[OCG] New Rulings for Sangan

New rulings for the classic critter following the changes to its effect.

For reference, my unofficial translation of the new effect.

If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: Add 1 monster with 1500 or less ATK from your Deck to your hand, but for the rest of this turn, you cannot activate cards, or the effects of cards, with the same name as the monster added to your hand by this effect. You can only use this effect of “Sangan” once per turn.

Q: While the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, if Sangan is sent from the field to my Graveyard, will its effect activate?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Sangan will activate. In that case, since the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh prevents you from adding cards from your Deck to your hand except by drawing, the effect of Sangan does not apply, including the part of the effect that prevents you from activating cards’ effects for the rest of the turn. (You do not look through your Deck and select any monster.) Note that even in this case, you cannot activate the effect of Sangan again this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18619&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I add a Normal Monster to my hand with the effect of Sangan?
A: You can add any monster with 1500 or less ATK to your hand with the effect of Sangan, even if it does not have an effect that activates. If you add a Pendulum Monster such as Dragong to your hand, you cannot activate it as a Spell Card in your Pendulum Zone, also you cannot activate the Pendulum Effects of Normal Monsters that are also Pendulum Monsters in your Pendulum Zone.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18618&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: This turn, Sangan was Special Summoned by the effect of Mystic Tomato. If that Sangan is sent from the field to the Graveyard this turn, can I add a Mystic Tomato to my hand with its effect?
A: If the effect of Sangan is applied, afterward you cannot activate cards or effects with the same name as the monster you add to your hand. In this situation, you can add Mystic Tomato to your hand even though the effect of a card with that name was activated previously that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18611&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s turn, the effect of my Sangan activates and I add a Necro Gardna to my hand. During this turn, if I have another Necro Gardna in my Graveyard, can I activate its effect?
A: In this scenario, you added Necro Gardna to your hand with the effect of Sangan, which means you cannot activate the effect of Necro Gardna this turn. Even the effect of Necro Gardna that activates in your Graveyard cannot be activated this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18614&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Draw Phase, the effect of my Sangan activates and I add Amorphage Aplistia to my hand. If I have another copy of Amorphage Aplistia in my Pendulum Zone, what happens during my Standby Phase?
A: In this scenario, you added Amorphage Aplistia to your hand with the effect of Sangan, which means you cannot activate Amorphage Aplistia this turn. However, Tributing 1 monster during each of your Standby Phases or destroying it is not treated as a card effect, so even if you added Amorphage Aplistia to your hand with the effect of Sangan, the maintenance cost procedure will be carried out normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18610&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: With the effect of Sangan, I add a Qliphort Scout to my hand. This turn, which effects can I not activate?
A: In this situation, if you add the Pendulum Monster Qliphort Scout to your hand with the effect of Sangan, you cannot activate Qliphort Scout as a Spell Card in the Pendulum Zone that turn. Also, if a Qliphort Scout is already in your Pendulum Zone, you cannot activate its Pendulum Effect. However, you can still Normal Summon/Set Qliphort Scout or Special Summon it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18617&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: With the effect of Sangan, I add a Harpie Dancer to my hand. This turn, which effects can I not activate?
A: In this scenario, you added Harpie Dancer to your hand with the effect of Sangan, which means you cannot activate the effect of Harpie Dancer this turn. Harpie Dancer can still be Normal Summoned or Special Summoned by another card’s effect. Although you cannot activate the effect of a card called Harpie Dancer, due to its other effect, the name of Harpie Dancer is treated as Harpie Lady while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard. Therefore, during your Main Phase, you can activate the effect of a Harpie Dancer on the field. However, if the effect of a card such as Skill Drain negates the effect of Harpie Dancer that treats it as Harpie Lady, you will not be able to activate the effect of Harpie Dancer in that situation.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18616&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: With the effect of Sangan, I add a Harpie Lady 1 to my hand. This turn, can I activate the effect of Harpie Harpist?
A: In this scenario, you added Harpie Lady 1 to your hand with the effect of Sangan, and since Harpie Lady 1 is always treated as Harpie Lady, that means you cannot activate the effect of Harpie Lady this turn. Due to the effect of Harpie Harpist, the name of Harpie Harpist is treated as Harpie Lady while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, which means that you will not be able to activate either effect of Harpie Harpist this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18615&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: With the effect of Sangan, I add a Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin to my hand. This turn, can I activate the effect of Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin?
A: In this scenario, you added Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin to your hand with the effect of Sangan, which means you cannot activate the effect of Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin this turn. Since Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin is also treated as Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, you will not be able to activate the effect of Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18612&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: With the effect of Sangan, I add a Superheavy Samurai General Coral to my hand. This turn, I cannot activate the effects of Superheavy Samurai General Coral, but as a rule it is always treated as a “Superheavy Samurai” card. Does this mean I cannot activate the effects of other “Superheavy Samurai” monsters this turn?
A: In this scenario, you added Superheavy Samurai General Coral to your hand with the effect of Sangan, which means you cannot activate the effect of Superheavy Samurai General Coral this turn. Superheavy Samurai General Coral is always treated as a “Superheavy Samurai” monster due to its ruling text, but its name is still just Superheavy Samurai General Coral. Therefore, the effects of other “Superheavy Samurai” monsters such as Superheavy Samurai Battleball can be activated normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18613&keyword=&tag=-1

This ruling sounds weird in English because Superheavy Samurai General Coral is already a “Superheavy Samurai” monster by name in the TCG, but it is only a “Superheavy” monster in the OCG, with an added rule clause in its text that always treats it as a “Superheavy Samurai” card. Think Contrast HERO Chaos or Edge Imp Frightfuloid. This clause is missing in the English text because it was simply converted into part of CORAL’s name, and this ruling is asking if that name clause affects the restrictions applied by Sangan.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons