Including the first wave of DUNE rulings.
“If I control 2 “Therion” monsters equipped with Therion “Reaper” Fum, can I activate each of their effects in the same turn?”
Q: I have 2 “Therion” monsters in my Monster Zones, each of which is equipped with a Therion “Reaper” Fum. Due to the last effect of the equipped Therion “Reaper” Fum, the 2 monsters in the Monster Zone each gain the second effect listed on Therion “Reaper” Fum. Can I activate the effects of each monster gained from Therion “Reaper” Fum during the same turn?
A: Only one of their effects can be activated. Whether it is the effect of Therion “Reaper” Fum being activated, or the effect of another “Therion” monster equipped with Therion “Reaper” Fum being activated, the activation corresponds to “using the effect of Therion “Reaper” Fum”. As written in its text, the second effect of Therion “Reaper” Fum can only be used once per turn, so 2 or more monsters that have each gained the effect of Therion “Reaper” Fum cannot activate that effect during the same turn.
Even if one of the following cards gains or adds an effect to another card, you must activate and apply the effect while obeying the text of the original card stating “you can only use the effect of [this card name] once per turn”.
– Blackwing – Aurora the Northern Lights
– CXyz Barian Hope
– Dragon Knight Draco-Equiste
– Elemental HERO Divine Neos
– Gem-Knight Master Diamond
– Hundred Eyes Dragon
– Legendary Knight Hermos
– Majestic Star Dragon
– Masterflare Hyperion
– Neo-Spacian Dark Panther
– Number 68: Heraldry Crest
– Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage
– Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon
– One-Eyed Skill Gainer
– Phantom of Chaos
– Pseudo Space
– Starving Venemy Dragon
– Starving Venom Fusion Dragon
– Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom
– Symphonic Warrior Synthess
– The Tyrant Neptune
– Therion “Bull” Ain
– Therion “Duke” Yul
– Therion “King” Regulus
– Therion “Lily” Borea
– Windwitch – Crystal Bell
“If a monster leaves the field immediately after being Special Summoned while resolving a Chain Link, will the effect of Ghost Sister & Spooky Dogwood increase Life Points?”
Q: My opponent activated Big Welcome Labrynth during the Main Phase of a turn in which I activated the effect of Ghost Sister & Spooky Dogwood. When resolving the effect, they Special Summon Lady Labrynth of the Silver Castle, then return that same Special Summoned monster to their hand. In this case, do I gain Life Points?
A: You do not gain Life Points. When your opponent activates a card effect, if the Special Summoned monster is face-up in the Monster Zone when that effect finishes resolving, you will gain Life Points equal to that monster’s ATK.
“When Ritual Summoning with the effects of Super Soldier Synthesis or Advanced Ritual Art, can I apply the effect of Emperor Tanuki’s Critter Count?”
Q: When performing a Ritual Summon with the effects of Super Soldier Synthesis or Advanced Ritual Art, can I apply the second effect of Emperor Tanuki’s Critter Count?
A: Ritual Summons performed by the effect of Super Soldier Synthesis or Advanced Ritual Art do not Tribute monsters, so you cannot apply the effect of Emperor Tanuki’s Critter Count instead of Tributing.
“What happens if the targeted card is no longer in the Graveyard when resolving the second effect of Purrely Lily?”
Q: When the second effect of Purrely Lily resolves, if the targeted “Purrely” Quick-Play Spell is no longer in the Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: No part of the effect is applied. When the activated effect of Purrely Lily resolves, check the targeted card’s name and Special Summon an Xyz Monster that mentions that name in its text. If the targeted card is no longer there, you cannot apply this effect.
“When resolving the effect of Uruka the Magic Star if a monster was sent to the Graveyard, what happens if that monster is no longer in the Graveyard?”
Q: When a monster I control is sent to the Graveyard, I activate the effect of Uruka the Magic Star. If that monster is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect of Uruka the Magic Star resolves, how will this effect resolve?
A: In this case, the effect “otherwise Special Summon this banished card” is applied. (This is true even if the monster sent to the Graveyard has been banished by the time the effect resolves.)
“Can the second effect of Cosmic Quasar Dragon Special Summon a Shooting Quasar Dragon or another Cosmic Quasar Dragon?”
Q: Can the second effect of Cosmic Quasar Dragon Special Summon a Shooting Quasar Dragon or another Cosmic Quasar Dragon?
A: The second effect of Cosmic Quasar Dragon performs a Special Summon treated as a Synchro Summon, so even monsters that must be Special Summoned by Synchro Summon can be Special Summoned. In addition to Shooting Quasar Dragon, Stardust Sifr Divine Dragon and Cosmic Blazar Dragon fall under this category.
However, the second effect of Cosmic Quasar Dragon cannot Special Summon another Cosmic Quasar Dragon. This Special Summon does not require Synchro Materials, so the condition in the text of Cosmic Quasar Dragon for being Special Summoned “Must first be Synchro Summoned with the above Synchro Materials” cannot be fulfilled.
“If Charlemagne is no longer equipped with Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles, does it lose its effects?”
Q: Charlemagne becomes equipped with Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles due to its own effect. Afterward, if that Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles becomes unequipped from Charlemagne, what happens to the copied effects?
A: Even in that case, the effects remain.
“If an Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles treated as an Equip Spell is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, what happens regarding the text “if you did not control “Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles” at activation”?”
Q: Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone treated as an Equip Spell. In this situation, if I activate the third effect of The Noble Arms Museum, is the part of the effect that prevents me from Special Summoning monsters other than Warrior monsters for the rest of the turn applied?
A: It is not applied. If Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles is face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone, it means that you control an Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles.
“If Charlemagne gains the effects of Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles with its own effect and equips it as an Equip Spell, can I activate the effect it gained?”
Q: The effect of Charlemagne that equips Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles to it has resolved. After that, as a result of equipping Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles, can I activate the effect of Charlemagne (gained from Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles, which destroys a card on the field)?
A: Yes, it can be activated. However, whether it is the effect of Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles being activated, or the effect of Charlemagne that has gained the effects of Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles being activated,the activation corresponds to “using the first effect of Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles”, and you must still obey the text “You can only use each effect of “Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles” once per turn”.
Therefore, the effect gained by Charlemagne cannot be activated during the same turn that Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles has already activated that effect. Also, if Charlemagne has already activated that effect this turn, Infernoble Knight Emperor Charles cannot use its own first effect.
“If Mirror Swordsman and Paleozoic Cambroraster battle, will Paleozoic Cambroraster be destroyed by battle?”
Q: A monster such as Cornfield Koator, Mirror Swordsman, Nightmare Magician, or Chimera the Illusion Magical Beast with the effect that prevents either monster being destroyed by battles involving them, and a monster such as Paleozoic Cambroraster which is unaffected by monster effects, battle each other while in Attack Position. If both monsters have the same ATK, or if the ATK of the monster unaffected by monster effects is lower, will that monster be destroyed by battle?
A: The monster is destroyed by battle. The effects of the monsters that prevent either monster being destroyed by battles involving them are effects applied to both battling monsters. Therefore, those effects do not apply to monsters unaffected by monster effects. Furthermore, in order for a monster to not be destroyed by battle, the effect must be applying to it during damage calculation.