[OCG] 5/15/19 Rulings Update

A small dump from recent weeks.

Q: My opponent activates Kaiser Colosseum while I have 2 monsters in my Monster Zone and my opponent has 1 monster in theirs. In this situation, during my turn, can I activate Soul Exchange?
A: Even in this situation, you can activate Soul Exchange. However, since the effect of your opponent’s Kaiser Colosseum is applying, you cannot put into play any new monsters if it would result in you controlling more than your opponent. In this scenario, if you Tribute Summon a monster, you cannot Tribute the opponent’s monster using the effect of Soul Exchange; you must Tribute your own monsters. Furthermore, you cannot Tribute Summon a monster with only 1 Tribute, such as a Level 5 or 6 monster, so you can only Tribute Summon a Level 7 or higher monster by Tributing both your current monsters.

Source

Q: My opponent activates Kaiser Colosseum while my opponent has 1 monster in their Monster Zone, and I have 1 Gemini monster treated as a Normal Monster in my Monster Zone. In this situation, during my turn, can I Normal Summon that Gemini monster again so that it becomes an Effect Monster?
A: In this scenario, both monsters were already on the field when the effect of Kaiser Colosseum started applying. The effect of Kaiser Colosseum prevents you from putting into play any new monsters if it would result in you controlling more than your opponent. Therefore, you can still Normal Summon a Gemini monster that’s already in the Monster Zone.

Source

Q: While the effect of Reverse Trap is applying, if the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon is activated, does it gain ATK?
A: The effect of Light and Darkness Dragon can be activated while the effect of Reverse Trap is applying. During that turn, the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon will only activate once, and increase its ATK and DEF by 500. Afterward, even if a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect is activated, the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon will not activate.

Source

Q: I activated the effect of Salamangreat Almiraj that prevents a monster from being destroyed by battle or card effects this turn, applying it to a Salamangreat Heatleo on my field. During this turn, if I Link Summon a second copy of Salamangreat Almiraj, can I activate its effect targeting the same Salamangreat Heatleo?
A: If the effect of a Salamangreat Almiraj has already been applied to a monster, a second copy cannot target the same monster with its effect.

Source

Q: A face-up Mystic Mine is in my opponent’s Field Zone, a face-down Defense Position monster is in my Monster Zone, and a face-up Attack Position The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode that I Tribute Summoned to my opponent’s field is in my opponent’s Monster Zone. During my opponent’s End Phase, what is the procedure involving The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode returning to its owner’s control and the effect that destroys Mystic Mine activating?
A: In this scenario, both Mystic Mine and The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode are controlled by your opponent, and your opponent is the turn player. In this case, your opponent can choose to either first activate the effect of Mystic Mine or to return The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode to its owner. (If The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode returns to your field first, the number of monsters on each side will no longer be equal, so the effect of Mystic Mine will not activate as a result.)

Source

Q: After Normal Summoning an Exodia, Master of the Guard by Tributing 5 monsters, I activate Interdimensional Matter Transporter and banish it until the End Phase. When Exodia, Master of the Guard returns to the field, what happens to its ATK and DEF?
A: In this scenario, if an Exodia, Master of the Guard that was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters is banished by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter and then returned to the field, its ATK and DEF will be 0. After that, even if the ATK of Exodia, Master of the Guard is increased by another card’s effect and it destroys an opponent’s DARK Fiend monster by battle, you cannot win the Duel through the victory condition described in its text.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.