[OCG] 12/25/2014 OCG rulings

12/25/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: Is it necessary to have a face-up Fiel Spell Card to Special Summon Chronomaly Tula Guardian with the effect of Monster Reborn?
A: A face-up Field Spell Card is only necessary to Special Summon Chronomaly Tula Guardian by the method written in its text.
If Chronomaly Tula Guardian is Special Summoned by the effects of other cards like Monster Reborn, it can be Special Summoned normally even if there is no face-up Spell Card.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=3&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Skypalace Gangaridai be activated during Main Phase 2?
A: The effect of Skypalace Gangaridai cannot be activated during the Main Phase 2 after it has performed an attack.
For example, providing Skypalace Gangaridai is Xyz Summoned during Main Phase 2, since Skypalace Gangaridai did not perform an attack, the effect can be activated during Main Phase 2.
Similarly, if other monsters perform attacks during the Battle Phase and gameplay proceeds to Main Phase 2 without Skypalace Gangaridai performing attacks, since Skypalace Gangaridai did not perform attacks, the effect can be activated during Main Phase 2.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=23&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Power Tool Mecha Dragon that switches the target of an Equip Card be activated even if you have no available zones in your Spell & Trap Zones?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.
Even if the target of an Equip Card is moved by the effect of Power Tool Mecha Dragon, control of that Equip Card does not change.
(Even if an United we Stand the opponent activated and equipped on an opponent’s monster is targeted to activate the effect of Power Tool Mecha Dragon, the United we Stand remains in the opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=51&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Gimmick Puppet Dreary Doll is Normal Summoned or Special Summoned by the effects of other cards, can it be used for the Xyz Summon of monsters that are not “Gimmick Puppet” monsters?
A: No, it cannot.
Even if Gimmick Puppet Dreary Doll is not Special summoned by its own effect, it still cannot be used as an Xyz Material, except for the Xyz Summon of a “Gimmick Puppet” monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=57&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Starship Spy Plane be Special Summoned by its own method if all the Xyz Monsters the opponent controls are in face-down Defense Position?
A: It is considered that face-down Defense Position monsters on the field have no information about the type of Monster Card they are. (The same happens even if they have Xyz Materials)
Therefore, if the opponent does not control any face-up Xyz Monsters, Starship Spy Plane cannot be Special Summoned by the method written in its text.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=82&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 or more monsters with String Counters are destroyed by the effect of Number C40: Gimmick Puppet of Dark Strings, how many cards are drawn?
A: Even in that case, the number of drawn cards is 1. (The effect of Number C40: Gimmick Puppet of Dark Strings does not draw cards according to the number of monsters destroyed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=96&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Revolving Switchyard that Special Summons a monster and makes all Battle Damage the opponent takes become 0 be activated during the Main Phase 2 of a turn in which you have conducted a battle during the Battle Phase and inflicted Battle Damage to the opponent?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated during Main Phase 2.
Furthermore, the part of the effect of Revolving Switchyard that makes all Battle Damage the opponent takes become 0 is applied during that turn when the opponent takes Battle Damage after the effect of Revolving Switchyard was applied. It does not make the Battle Damage the opponent has already taken this turn become 0.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=118&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Vennominaga the Deity of the Poisonous Snakes Special Summoned by the effect of Bolt from the Blue returned to the Deck by the part of the effect that returns it there during the opponent’s next End Phase?
A: Since a Vennominaga the Deity of the Poisonous Snakes that is Special Summoned by the effect of Bolt from the Blue is Special Summoned by the part of the effect that also makes it return to the Deck during the End Phase, this part of the effect is not influenced by the effect of Vennominaga the Deity of the Poisonous Snakes that makes it unaffected by other card effects, so it returns to the owner’s Deck during the opponent’s next End Phase normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=123&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After the effect of Deskbot 003 that increases ATK was applied, if the number of face-up “Deskbot” monsters you control changes, what happens with the ATK?
A: Even in that case, the ATK increased by the effect of Deskbot 003 does not change.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=148&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the FIRE monster you control targeted for the effect of Circle of the Fire Kings has switched control to the opponent by the time the effect resolves as a result of Enemy Controller being activated in a chain or similar, how does Circle of the Fire Kings resolve?
A: In that case, the part of the effect that destroys the monster is not applied, and the part of the effect that Special Summons the other targeted monster is not applied either.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=181&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Token Monsters be chosen as the cost to activate the effect of Scrubbed Raid?
A: Since Token Monsters cannot be sent to the Graveyard, you cannot to choose Token Monsters to the Graveyard as a cost to activate the effect of Scrubbed Raid.
(If you do not control any other cards than Scrubbed Raid and Token Monsters, the efefct of Scrubbed Raid cannot be activated)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=184&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of D.D. Crow is activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Admiration of the Thousands, so that 1 of the targeted Xyz Monsters is no longer in the Graveyard, how does this resolve?
Also, if none of the targeted monsters are in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, how does this resolve?
A: Even if 1 of the targeted Xyz Monsters is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, the part of the effect that Special Summons the Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck and the part of the effect that uses the remaining monsters as Xyz Materials is still performed.
Also, if at the time of the resolution of the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Admiration of the Thousands none of the targeted monsters are in the Graveyard,the part of the effect that Special Summons the Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck is not performed, and the monsters are not used as Xyz Materials either.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=190&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Ancient Dragon that had its Level and ATK increased by its own effect is later affected by the effect of Skill Drain, what does its Level and ATK become?
A: In that case, the Level and ATK return to the written Original values.
Afterwards, even if Skill Drain is no longer applied, the Level and ATK values do not return to the previous values.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=205&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force in the Graveyard be activated when you Special Summon a Rank 5 or higher Xyz Monster during the opponent’s turn by the effect of Call of the Haunted?
A: Even in that case, the effect of the Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force in the Graveyard can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7980&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the Rank 5 or higher monster that allowed the activation of the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force is no longer face-up on the field as a result of Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device being used in a chain to the activation of the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force in the Graveyard, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect that adds the card to the hand resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8737&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Pendulum Monster would be sent from the field to the Graveyard, it is added to the Extra Deck instead, but if the Level of a Pendulum Monster added to the Extra Deck is declared by the effect of Extra Gate, can that Pendulum Monster be banished?
A: Since Pendulum Monsters added to the Extra Deck are cards that exist in the Extra Deck, providing there are Pendulum Monsters in the Extra Deck with a Level equal to the Level declared at the time Extra Gate was activated, that Pendulum Monster can be chosen and banished.
However, since the player who chooses which card to banish by the effect of Extra Gate is not the player who activated Extra Gate but the opponent, if there are Fusion or Synchro Monsters with the same Level as the declared Level, the opponent can also choose to banish that Fusion or Synchro Monster instead of the Pendulum Monster as the card to banish.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9495&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 monsters you control are destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while you control a face-up Supply Squad in your Spell & Trap Zone, how many cards are drawn by the effect of Supply Squad?
A: In the proposed scenario, even if 2 or more monsters you control are destroyed simultaneously by the resolution of a single effect, the effect of Suply Squad activates only once per turn, and only 1 card is drawn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9832&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons