[OCG] Harpie Harpist + 01/22/2015 OCG rulings

Promo Cards: Harpie Harpist

•The effect that treats this card’s name as “Harpie Lady” is not treated as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick or Continuous Effect.
•The effect that returns cards to the hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect targets 1 other face-up Winged-Beast-Type monster and 1 face-up monster the opponent controls for a total of 2 targets)
•Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters can be targeted for this effect. (In that case, those Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters are not returned to the hand and are returned to the Extra Deck instead)
•The effect that adds a monster from the Deck to the hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (This effect does not target)
•Only monsters that meet all the requirements of having 1500 or less ATK, being of Winged-Beast-Type and Level 4 can be added to the hand by this effect.

Assorted rulings:

Q: If a Fairy Meteor Crush or Big Bang Shot you activated is equipped to an opponent’s monster, which player takes the Piercing Battle Damage?
A: If an opponent’s monster equipped with a Fairy Meteor Crush or Big Bang Shot you activated attacks, and Piercing Battle Damage is inflicted as a result of its effect, the player who takes Battle Damage is the opponent from the point of view of the player who activated Fairy Meteor Crush or Big Bang Shot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=92&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Gishki Chain be activated while the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh that prevents players from adding cards to the hand is being applied?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the effect of Gishki Chain that activates when it is successfully Normal Summoned can be activated.
The top 3 cards of the Deck are still checked by the effect of Gishki Chain, but since the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is being applied, cards cannot be added from the Deck to the hand, so even if there is a Ritual Monster or a Ritual Spell Card among the checked cards, they cannot be chosen to be added to the hand.
Therefore, the 3 checked cards are all returned to the top of the Deck in any order, and the effect finishes resolving.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=201&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Exarion Universe the opponent controls is equipped by a Big Bang Shot you activated.
In this case, if that Exarion Universe attacks a Defense Position monster, and activates its effect that allows it to inflict Piercing Battle Damage, which player takes the Battle Damage from that battle?
A: In the proposed scenario, if the ATK of the opponent’s Exarion Universe is higher than the DEF of the Defense Position monster targeted for the attack, you take Battle Damage as a result of its effect.
Also, at the same time, since that Exarion Universe is equipped with a Big Bang Shot you actiavted, the opponent takes the Piercing Battle Damage by its effect.
As a result, both players take Battle Damage simultaneously.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=210&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Red Dragon Archfiend attacked a Defense Position D.D. Assailant the opponent controls and destroyed it in battle.
In this case, how do the effects of Red Dragon Archfiend that destroys all monsters the opponent controls and the effect of D.D. Assailant that banishes itself and the monster that destroyed it in battle?
A: Since the effects of Red Dragon Archfiend and D.D. Assailant are both mandatory effects that activate after Damage Calculation, their effects form a chain.
The effect of Red Dragon Archfiend of the turn player is activated as chain link 1, and the ffect of the opponent’s D.D. Assailant is activated as chain link 2.

In that case, Red Dragon Archfiend and D.D. Assailant are banished by the effect of D.D. Assailant activated as chain link 2, and all other Defense Position monsters the opponent controls are destroyed by the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend activated as chain link 1.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=221&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster equipped with Equip Spell Cards is targeted to activate Magical Hats, what happens with the equipped cards?
A: Face-down monsters cannot be equipped with Equip Cadrs.
Therefore, if the monster equipped with the Equip Spell Cards is flipped face-down by the effect of Magical Hats, the equipped cards are destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6122&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Magic Cylinder is activated in a chain to the effect of Mutant Mindmaster when it declares an attack, how do these effects resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, the attack of Mutant Mindmaster is negated as a result of the resolution of the Magic Cylinder activated in a chain, but since the effect of Mutant Mindmaster was not negated, the effect resolves normally.
(Control of the targeted monster is adquired, and if it can attack, Damage Calculation is performed by battling with an opponent’s monster)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7278&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 copies of Frozen Soul are activated in the same turn, how do they resolve?
A: After you activate Frozen Soul, as long as the aprt of the effect that skips the opponent’s next Battle Phase is not performed, you cannot activate a second copy of Frozen Soul.
Furthermore, you can activate two copies of Frozen Soul in the same chain.
In that case, since their effects are applied when the opponent would conduct their next Battle Phase, as a result, only 1 of the opponent’s next Battle Phases is skipped.
(In this case, even if you activate 2 copies of Frozen Soul, the opponent does not skip 2 Battle Phases)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7724&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Wulf, Lightsworn Beast is excavated by the effect of Reasoning or Monster Gate, is it Special Summoned?
A: Wulf, Lightsworn Beast is a Special Summoned monster. It cannot be Normal Summoned or Set.
Therefore, if the Deck is excavated by the effect of Reasoning or Monster Gate, and Wulf, Lightsworn Beast is excavated, the Special Summon is not performed and the excavating of the Deck continues.
Afterwards, it is sent to the Graveyard simultaneously with the other excavated cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9336&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Vanity Emptiness is activated in a chain to the activation of Monster Gate, how do the parts of the effect that excavate the Deck and Special Summon a monster and sending the remaining cards to the Graveyard resolve?
A: In that case, since the Special Summon of the monster cannot be performed, the effect of Monster Gate is not applied, including the part of the effect that excavate cards until a monster that can be Normal Summoned is revealed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9460&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Raigeki Break is activated in a chain to the effect of Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower that sends cards from the Deck to the Graveyard, destroying Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower, how does the effect that sends cards from the Deck to the Graveyard resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect that sends cards fro mthe Deck to the Graveyard resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11182&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Frozen soul is applied and the Battle Phase is skipped, can Main Phase 2 be conducted?
A: In that case, since the Battle Phase was not conducted, Main Phase 2 cannot be conducted.
Therefore, after the Battle Phase is skipped by the effect of Frozen Soul, the next that is conducted is the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11471&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You have a Zeta Reticulant in your Graveyard, and the effect of Macro Cosmos is being applied.
If 2 or more monsters are destroyed and banished simlultaneously by the effect of Dark Hole, does teh effect of Zeta Reticulant in the Graveyard activate twice?
A: Even if multiple monsters the opponent controls are banished simultaneously, the effect of Zeta Reticulant only ativates once, and only 1 Eva Token is Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11558&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Greed Quasar had its Level increased by its own effect.
If that Greed Quasar is flipped to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon, what does its Level become?
Also, if it’s later flipped face-up, what does its Level become?
A: If Greed Quasar is flipped to face-down Defense Position, the Level gained by its effect is no longer applied.
Even if it’s flipped face-up afterwards, the Level increasement is no longer applied, and remains at the Level written in the card (= 7).

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12096&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Fenrir destroyed D.D. Assailant by battle.
In that case, how do the effects of Fenrir and D.D. Assailant resolve?
A: The effect of D.D. Assailant activates after Damage Calculation.
Also, the effect of Fenrir activates at the End of the Damage Step.
In the proposed scenario, the effect of D.D. Assailant is applied After Damage Claculation, banishing Fenrir and D.D. Assailant.
At the time the effect of Fenrir would activate at the End of the Damage Step, since Fenerir itself is no longer on the field, in the proposed scenario, the effect of Fenrir does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12097&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Harpie Harpist was sent from the Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of Foolish Burial.
During that turn, that Harpie Harpist was special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of Hysteric Party, and during the same turn, it was destroyed by the effect of the opponent’s Fire Hand and sent to the Graveyard once again.
In this case, how is the effect of Harpie Harpist activated and resolved?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the effect of Harpie Harpist that adds a monster from the Deck to the hand can only be activated once.
Furthermore, during the resolution of that effect, only 1 monster can be added from the Deck to the hand)
(The amount of monsters that can be added to the hand does not change depending on how many times it is sent to the Graveyard that turn)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14837&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which Harpie Harpist was sent to the Graveyard, if Harpie Harpist is no longer in the Graveyard because of the effect of the opponent’s D.D. Crow activated before the End Phase, can the effect of Harpie Harpist be activated?
Also if the opponent activates the effect of D.D. Crow in a chain to the activation of the effect of Harpie Harpist, so that the Harpie Harpist is no longer in the Graveyard, how does this resolve?
A: During a turn in which Harpie Harpist was sent to the Graveyard, if Harpie Harpist is no longer in the Graveyard before the End phase, its effect cannot be activated.
Also, even if at the time of the resolution of the effect of Harpie Harpist that activates in the Graveyard that Harpie Harpist is no longer in the Graveyard, its effect resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14838&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Harpie Harpist that became an Xyz Material for Harpie’s Pet Phantasmal Dragon is detached and sent to the Graveyard, can its effect to add a monster to the hand be activated?
A: Even in that case, since Harpie Harpist was sent to the Graveyard, the effect can be activated during the End Phase of that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14839&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Harpie Harpist that adds a monster from the Deck to the hand be activated if Harpie Harpist is not sent from the field, but rather from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard?
A: Even in that case, since Harpie Harpist was sent t othe Graveyard, its effect can be activated during the End Phase of that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14840&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If DNA Surgery is activated in a chain to the effect of Harpie Harpist that returns monsters to the hand, so that the Type of all monsters on the field is treated as Warrior-Type, how does this resolve?
A: Even if at the time of the resolution of the effect of Harpie Haripst the Winged-Beast-Type monster you control that was targeted has its Type treated as Warrior-Type, the effect resolves normally.
(The 2 targeted monsters return to the owner’s hand)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14841&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the targeted monsters for the effect of Harpie Harpist switch control by the effect of Enemy Controller or are flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon being activated in a chain, how does this resolve?
A: EVen in the proposed scenarios, the effect of Harpie Harpist resolves normally.
(The two targeted monsters are returned to the owner’s hand)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14842&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in a chain to the effect of Harpie Harpist that returns monsters to the hand, so that 1 of the 2 targeted monsters has left the field, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the remaining monster on the field is returned to the hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14843&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster you control that you targeted for the effect of Harpie Harpist is no longer face-up as a result of Compulsory Evacuation Device or Book of Moon being activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Harpie Harpist, how does this resolve?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the effect of Harpie Harpist resolves normally.
(The targeted monsters are returned to the owner’s hand)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14844&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons