Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] May 2019 Promo Rulings

OCG promos released in May.

19PR-JP007 Link Apple

  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand.
  • This effect does not target.
  • Revealing this card in your hand is the cost to activate its effect.
  • When resolving the effect, if the random card you banish from your face-down Extra Deck is a Link Monster, apply the part of the effect that Special Summons this card. (Banishing a card from your Extra Deck and Special Summoning this card do not happen simultaneously.)
  • When resolving the effect, if the random card you banish from your Extra Deck is not a Link Monster, apply the part of the effect that discards this card and draws a card. (Banishing a card from your Extra Deck does not happen simultaneously with discarding this card and drawing a card. Also, discarding this card and drawing a card happen simultaneously.)

 

Q: Can I activate the effect of Link Apple if I only have 1 card face-down in my Extra Deck?

A: Even if you only have 1 card face-down in your Extra Deck, you can activate the effect of Link Apple. In that case, when banishing a random card from your face-down Extra Deck, that card is banished, and the rest of the effect is applied depending on what kind of monster it is.

Source

Q: If I activate the effect of Link Apple, but my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness, what happens?

A: In this scenario, the effect of Link Apple resolves while the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying. If the monster banished from the Extra Deck is not a Link Monster, the effect of discarding Link Apple and drawing 1 card is applied normally, but if the banished monster is a Link Monster, you cannot apply the rest of the effect and Link Apple remains in your hand. Also, you cannot activate the effect of Link Apple if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is already applying.

Source

 

19PR-JP008 Flying Carp

  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK by 500 is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Discarding 1 WATER monster is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • If you activate this effect during the Damage Step, it must be at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Fish, Sea Serpent, or Aqua monster from your Deck is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It can be activated optionally at the end of the Damage Step when Flying Carp destroys an opponent’s monster by battle. Tributing that Flying Carp is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • If Flying Carp battles a monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed, you cannot activate this effect.

 

19PR-JP009 Insect Shinobi Hagakuremino

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent’s monsters from targeting this card for attacks while it points to a monster is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Insect monster from your hand or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning a Level 4 Insect monster from your hand or Graveyard. (The effect that banishes the Special Summoned monster when it leaves the field is applied as part of that effect.)
  • Banishing the Special Summoned monster when it leaves the field does not start a Chain.

 

Q: My Insect Shinobi Hagakuremino is in the Extra Monster Zone, pointing to a face-down Defense Position monster in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if Dark Hole is activated and both monsters are destroyed, can I activate the effect of Insect Shinobi Hagakuremino that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Insect monster from my hand or Graveyard?

A: In this scenario, Insect Shinobi Hagakuremino was destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole at the same time as the monster it was pointing to. The effect of Insect Shinobi Hagakuremino that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Insect monster from your hand or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field, so in this case, you cannot activate it.

Source

 

19PR-JP010 Two Toads with One Hop

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a monster from your opponent’s Graveyard to their field and equips this card to it is the effect applied by activating this card. (This effect targets 1 monster in your opponent’s Graveyard.)
  • Special Summoning the targeted monster with its effects negated and equipping it with this card happen simultaneously.
  • Destroying the equipped monster when this card leaves the field does not start a Chain. (This effect is also applied during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents the equipped monster from attacking or being targeted for attacks does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that takes control of an opponent’s Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster that used the equipped monster as a material starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard.

 

Q: I activate Two Toads with One Hop and Special Summon a Thunder Dragon from my opponent’s Graveyard to their field. In this situation, if my opponent Tributes the equipped Thunder Dragon to Special Summon a Thunder Dragon Colossus using the procedure written in its text, will the last effect of Two Toads with One Hop activate?

A: Special Summoning Thunder Dragon Colossus using the procedure written in its text is not a Fusion Summon. Therefore, in this situation, the effect of Two Toads with One Hop that takes control of it does not activate.

Source

 

19PR-JP011 Drumming with Excitement

  • This card can be activated when the combined ATK of your opponent’s face-up monsters is 8000 or more, and an opponent’s monster declares a direct attack.
  • This card does not target.
  • The monsters Special Summoned from your hand, Deck, and Graveyard are Special Summoned simultaneously.
  • You cannot activate this card if you do not have monsters with different names in your hand, Deck, and Graveyard that can be Special Summoned.

 

Q: When I activate Drumming with Excitement, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes the only monster in my Graveyard that can be Special Summoned, what happens?

A: The effect of Drumming with Excitement Special Summons 3 monsters at the same time, 1 each from your hand, Deck, and Graveyard. In this scenario, if you do not have a monster that can be Special Summoned in either your hand, Deck, or Graveyard when resolving the effect, the effect is not applied. (No monster is Special Summoned.)

Source

 

VJMP-JP164 Crossout Designator

  • This card does not target.
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • You declare the name of 1 card currently in your Deck at the time you activate Crossout Designator.
  • This card’s effect will negate the effects of both your cards and your opponent’s cards with the same name as the declared card.
  • This card’s effect will negate the effects of cards that activate or apply on the field, as well as effects that activate in the hand, Graveyard, etc.

 

Q: When activating Crossout Designator, can I declare Harpie Lady?

A: If you have a Harpy Lady in your Deck, you can declare Harpie Lady with Crossout Designator. After the effect is applied, effects such as the effect of Harpie Lady 1 that increases the ATK of all WIND monsters by 300 are negated.

Source

Q: If I activate Crossout Designator by declaring Monster Reborn, but my opponent chains Imperial Iron Wall, what happens?

A: In this scenario, Crossout Designator resolves while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In that case, you cannot apply the part of the effect that banishes a card with the declared name from your Deck, so it (Monster Reborn in this situation) remains in your Deck, and the effects of Monster Reborn are not negated this turn. Also, if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is already applying, Crossout Designator cannot be activated.

Source

Q: My opponent activated Crossout Designator by declaring Inspector Boarder, and banished an Inspector Boarder from their Deck. During this turn, if I activate Forbidden Lance targeting an Inspector Boarder on my field, what happens?

A: In this scenario, if the effect of Forbidden Lance is applied to Inspector Boarder, that Inspector Boarder becomes unaffected by the effect of Crossout Designator, so its effect that limits players from activating monster effects will be applied again.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.