[OCG] 2/20/2014 OCG rulings

2/20/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: You activated the effect of Bujinki Amaterasu during your turn.
The opponent activated the effect of Enemy Controller in a chain, taking control of that Bujinki Amaterasu.
In that case, which effect of Bujinki Amaterasu is performed?
A: Even if at the time of the resolution of the effect of Bujinki Amaterasu that monster switches control, the content of the effect does not change.
In the proposed scenario, since the effect was activated during your turn, the “•” effect that Special Summons a banished monster is performed.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13081&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number 103: Ragna Zero be activated targeting a monster with a written ATK of “?” like Tragoedia?
A: A written ATK of “?” like Tragoedia’s is treated as having an Original ATK of 0.
Since Tragoedia increases its own ATK by its own effect that increases its ATK/DEF by the number of cards in your hand, it can be targeted by the effect of Number 103: Ragna Zero.
Furthermore, if the ATK of Tragoedia is 0 even while on the field, it cannot be targeted by the effect of Number 103: Ragna Zero.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13082&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a face-up Artifact Caduceus.
During the opponent’s turn, you activated Call of the Haunted targeting a Artifact Moralltach in your Graveyard, then activated Celestial Transformation in a chain to Special Summon Artifact Aegis from the hand.
In this case, how does the effect of Artifact Caduceus resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, since “Artifact” Monsters are Special Summoned by the effects of Call of the Haunted and Celestial Transformation, the effect of Artifact Caduceus activates because of each of these effects.
Since the effect of Artifact Caduceus activtes twice, the end result is that you draw 2 cards.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13083&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the Synchro Summon of your Wave-Motion Phonon Dragon is negated by the opponent’s Solemn Judgment, can you Synchro Summon another Wave-Motion Phonon Dragon that turn?
A: You cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13084&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a “Madolche” monster Special Summoned by the effect of Madolche Anjelly is affected by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, so that it becomes unaffected by the effects of other cards, does that monster have to return to the owner’s Deck during the next End Phase of your turn?
A: Even in that case, the Special Summoned “Madolche” monster is still returned to the owner’s Deck during your next turn’s End Phase normally.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13085&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Galaxy Tyranno that performs an Xyz Summon is applied, can that Xyz Summon be negated with Solemn Judgment?
A: The Xyz Summon performed by the effect of Galaxy Tyranno is performed immediatly after the effect of Galaxy Tyranno resolves.
Therefore, Solemn Judgment can be activated in response to that effect.
Furthermore, if the effect of Galaxy Tyranno that performs an Xyz Summon is activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, Solemn Judgment cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13086&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you controlled no cards and you had Gorz the Emissary of Darkness and Battlin’ Boxer Bailout in your hand, you took Battle Damage as a result of a direct attack from the opponent.
In this case, can the effects of both Gorz the Emissary of Darkness and Battlin’ Boxer Bailout be activated in a chain?
A: In the proposed scenario, either only the effect of Gorz the Emissary of Darkness or only the effect of Battlin’ Boxer Bailout can be activated.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13087&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Traptrix Dio is Special Summmoned during your turn, and a “Trap Hole” Normal Trap Card is set by its effect, when is that “Trap Hole” Normal Trap Card banished?
A: In that case, the set Trap Card is banished during the End Phase of your next turn.
(The “Trap Hole” Normal Trap Card set by the effect of Traptrix Dio is not banished during the End Phase of that turn)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13088&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you have two copies of Mecha Phantom Beast Olion in your Graveyard, can you activate the effect of each copy to Normal Summon 1 “Mecha Phantom Beast” Monster from your hand?
A: The Normal Summoned performed by the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Olion can be performed in addition to your Normal Summon that you perform once per turn.
In the proposed scenario, if you have two copies of Mecha Phantom Beast Olion in your Graveyard, you can activate the effect of each copy to Normal Summon 1 “Mecha Phantom Beast” Monster from your hand.
(As a result, providing you activated the effect twice of the two copies of Mecha Phantom Beast Olion by Banishing them, you can perform 2 Normal Summons that turn.
Furthermore, the Normal Summon performed by the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Olion can only be performed face-up, it cannot perform a set. Also, if a Level 7 Mecha Phantom Beast Kalgriffin is Normal Summoned by this effect, two tributes are necessary.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13089&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effects of The Monarchs Strike Back are being negated by the effect of Royal Decree.
In this case, if during your End Phase you do not control a monster that was Tribute Summoned, is The Monarchs Strike Back sent to the Graveyard?
A: Since sending The Monarchs Strike Back to the Graveyard is treated as the effect of a Trap Card, if its being negated by the effect of Royal Decree, The Monarchs Strike Back is not sent to the Graveyard during your End Phase.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13090&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Forbidden Tome is activated in a chain to the effect of Bujingi Crane, which values are used for Damage Calculation?
Also, if the effect of Bujingi Crane is chained to the activation of Forbidden tome, which values are used for Damage Calculation?
A: In either of the proposed scenarios, since the Damage Calculation will be performed while having applied the effect of Forbidden Tome, the Damage Calculation is performed using the ATK/DEF values written on each of the battling Monster Cards.
(The effect of Bujingi Crane is applied, but the Damage Calculation is not performed using the value of twice the Original ATK)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13091&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Please explain the activation procedure for Rank-Up-Magic The Seventh One.
A: At the time you perform your Normal Draw during your Draw Phase, you immediatly reveal it to your opponent.
Then, by proceeding through the Phases while keeping this card revealed, you declare the activation of this card when you enter the beginning of your Main Phase 1.
(You perform the part of the effect that is written after the activation requirements)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13092&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Photon Prime Dragon you control that has Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon as a material is destroyed by an opponent’s effect during the Standby Phase of your turn, does that Standby Phase count as the first Standby Phase?
A: In that case, that Standby Phase does not count as the first Standby Phase.
Furthermore, providing that a Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Photon Prime Dragon you control that has Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon as a material is destroyed by an opponent’s effect during the Draw Phase of your turn, the Standby Phase of that turn is counted as the first Standby Phase after activation.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13093&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, can Artifact Moralltach be placed in the Spell & Trap Card Zone from the hand?
Also, if a Artifact Moralltach set in the Spell & Trap Card Zone is destroyed during the opponent’s turn while Skil Drain is being applied, does its effect to Special Summon itself activate?
A: The effect of Artifact Moralltach that allows it to be set in the Spell & Trap Card Zone cannot be negated by Skill Drain.
(It can be set while Skill Drain is being applied)
Also, the effect of Artifact Moralltach to Special Summon itself from the Graveyard cannot be negated by Skill Drain.
(Its effect will activate while Skill Drain is being applied, and it will be Special Summoned.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13094&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons