Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    FAQ Rulings Updates

    [OCG] June 2025 Rulings Update

    RedshiftBy RedshiftJune 30, 20253 Comments

    June ruling updates.

     

     

    NEW & UPDATED ENTRIES

     

    “When my Number 39: Utopia equipped with ZW – Asura Strike declares an attack on an opponent’s monster, and my opponent activates the effect of Construction Train Signal Red from their hand, which monsters can Number 39: Utopia attack afterward?”
    Q: When my Number 39: Utopia equipped with ZW – Asura Strike declares an attack on my opponent’s Ruffian Railcar, my opponent activates the effect of Construction Train Signal Red from their hand and conducts damage calculation using that effect. After that battle, can Number 39: Utopia attack either Ruffian Railcar or Construction Train Signal Red?
    A: In this scenario, the effect of Construction Train Signal Red changed the attack target to itself and conducted damage calculation, so your Number 39: Utopia equipped with ZW – Asura Strike cannot attack that Construction Train Signal Red again. Also, when your opponent activates the effect of Construction Train Signal Red, you can then attack the Ruffian Railcar that was first targeted for an attack with your Number 39: Utopia again.

    Source

     

    “If the effects of Re-qliate are activated while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, how is each effect applied?”
    Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is applying, if either the first or second effect of Re-qliate is activated, how is it applied? Also, what happens if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying afterward?
    A: If you resolve either the first or second effect of Re-qliate while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, the part of the effect “negate its effects until the end of this turn” is not applied, but the second effect’s resolution “also banish it when it leaves the field” is still applied normally.
    If the effect of Skill Drain stops applying afterward, since Re-qliate did not successfully negate the monster’s effects, the monster returns to a state of not having its effects negated. However, monsters with the second effect of Re-qliate applied to them will still be banished when they leave the field.

    Source

     

    “If I Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction, can I activate the effect of Dark Magical Circle?”
    Q: Dark Magical Circle is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction, can I activate the effect of Dark Magical Circle?
    A: Yes, you can.
    The effect of Dark Magician the Dragon Knight treats its name as “Dark Magician” while it is on the field or in the GY, so if it is Special Summoned, it fulfills the activation requirement for the effect of Dark Magical Circle, “If “Dark Magician” is Normal or Special Summoned to your field”.
    However, if you Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction while the Continuous Effect of your opponent’s Destiny HERO – Plasma is applying, its effect is negated, so a Dark Magician was not Special Summoned and the effect of Dark Magical Circle cannot be activated. This applies even if you Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction while the effect of your opponent’s Destiny HERO – Plasma and the effect of your Eternal Soul are both applying.
    The same applies to the following cards that have effects that treat their name as “Dark Magician” while they are face-up in the Monster Zone, instead of Dark Magician of Destruction:
    – Dark Magician the Magician of Black Magic
    – Magician of Dark Illusion
    – Dark Magician the Dragon Knight
    – Magician of Chaos
    This also applies to the following effects that can be activated if a Dark Magician is Special Summoned, instead of Dark Magical Circle:
    – Magician’s Salvation (second effect)
    – Dark Magical Amulet (second effect)

    Source

     

    “Can I Special Summon Dark Magician the Dragon Knight or Dark Magician of Destruction from the GY with the effect of Eternal Soul?”
    Q: Can I Special Summon Dark Magician the Dragon Knight or Dark Magician of Destruction from the GY with the effect of Eternal Soul, which Special Summons a Dark Magician from my hand or GY?
    A: You can Special Summon Dark Magician the Dragon Knight if it was properly Special Summoned before, but you cannot Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction.
    The effect of Dark Magician the Dragon Knight treats its name as “Dark Magician” while it is on the field or in the GY, so if that Dark Magician the Dragon Knight was Special Summoned by Fusion Summon and then sent to the GY, you can Special Summon it from the GY with the effect of Eternal Soul. (The same applies if a Ritual Summoned Magician of Chaos is in the GY.)
    However, if Dark Magician the Dragon Knight was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by a method other than a Fusion Summon and then sent to the GY, or if it was sent directly from the Extra Deck to the GY, it was not properly Special Summoned so it cannot be Special Summoned from the GY with the effect of Eternal Soul.
    Dark Magician of Destruction is treated as Dark Magician while in the GY, just like Dark Magician the Dragon Knight, but its text states that it must either be Fusion Summoned or Special Summoned by the procedure written in its text, so generally speaking it can only be Special Summoned by those methods.
    Therefore, even if Dark Magician of Destruction was sent to the GY after being properly Special Summoned, it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Eternal Soul or other effects.

