[OCG] 2/27/2014 OCG rulings

2/27/2014
Assorted rulings:


Q: Can the effect of ZW – Banish Sage that Special Summons 1 banished monster and banishes a monster the opponent controls be activated when a face-down monster is banished by the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon?
A: In that case, the effect cannot be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13095&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Theosophy of the Artifacts be activated during Main Phase 2?
A: If you activate Theosophy of the Artifacts, you cannot conduct your Battle Phase.
Since you have conducted your Battle Phase during your turn, you cannot activate Theosophy of the Artifacts during the Main Phase 2 of your turn.
During the opponent’s turn, even if the opponent has conducted their Battle Phase, since you haven’t conducted your Battle Phase, you can activate Theosophy of the Artifacts during Main Phase 2.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13096&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Xyz Universe 1 of the targeted monsters has left the field, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, since the part of the effect that sends both targeted monsters to the Graveyard cannot be performed, the part of the effect that Special Summons 1 “Number” monster from the Extra Deck is not applied.
Furthermore, the part of the effect that reduces all damage the opponent takes to 0 this turn is still applied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13097&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Evil Hero Dark Gaia affected by Forbidden Lance battles and Forbidden Tome is activated during Damage Calculation, how is that Damage Calculation performed?
A: In the proposed scenario, Evil Hero Dark Gaia has become unaffected by the effects of other Spell or Trap Cards by the effect of Forbidden Lance.
In that case, the effect of Evil Hero Dark Gaia is not negated by the effect of Forbidden Tome, but the effect of Forbidden Tome that makes Damage Calculation be performed using the Original ATK and DEF of monsters is still applied.
Therefore, Damage Calculation is performed using the Original ATK of Evil Hero Dark Gaia that is equal to the sum of the Original ATK of its Fusion Materials.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13098&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Artifact Movement is destroyed during the Main Phase 2 of the opponent’s turn, which Battle Phase is skipped?
A: If Artifact Movement is destroyed during the Main Phase 2 of the opponent’s turn by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon or similar, the Battle Phase that is skipped is the opponent’s next Battle Phase.
(The Battle Phase of that turn that has already ended is not skipped)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13099&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Ghostrick Succubus that destroys a monster and makes that Monster Card Zone unusable is activated, how long is that Monster Card Zone unusable?
A: Even if Ghostrick Succubus itself leaves the field, as long as you control 1 or more “Ghostrick” monsters, the effect is still applied.
Therefore, when the player who activated the effect of Ghostrick Succubus no longer controls “Ghostrick” monsters, the effect is no longer applied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13100&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Artifact Durandal that changes effects to “destroy 1 Spell or Trap Card the opponent controls” be activated if you control no Spell or Trap Cards?
A: No, it cannot.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13101&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon is attached to Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon afterwards by the effect of Overlay Eater, is the Battle Damage of that Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon inflicted to the opponent still halved?
A: Even if Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon does not have Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon attached to it as an Xyz Material when it’s Xyz Summoned, as long as Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon is attached to it afterwards by an effect like Overlay Eater, the Battle Damage inflicted by Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon is not halved.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13102&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a “Sylvan” monster is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Sylvan Sagequoia that Special Summons it from the hand be activated?
A: The effect of Sylvan Sagequoia to Special Summon itself from the hand cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
Therefore, when a “Sylvan” monster is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, the effect of Sylvan Sagequoia in the hand cannot be activated.
Similarly, even if a “Sylvan” monster is destroyed by a card effect and sent to the Graveyard during the Damage Step, the effect of Sylvan Sagequoia in the hand cannot be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13103&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Artifact Aegis that prevents “Artifact” monsters from being targeted or destroyed is applied, is that effect also aplied to an “Artifact” monster that appeared on your side of the field after that effect was applied?
A: During the turn in which the effect of Artifact Aegis is applied, it is applied to all face-up “Artifact” monsters you control.
(It is also applied to “Artifact” monsters that appear on your side of the field after the effect resolves, but it is not applied to “Artifact” monsters that are face-down or that are treated as Equip Cards.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13104&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If during the opponent’s turn Artifact Caduceus and Artifact Beagalltach are Special Summoned simultaneously by the effect of Return from the Different Dimension, does the effect of that Special Summoned Artifact Caduceus that draws a card when an “Artifact” monster is Special Summoned during the opponent’s turn still activate?
A: In that case, the effect of Artifact Caduceus does not activate.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13105&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Blizzard Thunderbird you have no more WATER Winged-Beast-Type monsters in your hand or Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: If there isn’t at least 1 WATER Beast-Warrior-Type monster in both your hand and Graveyard when the effect of Blizzard Thunderbird resolves, the effect does not resolve.
(Not even 1 monster is Special Summoned, and the Blizzard Thunderbird that activated the effect does not return to the hand.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13106&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Xyz Summon is performed by the effect of Galaxy Tyranno, can that Xyz Summon be negated by the effect of Solemn Judgment?
A: The Xyz Summon performed by the effect of Galaxy Tyranno is performed immediatly after the effect of Galaxy Tyranno resolves.
Therefore, Solemn Judgment can be activated in response to that effect.
Furthermore, if the effect of Galaxy Tyranno that performs an Xyz Summon is activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, Solemn Judgment cannot be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13107&keyword=&tag=-1

(Yes, they asked it again)

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons