Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    FAQ Rulings Updates

    [OCG] May 2025 Rulings Update

    RedshiftBy RedshiftMay 31, 20251 Comment

    A quiet month.

     

     

    UPDATED ENTRIES

     

    “What happens if I activate Mask Change in a situation where cards that would be sent to the GY are banished instead?”
    Q: If I activate Mask Change while an effect is applying that states any card sent to the GY is banished instead, such as my opponent’s Masked HERO Dark Law, what happens?
    A: The monster targeted by Mask Change is banished, but the part of the effect “if it left the field by this effect, Special Summon 1 “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck” is applied normally.
    The same applies to Mask Change II.

    Source

     

    “In which ways can I activate the effect of Daigusto Emeral?”
    Q:
    (A) If I only have 2 monsters in my GY, including a non-Effect Monster, and Daigusto Emeral has a Monster Card attached as an Xyz Material, can I activate its effect “Target 3 monsters in your GY; shuffle all 3 into the Deck, then draw 1 card”?
    (B) If the only monsters in my GY are 3 Effect Monsters, and Daigusto Emeral has a non-Effect Monster attached as an Xyz Material, can I activate its effect “Target 1 non-Effect Monster in your GY; Special Summon that target”?
    A: You can activate its effect in both cases.
    The effect of Daigusto Emeral can be activated as long as at least one of its “●” effects can be applied. In other words, even if you only have 2 monsters in your GY but there is a non-Effect Monster among them, that means you can apply the second “●” effect, so you can activate the effect of Daigusto Emeral. And if the card you detached for cost is a Monster Card that is sent to the GY, you can now apply the first “●” effect, so you can select that effect and activate it. (The same applies if you wish to activate the second “●” effect.)
    Furthermore, if you only have 2 or fewer monsters in your GY and none of them are non-Effect Monsters, you cannot activate the effect of Daigusto Emeral.

    Source

     

    “What happens if I activate the effect of a monster that gains the same name and effects as another monster’s, by targeting a monster that is unaffected by monster effects?”
    Q: If I activate the effect of Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage, targeting an Xyz Monster that is unaffected by monster effects due to the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, what happens?
    A: The effects of Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage, “this card’s name and original ATK become that monster’s name and current ATK, and this card’s effect becomes that monster’s original effect”, are applied normally until the End Phase. (Its name and original ATK becoming the same as the targeted monster’s name and ATK, and gaining that monster’s original effects, are not effects that apply to the targeted monster.)
    Furthermore, the part of the effect, “that monster’s ATK becomes 0 and its effects are negated”, is one that applies to the targeted monster, so it will not apply to a monster that is unaffected by monster effects.
    If you activate the following effects and select a monster unaffected by monster effects, the listed monster will still gain the name and effects of that monster:
    – Neo-Spacian Dark Panther
    – One-Eyed Skill Gainer
    – Number 69: Heraldry Crest
    – Number C69: Heraldry Crest of Horror
    – Starving Venemy Dragon
    – Starving Venom Fusion Dragon
    – Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom
    – Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon

    Source

     

    “Can I activate Small World while my hand is revealed?”
    Q: Can I activate Small World while the effect of my opponent’s The Eye of Truth is applying?
    A: If your hand is already being revealed, you cannot apply the effect “reveal 1 monster in your hand”, so you cannot activate Small World.
    If your hand is being revealed by the effects of The Eye of Truth, Respect Play, Mutually Affured Destruction, or Ceremonial Bell, the following effects also cannot be activated:
    – Draconnection
    – Performapal Recasting

    Source

     

    “If the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One is not applied, can a second Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One be activated during that Duel?”
    Q:
    (A) If the activation or effect of my Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One is negated, can I activate a second Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One during that Duel?
    (B) If the activated effect of my Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One becomes “Destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls” due to the effect of my opponent’s Artifact Durendal, and that effect resolves, can I activate a second Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One during that Duel?
    (C) If the activation and effect of my Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One is not negated, but another effect is applying when it resolves so that I am not able to Special Summon, can I activate a second Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One during that Duel?
    A:
    (A) and (B) It can be activated. If the activation or effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One is negated, or if the effect is changed, the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One as written in its text is not applied.
    (C) It cannot be activated.
    The same applies to the effects of the following cards:
    – Dai Dance
    – Rainbow Bridge of Salvation

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the effect of Vanquish Soul Holy Sue while my hand is revealed?”
    Q: Can I activate the effect of Vanquish Soul Holy Sue while the effect of my opponent’s The Eye of Truth is applying?
    A: No, you cannot.
    If your hand is already being revealed by effects of The Eye of Truth, Respect Play, Mutually Affured Destruction, or Ceremonial Bell, you cannot activate effects that require you to reveal a card in your hand as cost, including the following:
    Monsters
    – Vanquish Soul Heavy Borger
    – Vanquish Soul Dr. Mad Love
    – Vanquish Soul Caesar Valius
    – Vanquish Soul Jiaolong
    – Vanquish Soul Pantera
    – Vanquish Soul Pluton HG
    – Vanquish Soul Razen
    – Danger! Bigfoot!
    – Danger! Chupacabra!
    – Danger!? Jackalope?
    – Danger! Thunderbird!
    – Danger! Dogman!
    – Danger! Mothman!
    – Danger!? Tsuchinoko?
    – Danger! Ogopogo!
    – Fortune Fairy Hikari
    – Fortune Fairy En
    – Fortune Fairy Hu
    – Fortune Fairy Swee
    – Fortune Fairy Ann
    – Fortune Fairy Chee
    – Impcantation Candoll
    – Impcantation Talismandra
    – Impcantation Bookstone
    – Impcantation Pencilplume
    – Impcantation Chalislime
    – Gunkan Suship Shari Red
    – Gunkan Suship Uni
    – Tessera the Prime Squire
    – K9 – #66a Jokull
    – Argostars – Fierce Parthe
    – Motor Kaiser
    – Gladiator Beast Gistel
    – Elzette, Azamina of the White Forest
    – Metalflame Swordsman
    – Primite Imperial Dragon
    – Metalzoa X
    – Red-Eyes Black Fullmetal Dragon
    – Broomy
    – Fishborg Harpooner
    – Sakitama
    – Noh-P.U.N.K. Deer Note
    – Simorgh, Bird of Perfection
    – Swordsoul of Mo Ye
    – Magnificent Magikey Mafteal
    – Amazement Assistant Delia
    – Converging Wills Dragon
    – Glacier Aqua Madoor
    – Amabie
    – Edge Imp Scythe
    – Deep Sea Artisan
    – Nebula Dragon
    – Trickstar Lycoris
    – Palladium Oracle Mahad
    – High Priestess of Prophecy
    – Infernity Archfiend
    – Tethys, Goddess of Light
    – Angry Burger
    – Ohime the Manifested Mikanko
    – Illusion of Chaos
    – Couplet the Melodius Songstress

    Spells
    – Guilt-Gripping Morganite
    – A.I. Connect
    – A.I. Contact
    – Stake your Soul!
    – Mannadium Imaginings
    – Melffy Staring Contest
    – Fairy Tail Tales
    – Galloping Gaia
    – Tenacity of the Monarchs

    Traps
    – Break the Seal
    – Meteoroa Drytron
    – Vanquish Soul Snow Devil
    – Appointer of the Red Lotus
    – Iron Core Luster
    – Automatic Laser

    Source

     

    “Can I activate Wall of Revealing Light while the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite is applying?”
    Q: If the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite, “You do not pay LP to activate Spell/Trap Cards”, is applying, can I activate Wall of Revealing Light without paying LP?
    A: You cannot activate it.
    While the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite is applying, you do not pay LP to activate Spell/Trap Cards, so you cannot activate any Spell/Trap Cards whose effects are determined by the amount of LP you pay.
    Similarly, the following cards cannot be activated while the effects of Guilt-Gripping Morganite or Spell Economics are applying:
    – Star Blast
    – Psychic Blade
    Furthermore, Wall of Revealing Light cannot be activated if the effect of Dinomorphia Stealthbergia, “While your LP are 2000 or less, you do not pay LP to activate Trap Cards or “Dinomorphia” monster effects”, is applying.

    Source

     

    “If I want to apply the second effect of Number 67: Pair-a-Dice Smasher while resolving its first effect, what is the procedure?”
    Q: If I activate the first effect of Number 67: Pair-a-Dice Smasher which states “each player rolls a six-sided die twice. The player with the higher total cannot activate monster effects or declare an attack, until the end of the next turn”, and I want to apply its second effect which states “if either player rolls a six-sided die (or dice) while this card has material, you can treat one of the results as 7”, what is the procedure?
    A: First, each player rolls a six-sided die twice. After checking all of the results, you choose 1 of the 4 and treat that number as 7. The player with the higher total will be affected by the effect and be unable to activate monster effects or declare an attack until the end of the next turn.

    Source

     

    “Can the effects of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring or Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained to the effect of Cross-Sheep?”
    Q: When I activate the effect of Cross-Sheep, can the following effects be chained to them?
    – Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring
    – Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion
    – Dominus Purge
    – Dominus Impulse
    A: When the effect of Cross-Sheep is activated, even if it is not pointing to any Fusion or Ritual Monsters, it includes both adding a card from the Deck to the hand and Special Summoning a monster from the GY.

    Source

     

    “While the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite is applying, which Spell/Trap Card costs are no longer required?”
    Q: If the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite, “You do not pay LP to activate Spell/Trap Cards”, is applying, which Spell/Trap Card costs are no longer required?
    A: You no longer need to pay LP to activate a Spell/Trap Card, but you still need to pay LP to activate a Spell/Trap effect.
    For example, you no longer need to pay 1000 LP to activate Skill Drain. (You can activate it even if your LP are less than 1000.) On the other hand, you still need to pay 1000 LP to activate the effect of Unending Nightmare. (This is the case whether you activate its effect as part of the same Chain Link as the activation of the card itself, or activate its effect while it is already face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone.)
    The same applies if you no longer need to pay LP to activate Spell/Trap Cards due to the following effects:
    – Spell Economics
    – Dinomorphia Stealthbergia

    Source

     

    NEW ENTRIES

     

    “Can I reveal a Vanquish Soul Holy Sue whose effect was activated in the hand, or a “Vanquish Soul” monster revealed as the cost of that effect, as the cost of another “Vanquish Soul” monster’s effect on the same Chain?”
    Q: I activated the effect of Vanquish Soul Holy Sue in my hand by revealing Vanquish Soul Heavy Borger. If I activate the effect of a Vanquish Soul Dr. Mad Love I control on the same Chain, can I reveal my Vanquish Soul Holy Sue whose effect was activated as Chain Link 1, or the Vanquish Soul Heavy Borger I revealed as the cost for that Vanquish Soul Holy Sue?
    A: Yes, you can.
    Similarly, for the following effects, you can reveal monsters in your hand as cost that you revealed as the cost of activating another “Vanquish Soul” monster’s effect, or a monster in your hand that you showed to declare the activation of its effect:
    – Vanquish Soul Caesar Valius
    – Vanquish Soul Jiaolong
    – Vanquish Soul Pantera
    – Vanquish Soul Pluton HG
    – Vanquish Soul Razen

    Spells
    – Stake your Soul!

    Traps
    – Vanquish Soul Snow Devil

    Source

     

    “Please explain how to apply the effect of Shipment Error.”
    Q: Please explain the procedure for the following situations:
    (A) When my opponent activates Reinforcement of the Army, I activate Shipment Error.
    (B) When I activate Reinforcement of the Army, I activate Shipment Error.
    A:
    (A) The effect of the Reinforcement of the Army your opponent activated becomes “Your opponent takes 1 card from their Deck for you to add to your hand, and you must keep that card revealed. During the End Phase of this turn, shuffle it into the Deck, and if you do, draw 1 card”. Therefore, as the player who activated Shipment Error, you choose 1 card from your Deck and add it to your opponent’s hand. Your opponent must keep that card revealed while it is in their hand, and during the End Phase, they shuffle it into your Deck and draw 1 card.
    (B) The effect of the Reinforcement of the Army you activated is changed, so your opponent chooses 1 card from their Deck and adds it to your hand. You keep that card revealed, and during the End Phase, shuffle it into your opponent’s Deck and draw 1 card.
    In both cases, the timing to apply the effect “shuffle it into the Deck, and if you do, draw 1 card” during the End Phase is decided and declared by the player who activated Reinforcement of the Army.

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the first effect of Exosister Martha while the effect of There Can Be Only One is applying?”
    Q: If I control no monsters, and the effect of There Can Be Only One is applying, can I activate the effect of Exosister Martha in my hand? If so, how does it resolve?
    A: Yes, you can activate it. In that case, the part of the effect “Special Summon this card from your hand” is applied, and the effect finishes resolving. (The part of the effect “Special Summon 1 “Exosister Elis” from your Deck” is not applied.)

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the second effect of Number 60: Dugares the Timeless if there are no monsters in my GY?”
    Q: Can I activate the second effect of Number 60: Dugares the Timeless if there are no monsters in my GY that can be Special Summoned?
    A: The effect of Number 60: Dugares the Timeless can be activated as long as any of the 3 “●” effects can be applied. In other words, even if you have no cards in your Deck and no cards in your GY, it is still possible to apply the third “●” effect, “double the ATK of 1 monster you control until the end of this turn.”
    If you activate this effect, and one of the cards you detached as cost and sent to the GY is a monster that can be Special Summoned, you are now able to apply the second “●” effect, so you can select that effect and activate it.
    Similarly, the first effect of A Bao A Qu, the Lightless Shadow can be activated even if there are no monsters in your GY that can be Special Summoned, and if the card you discard from your hand as the cost is a LIGHT or DARK monster that can be Special Summoned, you can then select the second “●” effect and activate it.

    Source

     

    “Can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained to the last effect of Artifact Mjollnir that was activated without targeting?”
    Q: During my turn, Artifact Mjollnir is Special Summoned to my opponent’s field while they have no “Artifact” monsters in their GY. In this case, when the last effect of Artifact Mjollnir activates, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained?
    A: No, it cannot.

    Source

     

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Redshift

    Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

    Related Articles

    [OCG] April 2025 Rulings Update

    April 30, 2025

    [OCG] March 2025 Rulings Update

    March 31, 2025

    [OCG] February 2025 Rulings Update

    February 28, 2025

    1 Comment

    1. cardtrooper on May 31, 2025 9:14 pm

      I wish the card(s) talked in the ruling were shown alongside their rulings

      Reply

    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Recent Posts

    [TCG-DUAD] Duelist’s Advance Full Set Spoilers

    June 19, 2025

    [TCG-DUAD] Remaining World Premiere Cards From Duelist’s Advance

    June 19, 2025

    [TCG-DUAD] Duelist’s Advance Various Imports

    June 19, 2025

    More Tournament Pack 2025 Vol. 2 Reveals [OCG]

    June 19, 2025

    Artworks of the New Subscription Promo Cards! [VJMP]

    June 18, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.