    Source

     

    “If an effect that states “any card sent to the GY is banished instead” is applying, how is the effect of Sky Striker Mobilize – Linkage! applied?”
    Q: I have no monsters in my Main Monster Zone, but I have one in an Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, when I activate Sky Striker Mobilize – Linkage!, my opponent chains the effect of Retaliating “C” to Special Summon it, so the effect “any card sent to the GY is banished instead” begins applying. In this case, how does the effect of Sky Striker Mobilize – Linkage! resolve?
    A: First, your monster in the Extra Monster Zone is banished. As a result, since the effect did not successfully send a card you control to the GY, the part of the effect that Special Summons a “Sky Striker Ace” monster from your Extra Deck to the Extra Monster Zone is not applied.
    Even so, since neither the activation nor the effect of Sky Striker Mobilize – Linkage! were negated, the part of the effect “you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck for the rest of this turn after this card resolves, except “Sky Striker Ace” monsters” is still applied.
    (Sky Striker Mobilize – Linkage! is also then banished.)

    Source

     

    “If I activate the second effect of Sky Striker Special Maneuver – Lemnisgate! and Sky Striker Ace – Kaina is used as Link Material, is its Continuous Effect applied?”
    Q: I Special Summoned Sky Striker Ace – Kaina, and activated the second effect of Sky Striker Special Maneuver – Lemnisgate! to perform a Link Summon. If I use Sky Striker Ace – Kaina as a Link Material, does its Continuous Effect to gain LP apply?
    A: Yes, it does. (Sky Striker Ace – Kaina is used as Link Material after you gain 100 LP.)
    The same applies if Sky Striker Ace – Kaina is in the Monster Zone and the effect of Sky Striker Special Maneuver – Lemnisgate! was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher.

    Source

     

    “What does “a face-up monster you control leaves the field by an opponent’s card effect” mean?”
    Q: What are the conditions for activating the second effect of Yummysment☆Acrockie?
    A: When a card in your Monster Zone leaves the field due to an effect activated or applied by your opponent, that means a “monster you control leaves the field by an opponent’s card effect”. The same applies if a Spell/Trap Card that has been Special Summoned as a monster, or a Monster Token, leaves the field.
    As examples, a monster leaves the field if it is no longer on the field due to an effect that destroys it, banishes it, sends it to the GY, returns it to the hand, or returns it to the Deck.
    As a general rule, if a card in the Monster Zone is moved to a Spell & Trap Zone, if it becomes an Xyz Material for an Xyz Monster, or if control of it is switched to the opponent, it is not treated as leaving the field. However, when a monster is destroyed and the effect of a “Crystal Beast” monster, Pumprincess the Princess of Ghosts, Dragunity Javelin, or Tiki Soul is applied, the destroyed monster can be placed in the Spell & Trap Zone. In those cases, the monster is treated as having left the field.

    Source

     

    “If I destroy Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir with the effect of K9 – EX Forced Liberation, what happens to the battle position of a monster I Special Summoned in Attack Position?”
    Q: While the effect of my opponent’s Defense Position Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is applying, I activate K9 – EX Forced Liberation and Special Summon a monster from my Extra Deck in Attack Position, then destroy my opponent’s Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir. In this case, will my Special Summoned monster be changed to Defense Position by the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir?
    A: It is not changed to Defense Position. The second effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is only applied once a single Chain Link has fully resolved. The effect of K9 – EX Forced Liberation Special Summons a “K9” Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck using the targeted monster as material, then destroys a card the opponent controls, as a series of sequential actions, so the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is not taken into consideration during these processes. Since Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is no longer in the Monster Zone when the effect of K9 – EX Forced Liberation finishes resolving, its effect is not applied.
    Similarly, if a Defense Position Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is destroyed by the second effect of Sky Striker Ace = Zero, both Sky Striker Ace – Raye and Sky Striker Ace – Roze that were Special Summoned in Attack Position will remain in Attack Position.

