[OCG] Insight Magician & 04/22/2015 OCG rulings

04/21/2015
Promo Cards:

Promo Cards: Insight Magician
•The Pendulum Effect starts a chain. (This effect does not target. This effect can only be activated during your Main Phases)
•The part of the effect that destroys this card and the part of the effect that places a card in your Pendulum Zone are considered to happen simultaneously.
•Placing a “Magician” Pendulum monster in the Pendulum Zone by this effect is not considered to be activating a new Spell Card. (It is placed there by the effect of this card)
•The Monster Effect is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand. (This effect targest 1 Pendulum monster in your Pendulum Znoes. Discarding this card from the hand is a cost to activate this effect)
•The cards that can be targeted for this effect are cards like Timegazer Magician applying its effect that changes its Pendulum Scale to 4 or Pendulum Monsters affected by the effect of Pendulum Shift.

Assorted rulings:

Q: You control a Timegazer Magician and and Insight Magician in your Pendulum Zones.
The Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician was activated, placing Stargazer Magician in your Pendulum Zone.
In this case, can you perform a Pendulum Summon or use the Pendulum Effects of Stargazer Magician?
A: Placing a Pendulum Mosnter in the Pendulum Zone by the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician remains in the Pendulum Zone as long as it is not destroyed by other card effects, just as if it was placed in the Pendulum Zone by being activated from the hand as a Spell Card.
Its Pendulum Effects can be applied and a Pendulum Summon can be performed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15357&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon is activated in a chain to the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician targeting that Insight Magician, how does this resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, the Insight Magician affected by the effect of Stardust Spark Dragon is not destroyed by its own effect.
In that case, the part of the effect that places a Pendulum Monster in the Pendulum Zone cannot be applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15358&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you activate Needlebug Nest in a chain to the activation of the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician, so that you no longer have any “Magician” Pendulum Monsters in your Deck, how does this resolve?
A: The Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician cannot be activated if you have no “Magician” Pendulum Monsters in your Deck.
Also, in the proposed scenario, only the part of the effect that destroys Insight Magician is performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15359&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control Insight Magician and Performapal Cheermole in your Pendulum Zones.
In this case, the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician was activated.
If Mystical Space Typhoon is activated in a chain to the activation of that effect, destroying the Insight Magician in the Pendulum Zone, how does this resolve?
Also, if the target of Mystical Space Typhoon is not Insight Magician but Performapal Cheermole instead, how does this resolve?
A: If Insight Magician is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon in a chain to the activation of its Pendulum Effect, the effect of Insight Magician is not applied.
Also, if the other card in the Pendulum Zone is destroyed in a chain to the activation of the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician, the effect of Insight Magician resolves normally.
(The Insight Magician in the Pendulum Zone is destroyed, and a Pendulum Monster from the Deck is placed in one of your open Pendulum Zones)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15360&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician be activated while the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is being applied?
A: Placing a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone by the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician is not treated as activating a Spell Card.
Therefore, even if Anti-Spell Fragrance is applying, the effect of Insight Magician can be activated, and the Pendulum Monster is placed in the Pendulum Zone.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15361&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You activated the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician while you controled Insight Magician and Performapal Silver Claw in your Pendulum Zones.
At the time of the resolution, if a Stargazer Magician is to be placed in your Pendulum Zone, can it be placed in the Pendulum Zone in which Performapal Silver Claw is currently placed at?
A: If the Pendulum Effect of Insight Magician is applied, that Insight Magician is destroyed as a result of that effect resolving, and that Pendulum Zone is opened.
In the proposed scenario, the Stargazer Magician is placed in the opened Pendulum Zone.
(Even in the proposed scenario, it cannot be placed in the Pendulum Zone in which Performapal Silver Claw is currently placed at)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15362&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a D/D Magical Astronomer Galilei that had its Pendulum Scale become 3 by its effect in your Pendulum Zone.
That D/D Magical Astronomer Galilei was targeted to activate the Monster Effect of an Insight Magician in the hand. In this case, what does the Pendulum Scale of D/D Magical Astronomer Galilei become?
A: In the proposed scenario, the Monster Effect of Insight Magician is applied, and the Pendulum Scale of D/D Magical Astronomer Galilei returns to its Original value of 1.
In the proposed scenario, after the effect of Insight Magician is no longer applied after the end of the turn, the Pendulum Scale of that D/D Magical Astronomer Galilei is once again increased by 2 by its own Pendulum Effect, returning to a value of 3.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15363&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You only control a Timegazer Magician in your Pendulum Zones.
You targeted that Timegazer Magician with the Monster Effect of an Insight Magician in your hand.
If during that turn you activate Foucault’s Cannon in your other Pendulum Zone, what does the scale of Timegazer Magician become?
A: In the proposed scenario, the Pendulum Scale of Timegazer Magician that became 4 by its Pendulum Effect returned to its original value of 8 by the Monster Effect of Insight Magician.
Even if a Pendulum Monster other than a “Magician” or “Odd-Eyes” monster is activated in the other Pendulum Zone during that turn, the Pendulum Scale of Timegazer Magician remains at a value of 8 until the end of the turn.
(In the proposed scenario, after the effect of Insight Magician is no longer applied after the end of the turn, the Pendulum Scale of Timegazer Magician becomes 4 by its Pendulum Effect)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15364&keyword=&tag=-1

04/22/2015
Asssorted rulings:

Q: The effect of D.D. Crow was activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite, banishing that Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite.
In this case, how does the effect resolve?
A: If the Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite that activated its effect in the Graveyard is no longer in the Graveyard by the time its effect resolves, the effect does not resolve.
(Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite is not Special Summoned, and the part of the effect that makes you take 400 damage is not applied either)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=219&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which Phantom of Chaos has been Normal Summoned, if Constellar Pollux is banished for its effect, can a Normal Summon be performed using the effect of that Constellar Pollux?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Constellar Pollux cannot be applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=251&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Chronomaly Technology be activated while the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is being applied?
Also, if Call of the Haunted is activated in a chain to the activation of Chronomaly Technology, Special Summoning Dimension Fortress Weapon, how does the effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is being applied, Chronomaly Technology cannot be activated.
Also, if Call of the Haunted is activated in a chain to the activation of Chronomaly Technology, Special Summoning Dimension Fortress Weapon, since the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is applied, the part of the effect that banishes the targeted card is performed, but the part of the effect that adds a card to the hand and sends another to the Graveyard is not performed. (The top cards of the Deck are not verified either)
Furthermore, even in that case, you are also unable to Special Summon monsters, except “Chronomaly” monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6278&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Nekroz of Valkyrus was Ritual Summoned tributing Exa, Enforcer of the Nekroz and Djinn Releaser of Rituals by the effect of Nekroz Kaleidoscope.
Afterwards, if control of that Nekroz of Valkyrus switches to the opponent by the effect of Creature Swap, what happens with the applied effect of Djinn Releaser of Rituals?
A: Even if control of the monster Ritual Summoned using Djinn Releaser of Rituals switches afterwards, the player who cannot Special Summon is the opponent from the point of view of the player who Ritual Summoned using Djinn Releaser of Rituals.
(In the proposed scenario, the opponent from the point of view of the player who Ritual Summoned Nekroz of Valkyrus cannot perform Special Summons, as before)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6626&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Black Return be activated when multiple “Blackwing” monsters are Special Summoned simultaneously by a Pendulum Summon?
Also, can Black Return be activated when Blackwing – Bora the Spear and Battlestorm are Special Summoned simultaneously by a Pendulum Summon?
A: Black Return can only be activated when only 1 Blackwing monster is Special Summoned.
In the proposed scenarios, since 2 or more monsters are Special Summoend simultaneously, even if there are “Blackwing” monsters among those monsters, Black Return cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7034&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Dododo Warrior declares an attack, can the opponent activate the effect of a Necro Gardna in the Graveyard?
Also, during the Battle Phase of a turn in which the opponent activated the effect of Necro Gardna by banishing it from the Graveyard during the Main Phase, if you declare an attack with Dododo Warrior, is the effect of Necro Gardna that negates attacks still applied?
A: When Dododo Warrior declares an attack, the opponent can activate the effect of a Necro Gardna in the Graveyard, but since the effect of Dododo Warrior is applied, the attack is not negated by the effect of Necro Gardna.
Also, since the effect of the opponent’s Necro Gardna has been applied by banishing it from the Graveyard before Dododo Warrior declares an attack, it is not negated by the effect of Dododo Warrior.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7478&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Mecha Phantom Beast Coltwing and Mecha Phantom Beast Tetherwolf are Special Summoned simultaneously by the effect of Scramble!! Scramble!!, does the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Coltwing activate?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Coltwing that Special Summons Mecha Phantom Beast tokens activates.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7096&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Mecha Phantom Beast Coltwing was Special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat.
If Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Coltwing, returning Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat to the hand so that you control no other “Mecha Phantom Beast” monsters, how does this effect resolve?
A: In that case, the effect that Special Summons the Mecha Phantom Beast tokens is not performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8174&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Level Warrior Normal Summoned using its effect that treats it as a Level 2 monster has its effects negated afterwrads by the effect of Skill drain, what does its Level become?
Also, if a Level Warrior Special Summoned by its effect that Special Summons it as a Level 4 monster has its effects negated afterwrads by the effect of Skill drain, what does its Level become?
A: If a Level Warrior Normal or Special Summoned by its own effects is affected by the effect of Skill Drain, its Level returns to the Level written in the card (= 3).
(Even if Skill Drain is no longer applying afterwards, its Level does not become 2 or 4 again)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8411&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Kinka-Byo was Normal Summoned, its effect was activated, Special Summoning a Rainbow Kuriboh from the Graveyard.
During that turn that Kinka-Byo was flipped to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon and flipped face-up by the effect of A/D Changer, activating its effect once again. Mystic Piper was Special Summoned.
In this case, if Raigeki Break is activated, destroying Kinka-Byo, which monsters are banished?
A: In the proposed scenario, the effect of a Single Kinka-Byo was activated twice and later it left the field, only the Mystic Piper Special Summoned by the second activation of the effect is banished.
Since the Rainbow Kuriboh Special Summoned by the first activation of the effect is no longer targeted by the effect after Kinka-Byo was flipped to face-down Defense Position, it is not banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8645&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the activation of Tuner’s Barrier the Tuner monster that was targeted is flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon activated in a chain, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect is applied normally.
The targeted Tuner monster is not destroyed by effects like Dark Hole even if in face-down Defense Position during that turn.
Also, even if it is flipped face-up as a result of a battle or similar, the targeted Tuner monster is still affected by the effect that prevents its destruction.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9097&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Sanctuary in the Sky is no longer in the field as a result of Mystical Space Typhoon being activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Radiant Jeral, how does the effect of Radiant Jeral resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect resolves normally.
(1000 LP are gained)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10106&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 1 of the monsters Special Summoned by Double-Edged Sword Technique is affected by Forbidden lance, what happens with the part of the effect that destroys those monsters and makes you take damage?
A: The monster Special Summoned by the effect of Double-Edged Sword Technique have already been affected by the part of the effect that destroys the monsters that were Special Summoned and makes you take damage.
Even if the effect of Forbidden Lance is applied afterwards, the part of the effect that is applied during the End Phase is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11340&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Tuner monster affected by the effect of Tuner’s Barrier is later flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon, what happens with the applied effect?
A: in that case, the applied effect is no longer applied, and the Tuner monster can be destroyed by battle or card effects normally.
(Even in that monster is flipped face-up again, the effect is not applied once again)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12363&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When you set Spear Cretin, the opponent activated Shadow of Eyes and it was flipped to face-up Attack Position.
Afterwards, if that Spear Cretin is destroyed by the effect of Raigeki Break, does its effect activate?
A: The effect of Shadow of Eyes prevents effects that would activate immediatly when the monster is flipped to face-up Attack Position by its effect.
The effect of Spear Cretin does not activate when it is flipped face-up, it is a Trigger Effect that activates afterwards when it is sent to the Graveyard.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the effect of that Spear Cretin that is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard afterwards activates normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12649&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons