A new Kaiser Colosseum ruling in the current year.
“If a Special Summoned Dark Magician of Chaos is banished by the effect of Number 77: The Seven Sins, can it be attached to it as an Xyz Material?”
Q: The effect of Number 77: The Seven Sins banishes Dark Magician of Chaos. In this case, can I attach that Dark Magician of Chaos to it as an Xyz Material?
A: Yes, you can. Dark Magician of Chaos is banished by its own effect, but even so, it is treated as “1 of those banished monsters” as described by the effect of Number 77: The Seven Sins.
“If Power Tool Braver Dragon is not equipped with anything when resolving its first effect, can I equip it with Angel Ring?”
Q: When resolving the effect of Power Tool Braver Dragon, if Power Tool Braver Dragon is not currently equipped with anything, can I equip Angel Ring and another Equip Spell to it?
A: No, you cannot. When resolving the effect of Power Tool Braver Dragon, choose up to 3 Equip Spells that can be equipped to it at that time from your Deck or GY, and equip those cards simultaneously. If Power Tool Braver Dragon is not already equipped with an Equip Card, the condition “Equip only to a monster you control that is equipped with an Equip Card” for equipping Angel Ring has not been met, so you cannot choose Angel Ring as a card to equip.
“What kind of monsters can I Special Summon by ignoring the Summoning conditions with the effect of T.G. Glaive Blaster?”
Q: Which monsters can be Special Summoned ignoring their Summoning conditions by the second effect of T.G. Glaive Blaster?
A: With an effect that ignores Summoning conditions, you can Special Summon a monster that has Summoning conditions written in its text, in addition to any monsters that do not have Summoning conditions. (Even if a monster has text that restricts how it can be Special Summoned, this effect can Special Summon it as if that text was not there.)
Specifically, the following kinds of text can be ignored.
● Text that prevents a monster from being Special Summoned. (For example, the text “Cannot be Special Summoned” of Spirit monsters, etc.)
● Text that specifies the method that must be used to Special Summon a monster. (For example, the conditions and procedures of Special Summon-only monsters, etc.)
● Text that restricts a monster to being Special Summoned by a certain method. (For example, Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, Pendulum, and Link Monsters that state “Must be Ritual/Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Pendulum/Link Summoned.”)
Furthermore, while you can ignore a monster’s own Summoning conditions that are described in its text, you cannot ignore anything else. The following are examples of situations where a Special Summon cannot be performed even if the effect ignores Summoning conditions.
■ During the turn you activated Scapegoat, or while the effect of your opponent’s Vanity’s Ruler is applying, you cannot Special Summon a monster even with an effect that ignores Summoning conditions. This is because the text of the monster itself is not the reason you are unable to Special Summon it.
■ The text of a monster that limits the number of times a player can Special Summon it each turn, such as “You can only Special Summon “[name](s)” once per turn.”, is not considered a Summoning condition. The text must be obeyed even when an effect ignores Summoning conditions, and you still cannot Special Summon that monster more than the specified number of times.
■ Banished monsters that have not been Special Summoned by their “proper” Summoning method, such as any Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster that was banished from the Extra Deck, cannot be Special Summoned by an effect that ignores Summoning conditions. This is because you cannot Special Summon the monster according to its basic rules, rather than because of its own text.
“Can I activate the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring by chaining it to an effect that destroys cards in the Deck?”
Q: When the second effect of Defender of Nephthys is activated, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring?
A: No, you cannot. Although the destroyed card is sent to the GY as a result, this effect is not treated as one that sends a card from the Deck to the GY. Therefore, for example, even if the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is applying, the second effect of Defender of Nephthys can still be activated and applied normally.
The effects of the following cards are also not treated as effects that send a card from the Deck to the GY.
– Chain Destruction
– Conductor of Nephthys (second effect)
– Crush Card Virus
– Grave Grinning Virus
“Can the effects of Trap Cards that activate in the GY be used to resolve the effects of Transaction Rollback or Trap of Darkness?”
Q: Big Welcome Labrynth is a card with an effect applied when the card’s activation resolves, as well as another effect activated by banishing it from the GY. If I activate the effect of Transaction Rollback targeting a Big Welcome Labrynth in the GY, can I apply the resolution of either of those 2 effects?
A: Only the resolution of the first effect can be applied. An effect “when that card is activated” as described by both effects of Transaction Rollback is an effect applied when the card’s activation resolves. In other words, if you activate the effect of Transaction Rollback by targeting Big Welcome Labrynth, the first effect of Big Welcome Labrynth is applied. The same applies to the following cards that apply the effects of other Normal Trap Cards “when that card is activated”.
– Fake Feather
– Junk Collector
– Labrynth Barrage
– Trap of Darkness
“If I activate the effect of a “Vanquish Soul” monster in my hand, can I activate the effect of Vanquish Soul Jiaolong after resolving the Chain?”
Q: If I activate the effects of Vanquish Soul Heavy Borger, Vanquish Soul Caesar Valius, Vanquish Soul Pantera, or Vanquish Soul Pluton HG in my hand (to Special Summon themselves from the hand), can I activate the first effect of Vanquish Soul Jiaolong in my hand in a new Chain afterward?
A: The effect cannot be activated in that case. The first effect of Vanquish Soul Jiaolong can be activated if you reveal a card in your hand as the cost of activating the effect of a “Vanquish Soul” card. Effects that reveal cards in your hand as a cost will say the word “reveal” in their text. The effects of Vanquish Soul Heavy Borger, Vanquish Soul Caesar Valius, Vanquish Soul Pantera, and Vanquish Soul Pluton HG that can be activated in your hand do not fall under this category.
(Regardless of the text, when you activate the effect of a card in your hand, you will show it to your opponent to declare the effect, but unless it is a card that says it is revealed as a cost, it is not considered being revealed as a cost.)
“During the first turn of the Duel, can I activate a Trap Card with the text “You cannot conduct your Battle Phase the turn you activate this card” that was Set by the effect of Arias the Labrynth Butler?”
Q: During the first turn of the Duel, if I activate the first effect of Arias the Labrynth Butler and Set either Artifact Sanctum, Reinforce Truth, or Heavy Storm Duster that have the text “You cannot conduct your Battle Phase the turn you activate this card”, can I still activate that Trap Card during that turn?
A: Yes, you can. (It doesn’t matter which player goes first.)
“Please tell me which cards can be added from my Deck to my hand with the effect of T.G. Mighty Striker.”
Q: Which cards can I add from my Deck to my hand with the first effect of T.G. Mighty Striker?
A: A “T.G.” Spell/Trap Card is a card whose Japanese name contains 「TG」 with a furigana reading of 「テックジーナス」 (“Tech Genus”). Specifically, the following 3 cards are “T.G.” cards, and can be added to your hand by the effect of T.G. Mighty Striker.
– T.G. – All Clear
– T.G. – Break Limiter
– T.G. – Close
Please note that the following cards are not considered “T.G.” Spell/Trap Cards, so they cannot be added to your hand by this effect.
TL note: This ruling describes how furigana (smaller text above the main part of a word) plays a role in identifying archetypes in Japanese. It is a bit awkward to try and translate it for a TCG audience, since we obviously use an entirely different writing system and a different method of identifying “T.G.” cards. An equivalent TCG ruling might say “”T.G.” cards have full stops (periods) in their names and “TG” cards are not included.”
“If monsters cannot be placed on the field because of Kaiser Colosseum, can 2 monsters that were temporarily banished at the same time return to the field?”
Q: Due to the second effect of S:P Little Night, 1 of each player’s monsters have been banished. During the End Phase of that turn, if I control 1 monster and a Kaiser Colosseum, can the monsters banished by the effect of S:P Little Night return to each player’s field?
A: It depends on the number of monsters your opponent controls. If your opponent does not control any monsters, both monsters return to the field. If they control 1 or more monsters, only your monster returns to the field.
Whenever multiple monsters that have been banished temporarily need to return to the field, first check to see if each one can return to the field. If multiple monsters can be returned, they return to the field at the same time, and any monsters that cannot be returned are sent to the GY.
In the above scenario, if you control 1 monster and your opponent does not control any monsters, both players can place a monster on the field, so all of the banished monsters are returned to the field. If you control 1 monster and your opponent controls 1 or more monsters, you can place a monster on your field, but your opponent cannot place a monster on theirs due to the effect of Kaiser Colosseum. Therefore, only your banished monster returns to the field.