    Source

     

    “If my opponent chains the effect of Artifact Durendal to the activation of my “Welcome Labrynth” Trap Card, can I apply the effect Labrynth Labyrinth?”
    Q: If my opponent chains the first “●” effect of Artifact Durendal to the activation of my “Welcome Labrynth” Trap Card, can I apply the effect of Labrynth Labyrinth and add the effect “● Also after that, destroy 1 card on the field”?
    A: Yes, you can. In that case, after you destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls, you destroy 1 more card on the field.
    If your opponent activates the following effects in response to the activation of your “Welcome Labrynth” Normal Trap Card, you can also apply the effect of Labrynth Labyrinth.
    – Grapha, Dragon Overlord of Dark World
    – Generaider Boss Room

    Source

     

    “If I change Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir to face-down Defense Position with the effect of Vanquish Soul Dust Devil, what happens to the battle position of the monster changed to Attack Position?”
    Q: While the effect of my opponent’s Defense Position Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is applying, I activate Vanquish Soul Dust Devil targeting my face-up Defense Position Vanquish Soul Razen, and then change my opponent’s Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir to face-down Defense Position. In this case, will my Vanquish Soul Razen be changed to Defense Position again by the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir?
    A: It is not changed to Defense Position. The second effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is only applied once a single Chain Link has fully resolved. The effect of Vanquish Soul Dust Devil changes the targeted “Vanquish Soul” monster’s battle position, then changes face-up monsters your opponent controls to face-down Defense Position, as a series of sequential actions, so the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is not taken into consideration during these processes. Since Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is in face-down Defense Position when the effect of Vanquish Soul Dust Devil finishes resolving, its effect is not applied. Therefore, the Vanquish Soul Razen changed to Attack Position by the effect of Vanquish Soul Dust Devil is not changed to Defense Position.

    Source

     

    “What happens if the effect of Forbidden Droplet is applied to a monster whose ATK has been changed by the effect of Yummysment☆Minion?”
    Q: Cooky☆Yummy is the only monster in my Monster Zone, and Yummysment☆Minion is in my Field Zone. The effect of Yummysment☆Minion is applied to Cooky☆Yummy, increasing its ATK to 1500, but the effect of Forbidden Droplet is then applied to it, halving its ATK to 750.
    Afterward, what happens to the ATK of Cooky☆Yummy if any of the following situations occur?
    (A) A second Cooky☆Yummy is Normal Summoned.
    (B) Yummysment☆Minion leaves the field.
    (C) A second Yummysment☆Minion is activated.
    A:
    (A) It remains 750. After the end of the turn, if the number of LIGHT Beast monsters on the field hasn’t changed, there will be 2 LIGHT Beast monsters on the field, so the ATK of Cooky☆Yummy will be 2000.
    (B) It remains 750. After the end of the turn, it becomes 1000.
    (C) The effect of the activated Yummysment☆Minion is applied, so the ATK of Cooky☆Yummy increases by another 500 to 1250. (After the end of the turn, if the number of LIGHT Beast monsters on the field hasn’t changed, its ATK will be 1500.)

    Source

     

    “Can the effect of Red Rising Dragon be activated while the Continuous Effect of Number 4: Stealth Kragen is applying?”
    Q: If I Synchro Summon a Red Rising Dragon while the effect “All face-up monsters on the field become WATER” of my opponent’s Number 4: Stealth Kragen is applying, can I activate the first effect of Red Rising Dragon?
    A: No, you cannot.
    The effect of Red Rising Dragon cannot be activated during a turn you already Special Summoned a monster from the Extra Deck other than a DARK Dragon Synchro Monster. If you Synchro Summon Red Rising Dragon while the Continuous Effect of Number 4: Stealth Kragen is applying, that’s treated as you Special Summoning a WATER Dragon Synchro Monster from the Extra Deck, so the activation conditions for the effect have not been met.

    Source

     

    “What happens if There Can Be Only One or Gozen Match are chained to the second effect of Sky Striker Ace = Zero?”
    Q: If Sky Striker Ace = Zero is the only monster I control and I activate its second effect, what happens if my opponent chains There Can Be Only One or Gozen Match?
    A: In this case, you first fully resolve all of the effect of Sky Striker Ace = Zero. Then, if the effect of There Can Be Only One or Gozen Match is still applying after that, you must send either Sky Striker Ace – Raye or Sky Striker Ace – Roze to the GY.
    If There Can Be Only One or Gozen Match was destroyed by the effect of Sky Striker Ace = Zero, the Special Summoned Sky Striker Ace – Raye and Sky Striker Ace – Roze both remain on the field.

    Source

     

    “If I activate The Eye of Timaeus and my opponent chains a card or effect, can I activate Dark Magical Amulet as Chain Link 3?”
    Q: If I activate The Eye of Timaeus and my opponent chains a card or effect, can I activate Dark Magical Amulet as Chain Link 3?
    A: No, you cannot. The text of The Eye of Timaeus mentions targeting 1 “Dark Magician” monster you control, but a ‘”Dark Magician” monster’ refers to all monsters with “Dark Magician” in their card names, so the text does not specifically mention the card name “Dark Magician”.

    Source

     

    “If Timaeus the United Magidragon is Fusion Summoned with the effect of The Gaze of Timaeus, is it banished during the End Phase of the next turn?”
    Q: When Timaeus the United Magidragon is Fusion Summoned using the effect of The Gaze of Timaeus, its effect that makes it unaffected by card effects will begin applying, but is it still banished during the End Phase of the next turn?
    A: It is still banished.
    This is because the effect of The Gaze of Timaeus (“banish it during the End Phase of the next turn”) is applied to the Special Summoned monster before the effect of Timaeus the United Magidragon is applied.
    Therefore, since it is still affected by effects that were already applied to it, it will be banished during the End Phase of the next turn.

    Source

     

    “During a turn I activated a Field Spell using the effect of Metaverse, can I Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction using the procedure written in its text?”
    Q: During a turn I activated a Field Spell using the effect of Metaverse, can I Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction using the procedure written in its text?
    A: Yes, you can. Since the effect of Metaverse states that a Field Spell is activated (can be activated), this means the conditions have been met to Special Summon Dark Magician of Destruction using the procedure written in its text.
    The same applies when a Spell Card is activated by the following effects:
    Monster effects
    – Necroworld Banshee
    – Triamid Dancer
    – Triamid Hunter
    – Triamid Master
    – Numeron Wall
    – Performapal Sky Magician
    – Ignis Heat, the True Dracowarrior

    Trap effects
    – Vampire Takeover
    – Generaider Boss Fight
    – Last Resort
    – Ghostrick Renovation

    Source

     

     

    RULING REVERSALS

     

    Ruling changes that have occurred this month:

     

    June 5: Re-qliate
    Old Ruling: If either effect of Re-qliate resolves while Skill Drain is in effect, the effect of Re-qliate is applied normally. Even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying afterward, the monster’s effects are still negated until the end of the turn.
    New Ruling: If either effect of Re-qliate resolves while Skill Drain is in effect, Re-qliate does not negate the monster’s effects (but still applies the effect that banishes the monster if it leaves the field). If the effect of Skill Drain stops applying afterward, the monster’s effects will no longer be negated, since they were not negated when the effect of Re-qliate resolved.

     

    June 12: Construction Train Signal Red
    Old Ruling: If a monster equipped with ZW – Asura Strike declares an attack on a monster, but the effect of Construction Train Signal Red is activated so that it becomes the new attack target, then afterward the effect of ZW – Asura Strike will not allow the equipped monster to attack the original attack target again.
    New Ruling: If a monster equipped with ZW – Asura Strike declares an attack on a monster, but the effect of Construction Train Signal Red is activated so that it becomes the new attack target, then afterward the effect of ZW – Asura Strike will still allow the equipped monster to attack the original attack target again.

    **Note: Presumably, this change applies to other effects that allow a monster to attack all monsters the opponent controls once each. However, it is not clear if this change applies to other situations where a new attack target is selected, such as due to a replay.

     

    June 29: Granmarg the Mega Monarch
    Old Ruling: If Granmarg the Mega Monarch was Tribute Summoned by Tributing an EARTH monster, its effect will draw a card even if no cards were destroyed by its effect.
    New Ruling: If Granmarg the Mega Monarch was Tribute Summoned by Tributing an EARTH monster, its effect will only draw a card if at least 1 targeted face-down card was destroyed by its effect.

    **Note: This change comes from an update to Granmarg’s basic information page.

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Redshift

    Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

    Related Articles

    [OCG] May 2025 Rulings Update

    May 31, 2025

    [OCG] April 2025 Rulings Update

    April 30, 2025

    [OCG] March 2025 Rulings Update

    March 31, 2025

    3 Comments

    1. Kal Renok on June 30, 2025 3:34 pm

      Still no ruling for Mitsurugi Ritual + Samsara? Bruh.

      Reply
      • Redshift on June 30, 2025 3:48 pm

        Mitsurugi don’t exist in the OCG.

    2. Snow on July 1, 2025 1:10 pm

      Glad the ‘layered’ negation ruling has been reversed. I never did like that one.

      Reply

    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Recent Posts

    New Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG Product — THE CHRONICLES DECK: The Fallen & The Virtuous

    July 9, 2025

    [MW] Are You Ready For The Future?

    July 9, 2025

    An Eye For An Eye Makes The Whole Duel Blind With “Tragic Twin Threads” [DOOD]

    July 9, 2025

    Examine The Stars For Good Luck With “Lichy the Hopeful”!

    July 9, 2025

    Embrace The Salvation Of The “Hecatoncheire”! [DBPR]

    July 9, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.