[OCG] Jump Festa Limited Pack 2020 Rulings

Rulings for the 5 cards in the Jump Festa pack.

 

JF20-JP001 Dazzling Lunar Dragon Selegrea

  • This card’s effect that allows it to be Normal Summoned/Set without Tributing is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (You can Normal Summon it this way in face-up Attack Position, or Normal Set it in face-down Defense Position.)
  • This card’s effect that makes its original ATK become 1500 is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that takes control of an opponent’s monster is a Quick Effect. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone with equal or less ATK than this card.)
  • Returning this card to the hand and taking control of the targeted monster happen simultaneously.

 

Q: I activate the effect of Dazzling Lunar Dragon Selegrea, targeting a face-up Invoked Raidjin in my opponent’s Monster Zone. If my opponent chains the effect of Invoked Raidjin and changes it to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: Even if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position when the effect of Dazzling Lunar Dragon Selegrea resolves, you still return Dazzling Lunar Dragon Selegrea to the hand and take control of that targeted monster until the End Phase normally.

Source

 

JF20-JP002 Selkie the Living Memory

  • This card’s effect is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand or Graveyard.
  • This effect targets 1 face-up monster in each player’s Monster Zone.
  • Changing those monsters to face-down Defense Position and Special Summoning this card happen simultaneously.
  • Banishing this card that was Special Summoned by its own effect when it leaves the field does not start a Chain. (This effect is also applied during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: I activate the effect of Selkie the Living Memory, targeting my Sea Monster of Theseus and my opponent’s Inspector Boarder. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Sea Monster of Theseus to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: The effect of Selkie the Living Memory is applied even if one of the targeted monsters is changed to face-down Defense Position due to another card effect. In this scenario, Inspector Boarder is changed to face-down Defense Position and Selkie the Living Memory is Special Summoned.

Source

 

JF20-JP003 Rhynosaber the Mad-Dash Armory

  • This card’s effect that increases its ATK is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Discarding any number of cards from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons monsters from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. Sending this card from your Monster Zone to the Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.)
  • If you Special Summon 2 or more monsters from your Graveyard with this card’s effect, they are Special Summoned simultaneously.

 

Q: Can I Special Summon Ritual, Fusion, or Synchro Monsters with the effect of Rhynosaber the Mad-Dash Armory?
A: You can Special Summon Ritual, Fusion, or Synchro Monsters from your Graveyard with the effect of Rhynosaber the Mad-Dash Armory if they were properly Special Summoned before. However, you must still be able to choose monsters whose total Levels equal 7 to activate the effect of Rhynosaber the Mad-Dash Armory.

Source

 

JF20-JP004 Potluck Party

  • This card’s effect starts a Chain. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your Monster Zone.)
  • If this effect is applied to a monster, that monster’s attack declarations are made by its controller, but the opponent will choose its attack target.
  • Increasing the targeted monster’s ATK during damage calculation does not start a Chain.

 

Q: I activate the effect of Potluck Party, targeting my Goblin Attack Force. If Book of Moon is chained and Goblin Attack Force is changed to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: The effect of Potluck Party is applied even if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position when it resolves. In this scenario, if Goblin Attack Force is changed to face-up Attack Position again during that Battle Phase and declares an attack, your opponent will select its attack target, and it will gain ATK equal to its original ATK during damage calculation when it battles an opponent’s monster.

Source

 

JF20-JP005 Kendochourai

  • This card’s effect that equips it to an opponent’s monster is the effect that applies by activating this card. (It targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This card’s effect to draw a card(s) starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • If this effect is activated during the turn this card was activated, the effect “Draw 1 card” becomes “Draw 2 cards, then discard 1 card” instead.
  • Drawing 2 cards and discarding 1 card do not happen simultaneously.

 

Q: My Kendochourai is equipped to my opponent’s Masked Dragon. In this situation, if I activate Guardragon Cataclysm and destroy both Kendochourai and Masked Dragon, can the effect of Kendochourai be activated?
A: In this scenario, if both Kendochourai and the equipped monster are destroyed at the same time by a card effect, the effect of that destroyed Kendochourai does not activate.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.