[OCG] Deck Build Pack: Dark Savers Rülings

Preliminary rulings for the spicy new cards in Dark Savers.

DBDS-JP003 Vampire Fraülein

Q: Can I activate the effect of Vampire Fraülein that Special Summons it from my hand when my own monsters declare an attack, not just my opponent’s monsters?
A: The effect of Vampire Fraülein that Special Summons it from your hand can be activated not just when your opponent’s monsters declare an attack, but also your own.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21782&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Vampire Sucker is in an Extra Monster Zone, and my Vampire Fraülein is face-up in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if Vampire Sucker battles an opponent’s monster, can I activate the effect of Vampire Fraülein that increases the ATK/DEF of my battling Zombie-Type monster?
A: Vampire Sucker is a Zombie-Type monster, so in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Vampire Fraülein. Since Vampire Sucker is a Link Monster, the effect of Vampire Fraülein can only increase its ATK during damage calculation.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21781&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP004 Vampire Grimson

Q: My Life Points are 1800, and my Vampire Grimson is in face-up Attack Position in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent’s Vampire Genesis attacks my Vampire Grimson, can I apply its effect and pay 1000 Life Points instead of destroying it?
A: In this scenario, the battle damage you take from this battle between your opponent’s Vampire Genesis (with 3000 ATK) and your Vampire Grimson (with 2000 ATK) is 1000. Since you will have 800 Life Points remaining, you cannot apply the effect of Vampire Grimson, and it is destroyed by battle normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21780&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the Battle Step after my Vampire Grimson destroyed my opponent’s Vampire Lady by battle, my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes Vampire Grimson to face-down Defense Position. In this case, can I activate the effect of Vampire Grimson during the End Step of this Battle Phase, that Special Summons the monsters it destroyed by battle from the Graveyard?
A: If a Vampire Grimson that destroyed an opponent’s monster by battle is changed to face-down Defense Position afterward, you cannot activate its effect during the End Step of that Battle Phase. (You cannot activate the effect even if Vampire Grimson is flipped face-up again before the End Step.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21779&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Vampire Grimson destroyed my opponent’s Vampire Lady by battle during this Battle Phase, and I activate its effect during the End Step that Special Summons the monsters it destroyed by battle from the Graveyard. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Vampire Grimson to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if Vampire Grimson is in face-down Defense Position when resolving its effect that activated during the End Step, the effect is applied normally. (In this case, Vampire Lady is Special Summoned to your field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21772&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP006 Vampire Red Baron

Q: Vampire Red Baron and Vampire Familiar are face-up in my Monster Zone, also there is a face-down Defense Position monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate the first effect of Vampire Red Baron and switch control of Vampire Familiar with my opponent’s face-down monster. During the Battle Phase, if Vampire Red Baron attacks and destroys Vampire Familiar by battle, can I activate the effect of Vampire Red Baron during the End Step of this Battle Phase, that Special Summons the monsters it destroyed by battle from the Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, if Vampire Familiar is destroyed while under your opponent’s control and sent to your Graveyard, you can still activate the effect of Vampire Red Baron during the End Step of the Battle Phase and Special Summon that Vampire Familiar from your Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21778&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP007 Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan

Q: Vampire Scargelet and Vampire Brood are each face-up in my Monster Zone, also there is a face-down Defense Position monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate Creature Swap and switch control of Vampire Brood with my opponent’s face-down monster. After that, can I use my Vampire Scargelet and the face-down monster owned by my opponent as materials for the Xyz Summon of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan?
A: If you Xyz Summon Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan by treating a monster your opponent owns that you control as a Level 6 monster, it must be a face-up monster in your Monster Zone. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot Xyz Summon Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21777&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are no monsters on my field, I activate 2 copies of Mind Control separately and take control of my opponent’s Vampire Lord and Vampire Hunter. In this situation, can I Xyz Summon Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan using those 2 monsters?
A: In this scenario, both Vampire Lord and Vampire Hunter are monsters your opponent owns that you control, and you can treat both as Level 6 monsters when Xyz Summoning Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21776&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Smashing Ground to destroy my opponent’s Geargiaccelerator equipped with Torque Tune Gear, the effect of Torque Tune Gear is applied and it is destroyed instead. When Torque Tune Gear is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan that Special Summons that monster to my field?
A: When a monster treated as an Equip Card is destroyed and sent to your opponent’s Graveyard, as in this scenario, since it is a Monster Card being sent to your opponent’s Graveyard by a card effect, you can activate the effect of Al Dhampir – Vampire Sheridan that Special Summons it to your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21768&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP008 Vampire Desire

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, if I activate the first effect of Vampire Desire targeting a Vampire Scargelet on my field, what happens?
A: Even while the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate the first effect of Vampire Desire. In that case, the “Vampire” monster that would be sent from your Deck to the Graveyard is banished instead, and the part of the effect that changes the targeted monster’s Level does not apply. (In this scenario, Vampire Scargelet retains its original Level.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21775&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the first effect of Vampire Desire, targeting a face-up Vampire Scargelet on my field. If Book of Moon is chained, and Vampire Scargelet is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does Vampire Desire resolve?
A: The first effect of Vampire Desire will not be applied if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position when it resolves. (You do not send any “Vampire” monster from your Deck to the Graveyard, and the targeted monster’s Level does not change.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21771&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Vampire Familiar that was Special Summoned by its own effect is the only monster on my field. In this situation, can I activate the second effect of Vampire Desire?
A: Even if a Vampire Familiar that was Special Summoned by its own effect is the only monster on your field, you can activate the second effect of Vampire Desire. In that case, Vampire Familiar is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard, so the part of the effect that Special Summons the targeted monster from the Graveyard does not apply. (The targeted “Vampire” monster remains in your Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21774&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP009 Vampire Territory

Q: A “Vampire” monster on my field inflicts battle damage to my opponent while I have 2 copies of Vampire Territory face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this case, can I activate the effect of each copy that increases my Life Points?
A: If there are 2 copies of Vampire Territory on your field and your “Vampire” monster inflicts battle damage to your opponent, you can activate the effect of each Vampire Territory on the same Chain.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21770&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP011 Vampire Domination

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite in their Graveyard, can I chain Vampire Domination?
A: You can chain Vampire Domination to an opponent’s monster effect such as Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite that activates in the Graveyard. In that case, the activation of the monster effect is negated, but since Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite cannot be destroyed if it is already in the Graveyard, you do not gain any Life Points.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21773&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Qliphort Scout from their hand as a Spell Card in their Pendulum Zone. At this time, if I chain Vampire Domination, what happens?
A: When a Pendulum Monster is activated as a Spell Card in the Pendulum Zone, it is considered the activation of a Spell Card, so Vampire Domination can be chained. In that case, the Pendulum Monster’s activation is negated, it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, then you gain Life Points equal to its original ATK. (In this scenario, you gain 1000 Life Points.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21769&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP014 Donpa, Deadeye of the Skyfang Brigade

Q: During my Main Phase, I activate the first effect of Donpa, Deadeye of the Skyfang Brigade, and Special Summon a Recon, Remotescout of the Skyfang Brigade from my hand. When I activate the second effect of Donpa, Deadeye of the Skyfang Brigade that destroys a face-up card on the field, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Donpa, Deadeye of the Skyfang Brigade to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: Even if the Donpa, Deadeye of the Skyfang Brigade whose effect was activated is in face-down Defense Position when resolving that effect, the effect is applied normally and the targeted card is destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21767&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP022 Wiz, Wisewoman of the Skyfang Brigade

Q: When the effect of Wiz, Wisewoman of the Skyfang Brigade negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or activation of a Spell/Trap effect, what happens to that Spell/Trap Card?
A: When a Spell/Trap Card’s activation or Spell/Trap effect’s activation is negated by the effect of Wiz, Wisewoman of the Skyfang Brigade, it is never destroyed by that effect. When that effect is activated in response to a Spell/Trap Card activation, that card is sent to the Graveyard afterward. If the effect is activated in response to the effect of a Spell/Trap Card that is already on the field, such as a Field Spell, Continuous Trap, etc., the activation of the effect is negated, but that card will remain on the field provided it was not sent to the Graveyard as a cost.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21766&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP023 Rafale, Regal of the Skyfang Brigade

Q: Beat, Blademaster of the Skyfang Brigade, Seal, Strategist of the Skyfang Brigade, and Bravo, Brawler of the Skyfang Brigade are all face-up in my Monster Zone when I Special Summon Rafale, Regal of the Skyfang Brigade. At this time, if I only have 2 cards left in my Deck, can I activate the first effect of Rafale, Regal of the Skyfang Brigade?
A: In this scenario, you have 3 “Skyfang Brigade” monsters on your field with different names, excluding Rafale, Regal of the Skyfang Brigade. If you only have 2 cards left in your Deck, you cannot excavate cards equal to the number of “Skyfang Brigade” monsters on your field with different names, so the effect of Rafale, Regal of the Skyfang Brigade cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21765&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP024 Dragon Airship Fandra

Q: When I activate the effect of Dragon Airship Fandra during my Draw Phase, before my normal draw, my opponent chains the effect of their Wiz, Wisewoman of the Skyfang Brigade and negates the effect’s activation. In this case, can I perform my normal draw?
A: In this scenario, if the activation of the effect of Dragon Airship Fandra was negated at the start of the Draw Phase, you can then perform your normal draw.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21764&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP031 Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner

Q: While I have 2 Spell Cards in my Graveyard, I activate Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner and target my opponent’s face-up monster equipped with my Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base. In this case, can I apply the part of the effect that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on the field?
A: In this scenario, when the opponent’s monster is destroyed by the effect of Sky Striker Maneuver: Afterburner and sent to the Graveyard, the equipped Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base is also destroyed and sent to your Graveyard. As a result, since you will now have 3 Spell Cards in your Graveyard, you can then destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21763&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP033 Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit

Q: I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit and Special Summon a Sky Striker Ace Token while I have 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, so that its ATK and DEF become 1500. Afterward, if the effect of Shrink is applied to that Sky Striker Ace Token, what happens to its ATK?
A: When Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit resolves, the original ATK and DEF of the Sky Striker Ace Token are still 0 when you have 3 or more Spell Cards in your Graveyard. When the effect of Shrink is applied, the Token’s original ATK is halved, its current ATK becomes 0 as a result, and remains 0 even after the effect of Shrink expires. (Even if the effect of Shrink is applied, the Token’s DEF remains 1500.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21762&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP036 Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon

Q: When I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon, can my opponent chain Solemn Warning?
A: Solemn Warning can be chained to Sky Striker Battlegear: Shark Cannon. (In this scenario, even if you do not have 3 or more Spell Cards in your Graveyard, your opponent can chain Solemn Warning.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21761&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP037 Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base

Q: My opponent’s Sky Striker Ace Kagari is equipped with my Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base. If that opponent’s Sky Striker Ace Kagari attacks a monster on my field and destroys it by battle while I have 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, will the effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base to draw a card activate?
A: Even if you equip your Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base to your opponent’s monster, and a monster on your field is destroyed by battle with that equipped monster, the effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base will activate. (In this case, the controller of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base draws 1 card, not the controller of the equipped monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21760&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP038 Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole

Q: I activate the first effect of Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole, targeting a face-up Sky Striker Ace Rei in my Monster Zone. If I chain the effect of Sky Striker Ace Rei by Tributing it, how does the effect of Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole resolve?
A: As in this scenario, even if the card targeted with the effect of Sky Striker Battle System: Multirole is no longer on the field when it resolves, the effect that prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects in response to your Spell Cards’ activations during this turn will be applied. Since the targeted Sky Striker Ace Rei is no longer on the field, the part of the effect that sends the targeted card to the Graveyard is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21759&keyword=&tag=-1

DBDS-JP039 Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero

Q: Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, and its effect that prevents players from adding cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing is applying. In this situation, can I activate the first effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero?
A: While the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, you can still activate the effect of a Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero on your field. When the effect resolves, if there are no “Sky Striker” cards among the cards you excavated, all 3 are shuffled into the Deck as usual. If there are any “Sky Striker” cards among the excavated cards, you cannot choose to apply the part of the effect that adds 1 of them to your hand, so all 3 cards are shuffled into the Deck. Even in that case, since you excavated a “Sky Striker” card with this effect, the card that was targeted is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21758&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.