either 1 or 2 Spell or Trap Cards are destroyed.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13046&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Geargiagear XG you control declares an attack, the opponent activated the effect of Number 39: Utopia they control that negates attacks.
At the time, if the effect of Geargiagear XG is activated, is the effect of that Number 39: Utopia negated?
A: In that case, the effect of Geargiagear XG can be activated.
If you do, the effect of Number 39: Utopia is negated by the effect of Geargiagear XG.
Also, since the effect that prevents other effects from being activated until the End of the Damage Step is also applied, as long as other effects were not applied the battle is performed as usual.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13047&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the activation of the effect of Geargiauger is negated by Divine Wrath, or if Skill Drain is chained to its activation negating the effect, can you attack or Special Summon monsters that turn?
A: In either case you can declare attacks and Special Summon non-Machine-Type Monsters.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13048&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons