[OCG] 3/11/2023 Rulings Update
Recent ruling updates.
“When resolving the effects of Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins, if the number of “Crystal Beast” cards in my Spell & Trap Zone has been reduced, what happens?”
Q: If the number of “Crystal Beast” cards in my Spell & Trap Zone is 2 or less when resolving the “● 3+” effect of Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins, how does the effect resolve?
A: Even in this case, the “● 3+” effect is applied. Similarly, even if the activation conditions for the “● 4+” effect and “● 5” effect are no longer met by the time the effect resolves (and Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins is not gaining that effect), the effect is applied normally.
Note: This is a reversal and makes the card function differently in the OCG vs. the TCG.
“While the effect of Void Expansion is applying, can my opponent target “Infernoid” monsters that are unaffected by Spell effects with attacks or effects?”
Q: Infernoid Attondel (Level 8) and Infernoid Harmadik (Level 3) are face-up in my Monster Zone, and Infernoid Harmadik is unaffected by Spell effects due to another card effect. If the effect of my Void Expansion is applying, can my opponent target Infernoid Harmadik with attacks or card effects?
A: No, they cannot. For the third effect of Void Expansion, the text that prevents your opponent from targeting your “Infernoid” monsters for attacks is an effect that affects your opponent’s monsters, and the text that prevents your opponent from targeting them with card effects is an effect that affects your opponent. Neither of these effects are ones that affect the “Infernoid” monsters you control. Therefore, the situation does not change if Infernoid Harmadik is unaffected by Spell effects.
“When resolving the effect of Gouki Destroy Ogre, if control of that Gouki Destroy Ogre has switched to my opponent, what happens?”
Q: I activated the effect of Gouki Destroy Ogre. If control of that Gouki Destroy Ogre has switched to my opponent by the time the effect resolves, what happens?
A: Even in this case, your opponent will Special Summon up to 2 monsters from their Graveyard. Afterward, if there is a usable Main Monster Zone (on your opponent’s field) that Gouki Destroy Ogre points to, you Special Summon non-Link “Gouki” monsters from your Graveyard to your opponent’s Main Monster Zones. (Even in this case, you can only Special Summon “Gouki” monsters for the rest of this turn.)
“What kind of situation is “If a monster leaves the field by your Normal Trap effect”?”
Q: Regarding the conditions for activating “Labrynth” monsters’ effects such as Labrynth Chandraglier and Labrynth Stovie Torbie, which situations are considered a monster leaving the field by my Normal Trap effect?
A: If a card in the Monster Zone is no longer on the field due to the effect of a Normal Trap Card, it means a monster left the field by your Normal Trap effect. This is the case even if a Spell/Trap Card that was Special Summoned as a monster or a Monster Token left the field.
Specifically, if a monster is no longer on the field due to an effect that destroys it, banishes it, returns it to the hand, or returns it to the Deck, it means the monster left the field.
As a general rule, when a monster on the field moves to the Spell & Trap Zone, or when a card on the field becomes an Xyz Material for an Xyz Monster, the monster is not treated as leaving the field. However, the effects of monsters such as “Crystal Beast” monsters, Pumprincess the Princess of Ghosts, Dragunity Javelin, and Tiki Soul may place destroyed monsters in the Spell & Trap Zone. In that case, a monster is treated as having left the field.
“Can I activate the effects of Monster Cards that activate in the Spell & Trap Zone during a Duel that I activated Sekka’s Light?”
Q: During the same Duel that I activated Sekka’s Light and applied its effect, can I activate the third effect of Superheavy Samurai Soulpeacemaker in my Spell & Trap Zone?
A: No, you cannot. If you activated Sekka’s Light, the part of the effect that prevents you from activating Spell/Trap effects for the rest of the Duel other than Sekka’s Light begins applying immediately once it resolves. The third effect of Superheavy Samurai Soulpeacemaker is treated as the effect of an Equip Spell Card, so it cannot be activated during the dame Duel you already activated Sekka’s Light.