[OCG] 3/13/2014 OCG rulings

3/13/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If the Xyz Summon of Number 79: Battlin’ Boxer Nova Caesar is negated by a Solemn Judgment activated by the opponent, can the effect that Special Summons Level 4 or lower “Battlin’ Boxer” monsters from the Graveyard be activated?
A: In that case, the Number 79: Battlin’ Boxer Nova Caesar that had its Xyz Summon negated and was destroyed is not treated as being a card on the field, and it is not considered to be destroyed while having Xyz Materials.
Therefore, the effect that Special Summons Level 4 or lower “Battlin'” Boxer monsters from the Graveyard cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13115&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the Xyz Material detached by the effect of Battlin’ Boxer Shadow is Battlin’ Boxer Glassjaw, can the effect of Battlin’ Boxer Glassjaw that adds 1 “Battlin’ Boxer” monster from the Graveyard to the hand be activated?
A: Detaching 1 Xyz Material from a “Battlin’ Boxer” Xyz Monster you control with Battlin’ Boxer Shadow is treated as part of its effect. (This is not a cost)
Therefore, in that case, the effect of Battlin’ Boxer Glassjaw can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13116&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are effects of Effect Monsters or the effects of Spell and Trap Cards activated outside the field in the same chain in which Tachyon Transmigration is activated, what happens?
A: Even in that case, the activations of the effects of Effect Monsters are still negated.
However, those cards are not returned to the Deck. (Only cards on the field are returned to the Deck)
Also, if there are effects of Spell or Trap Cards in the same chain as Tachyon Trasmigration, those activations are not negated.
(Other activations of the effects of Effect Monsters, Spell Cards or Trap Cards are still negated normally)
Tachyon Transmigration can negate the activations of Spell or Trap Cards, but not the activations of their effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13117&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can another copy of Galaxy Soldier be added to the hand by the effect of Galaxy Soldier that adds a “Galaxy” Card from the Deck to the hand?
A: Yes, it can.
Furthermore, that Galaxy Soldier that was added to the hand can activate its effect to Special Summon itself from the hand during that turn, but in that case, its effect that adds a “Galaxy” Card from the Deck to the hand does not activate. (The effect that adds a “Galaxy” Card from the Deck to the hand can only be used once per turn)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13118&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is chained to the activation of the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Cloud Dragon that attaches it as an Xyz Material, so that the targeted “Galaxy-Eyes” Xyz Monster is face-down during the resolution, how does the effect resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Cloud Dragon is applied normally and it is attached to the targeted Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13119&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Cloud Dragon to attach itself to the targeted monster as an Xyz Material the targeted monster has become unaffected by effects by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, since the targeted “Galaxy-Eyes” Xyz Monster is unaffected by card effects, it becomes unaffected by the effect to attach this card as an Xyz Material.
In that case, the Galaxy-Eyes Cloud Dragon that activated the effect remains in the Graveyard.
(The effect is not applied. Even in that case, you still cannot activate the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Cloud Dragon to attach itself as an Xyz Material again in that Duel)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13120&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Gagaga Sister that changes Levels the targeted “Gagaga” Monster has become unaffected by effects by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, since the targeted “Gagaga” Monster is unaffected by effects its effect does not change but the Level of Gagaga Siter becomes the sum of the Levels of both monsters as usual.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13121&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the Battle Phase of the opponent’s turn, when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, if you activate Magic Cylinder, can you activate the effect of Electromagnetic Turtle in a chain, and if so, how does each effect resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, at the time of the resolution of the Magic Cylinder activated as chain link 1 would be performed, the Battle Phase has ended and moved to the End Step as a result of the effect of Electromagnetic Turtle activated as chain link 2.
If gameplay has proceeded to the End Step, since the attack has ended, the attack is not negated and damage is not inflicted by the effect of the Magic Cylinder activated as chain link 1.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13122&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a Moonlight Rose Dragon.
The opponent activated Raigeki Break targeting that Moonlight Rose Dragon, and furthermore activated Call of the Haunted, targeting a Stardust Spark Dragon in the Graveyard.
In this case, Moonlight Rose Dragon is destroyed during the chain, but does its effect activate?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the requirements to activate the effect of Moonlighit Rose Dragon are met when Stardust Spark Dragon is Special Summoned by the effect of Call of the Haunted activated as chain link 2, after Moonlight Rose Dragon is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Raigeki Break activated as chain link 1, the effect of Moonlight Rose Dragon will start a new chain.
(Even in that case, it is treated as activating on the field)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13123&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Moonlight Rose Dragon activate if Dimension Fusion is activated Special Summoning your monsters and Level 5 or higher opponent monsters simultaneously while you control Moonlight Rose Dragon?
A: Even in that case, providing a Level 5 or higher monster is Special Summoned to the opponent’s side of the field, the effect of Moonlight Rose Dragon will activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13124&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Moonlight Rose Dragon is Special Summoned to your side of the field while the opponent controls no monsters, does its effect still activate?
A: Even in that case, the effect activates.
(Even if there are no monsters on the opponent’s side of the field to target, no monster is targeted but the effect still starts a chain)
As a result, no effect is performed, but since the effect of Moonlight Rose Dragon was activated that turn, the effect of Moonlight Rose Dragon does not activate again in the same turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13125&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent chains Magic Cylinder to the activation of the effect of Dark Magician of Illusions that banishes a card when a Spellcaster-Type Normal Monster declares an attack, negating that attack, is the effect still performed?
A: Even if the attack declaration that triggered the effect is negated, the effect still resolves normally.
(The targeted card is banished)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13126&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You only control a Number 52: Diamond Crab King.
If that Number 52: Diamond Crab King is equipped with United we Stand, and the effect that makes its DEF become 0 and its ATK become 3000 is activated, what does its ATK and DEF become?
Also, if you later control another monster, what does its ATK and DEF become?
A: In the proposed scenario, Number 52: Diamond Crab King gains 800 ATK and DEF, so its ATK becomes 800 and its DEF becomes 3800.
If at that time the effect that makes its DEF become 0 and its ATK become 3000 is activated, its DEF becomes 0 and its ATK becomes 3000.
Even if you later control another monster, the ATK remains at 3000 and the DEF become 0 while this effect of Number 52: Diamond Crab King is being applied.
(The increases by the effect of United we Stand are not re-applied)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13127&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Skill Drain is applied after the effect of Number 52: Diamond King Crab that makes its DEF become 0 and its ATK become 3000 is applied, what does its ATK and DEF become?
A: After the ATK and DEF of Number 52: Diamond Crab King become 3000 and 0 respectiviously by its own effect, if Skill Drain is applied, its ATK and DEF return to the values written in its text (0 and 3000 respectiviously).
Afterwards, even if the effect of Skill Drain is no longer applied during that turn, the ATK and DEF do not become 3000 and 0 respectiviously again.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13128&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Light and Darkness Dragon in your possession is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while you control a face-up Koa’ki Meiru Drago.
A LIGHT monster and a monster of a different Attribute exist in your Graveyard, but can the LIGHT monster in the Graveyard be targeted for hte effect of Light and Darkness Dragon that destroys all cards you control and Special Summons 1 monster from your Graveyard?
Also, what happens if you don’t control Koa’ki Meiru Drago but the opponent does?
A: In the proposed scenarios (whether you or the opponent controlling Koa’ki Meiru Drago), the player who activates the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon can target either the LIGHT monster or a monster of a different Attribute.
If you control Koa’ki Meiru Drago and you target the LIGHT monster, since Koa’ki Meiru Drago is first destroyed and then the targeted monster is Special Summoned, the targeted monster is Special Summoned as usual.
If the opponent controls Koa’ki Meiru Drago and you target the LIGHT monster, since the effect of Koa’ki Meiru Drago is still being applied during the resolution of the effect of Light and Darkness Dragon, only the part of the effect that destroys all cards you control is performed and the targeted monster is not Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13129&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons