[OCG] August/September 2019 Promo Rulings

Small backlog of promo rulings.

Listed by release date on the official database, not necessarily their set number.

 

VJMP-JP170 Mathmech Editor d’Alembertain

  • This card’s effect that activates when it is Xyz Summoned is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Detaching 2 to 4 Xyz Materials from this card is the cost to activate this effect. (The corresponding “●” effect is applied based on the number of materials you detached.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 4 “Mathmech” monster from your hand or Graveyard is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
  • Tributing a monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. (You can also Tribute Mathmech Editor d’Alembertain itself.)

 

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Mathmech Editor d’Alembertain that Special Summons a Level 4 “Mathmech” monster from their hand or Graveyard, can I chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion in my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the second effect of Mathmech Editor d’Alembertain, you can chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion.

Source

 

VJMP-JP166 Performapal Miss Director

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent’s monsters from targeting it for an attack is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that prevents your “Odd-Eyes” monsters from being destroyed by battle and prevents you from taking battle damage from that battle is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 1 monster from your Graveyard, and then performs a Synchro Summon, is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 Level 1 monster in your Graveyard.)
  • When this effect resolves, you Special Summon the targeted monster from the Graveyard. Then, immediately after this effect finishes resolving, you must perform a Synchro Summon using only the targeted monster and Performapal Miss Director as materials.
  • The Level 1 monster you target with this effect must be one that you can correctly perform a Synchro Summon with.

 

VJMP-JP167 Smoke Mosquito

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it during damage calculation and halves the battle damage you take from that battle is a Quick Effect that activates in the hand. (It does not target.)
  • When this effect resolves, Smoke Mosquito is Special Summoned, and after the effect finishes resolving, the current battle proceeds normally. (Battle damage you take is halved.)
  • Once you finish activating and resolving any effects at the end of this Damage Step, you immediately proceed to the End Step of the Battle Phase.
  • This card’s effect that changes its Level is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 other face-up monster in your Monster Zone.)

 

VJMP-JP168 D/D Evil

  • This card’s Pendulum Effect starts a Chain. (It does not target.)
  • If this effect is activated when 2 or more monsters are Pendulum Summoned, the effect is applied to all of those Pendulum Summoned monsters.
  • This card’s monster effect that prevents it from attacking unless you have another “D/D” monster on your field is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that negates the effects of a Pendulum Summoned monster on your opponent’s field is a Quick Effect. (It targets 1 face-up Pendulum Summoned monster in your opponent’s Monster Zone.)

 

VJMP-JP171 Valkyrie Sigrun

  • This card’s effect that sends a face-up Spell/Trap Card from your field to the Graveyard and Special Summons this card is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand. (It targets 1 face-up Spell/Trap Card on your field.)
  • Sending the targeted card to the Graveyard and Special Summoning this card happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 8 or lower “Valkyrie” monster from your hand or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)

 

Q: Vanity’s Emptiness is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from Special Summoning is applying. In this case, can I activate the effect of Valkyrie Sigrun in my hand by targeting that Vanity’s Emptiness?
A: While the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying, monsters cannot be Special Summoned, so you cannot activate the effect of Valkyrie Sigrun.

Source

 

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this case, can I activate the effect of Valkyrie Sigrun in my hand by targeting a face-up Goddess Skuld’s Oracle on my field?
A: Even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate the effect of a Valkyrie Sigrun in your hand. In this scenario, the targeted Goddess Skuld’s Oracle is banished instead of sent to the Graveyard due to the effect of Macro Cosmos, and Valkyrie Sigrun is not Special Summoned and remains in your hand.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.