[OCG] 12/24/15 Rulings

Merry whatever.

12/24/15 Rulings

Q: A Galaxy Knight and Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate the effect of a Galaxy Tyranno in my hand that Special Summons it. When it is Special Summoned, if I activate its effect to perform an Xyz Summon, using “Galaxy” monsters to Xyz Summon a “Galaxy” Xyz Monster, and I want to Xyz Summon Number 107: Galaxy-Eyes Tachyon Dragon, do I have to include Galaxy Tyranno as an Xyz Material?
A: The effect of Galaxy Tyranno that performs an Xyz Summon does not target any particular monsters to be used as Xyz Material, but the “Galaxy” monsters used must be the correct Xyz Materials listed for the Xyz Summon of a “Galaxy” monster. Therefore, as long as you use the appropriate Xyz Materials for the Xyz Summon, you do not have to use Galaxy Tyranno as an Xyz Material. In this scenario, since Number 107: Galaxy-Eyes Tachyon Dragon only requires 2 Level 8 monsters, you can use Galaxy Knight and Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon as the Xyz Materials.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10952&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When performing an Xyz Summon by using the effect of Galaxy Tyranno, using “Galaxy” monsters to Xyz Summon a “Galaxy” Xyz Monster, can I Xyz Summon Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon using a Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon as the Xyz Material?
A: The effect of Galaxy Tyranno that performs an Xyz Summon does not target any particular monsters to be used as Xyz Material, but the “Galaxy” monsters used must be the correct Xyz Materials listed for the Xyz Summon of a “Galaxy” monster. In this scenario, you can Xyz Summon Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon by using a face-up Number 62: Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon on your side of the field as the Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11461&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have a Super Quantum Mecha Lord Great Magnas on my side of the field, and its “● 6 or more:” effect is applying, when my opponent activates a Spell or Trap Card, can I chain Dark Bribe?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Super Quantum Mecha Lord Great Magnas, your opponent cannot add any cards from their Deck to their hand. The effect of Dark Bribe makes your opponent draw 1 card, so in this case, you cannot activate Dark Bribe.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11052&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Number S39: Utopia Lightning with 2 Xyz Materials, including a “Utopia” monster, is face-up in my Monster Zone. If Number S39: Utopia Lightning attacks my opponent’s Beatrice, the Eternal Lady, and during damage calculation its effect that makes its ATK become 5000 is activated so that Beatrice, the Eternal Lady is destroyed, can the effect of Beatrice, the Eternal Lady that Special Summons a “Burning Abyss” monster from the Extra Deck be activated?
A: In this scenario, if the first effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning is applying, your opponent cannot activate cards or effects until and including the end of the Damage Step. If Beatrice, the Eternal Lady is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, its effect that Special Summons a “Burning Abyss” monster from the Extra Deck would activate at the end of the Damage Step, so in this case that effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8358&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Number S39: Utopia Lightning without Xyz Materials is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. If Number S39: Utopia Lightning battles my Beatrice, the Eternal Lady, and both monsters are destroyed by battle, can the effect of Beatrice, the Eternal Lady that Special Summons a “Burning Abyss” monster from the Extra Deck be activated?
A: The effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning that prevents the opponent from activating cards or effects is a Continuous Effect. If Number S39: Utopia Lightning is destroyed by battle, that effect will no longer be applying at the end of the Damage Step. Therefore, if Beatrice, the Eternal Lady was destroyed by battle, its effect that Special Summons a “Burning Abyss” monster from the Extra Deck can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8328&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss is the only monster in my Monster Zone. In this case, if I activate Hero Mask by targeting Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, changing its name to Elemental HERO Shadow Mist, will Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss be destroyed by its own effect?
A: In this scenario, after the effect of Hero Mask is applied, the only monster in your Monster Zone becomes Elemental HERO Shadow Mist, therefore there is a monster on your side of the field that is not a “Burning Abyss” monster. In this case, the Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss being treated as Elemental HERO Shadow Mist is destroyed by its own effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8361&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Gagaga Magician has become Level 8 as a result of its own effect being used, and then it is sent from my side of the field to the Graveyard, can I activate A Deal with Dark Ruler this turn?
A: In this scenario, although Gagaga Magician is treated as a Level 8 monster on the field, since it is originally a Level 4 monster, it is not treated as a Level 8 monster being sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, you cannot activate A Deal with Dark Ruler this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11948&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After Steelswarm Longhorn is Tribute Summoned by Tributing a “Steelswarm” monster(s), Skill Drain is activated, and the effects of Steelswarm Longhorn are negated. During my next turn, if Skill Drain has been destroyed, can I activate the effect of Steelswarm Longhorn?
A: If Steelswarm Longhorn was Tribute Summoned by Tributing a “Steelswarm” monster(s), and then Skill Drain is activated, Steelswarm Longhorn is still considered to have gained the additional effect. Once the effect of Skill Drain is no longer applying, the effect of Steelswarm Longhorn that destroys 1 monster on the field can be activated and resolved normally. Note that if Steelswarm Longhorn is Tribute Summoned by Tributing a “Steelswarm” monster(s) while Skill Drain is applying, it still gains the additional effect. Although that effect will be negated by Skill Drain, once the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, it can be activated and resolved normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10192&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Heliosphere Dragon is the only monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone, and I have 4 cards in my hand, so the effect of Heliosphere Dragon that prevents me from declaring attacks is applying. In this case, if I activate the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand by targeting itself, making it unaffected by other card effects, can I declare an attack with Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand?
A: The effect of Heliosphere Dragon is not an effect that affects monsters. In this scenario, even if Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand is unaffected by other cards’ effects, you cannot declare an attack with it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8360&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Archlord Kristya is Special Summoned by the effect of Sephylon, the Ultimate Timelord. When Archlord Kristya attacks an opponent’s monster, and my opponent activates Mirror Force, what will happen to Archlord Kristya?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Archlord Kristya that places it on top of the Deck when it would be sent to the Graveyard is negated by the effect of Sephylon, the Ultimate Timelord. Therefore, if Archlord Kristya is destroyed by your opponent’s Mirror Force, it is sent to the Graveyard rather than being placed on the top of the Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11054&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Dark Ruler Ha Des be equipped with Ribbon of Rebirth? Also, if it can, when Dark Ruler Ha Des is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Ribbon of Rebirth be activated?
A: You can equip Ribbon of Rebirth to Dark Ruler Ha Des. However, since Dark Ruler Ha Des cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard, if it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, you cannot Special Summon it with the effect of Ribbon of Rebirth. (Note that the effect of Ribbon of Rebirth will still activate during the End Phase and create a Chain.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13590&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Destructotron equipped with Telekinetic Charging Cell is face-up in my Monster Zone. If I activate the effect of Destructotron that destroys a Spell/Trap Card on my opponent’s side of the field, can I choose to pay Life Points?
A: The effect of Telekinetic Charging Cell eliminates any Life Point cost required to activate the effect of the equipped monster. Therefore, you cannot choose to pay Life Points to activate it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8747&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s turn, my opponent’s Timeater destroyed my monster by battle, and its effect that skips my next Main Phase 1 activated. During my next turn, although my Main Phase 1 is skipped, how does my turn proceed afterward?
A: In this scenario, your Draw Phase and Standby Phase are conducted normally. Once you reach your Main Phase 1, it will be skipped by the effect of Timeater, and you can choose to proceed to your Battle Phase. (If you conduct your Battle Phase, once it is finished you will conduct Main Phase 2 normally.) If you do not conduct your Battle Phase, proceed to your End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9685&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-down Defense Position Maestroke the Symphony Djinn with Xyz Material is in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if my Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon attacks the face-down Defense Position Maestroke the Symphony Djinn, and the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon is activated, what happens?
A: In this scenario, even if Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon attacks a face-down Defense Position Maestroke the Symphony Djinn, its effect can be activated, banishing both it and the opponent’s Maestroke the Symphony Djinn. In that case, Maestroke the Symphony Djinn is banished face-down, and returns to your opponent’s side of the field in face-down Defense Position at the end of the Battle Phase. Note that the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon that increases its ATK by 500 for each Xyz Material the banished monster had is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8366&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Bujin Yamato affected by Bujintervention attacks my opponent’s Cyber Dragon, and before damage calculation, Shrink is activated, so the opponent’s Cyber Dragon is destroyed. In this case, will the second effect of Bujintervention activate?
A: In this scenario, the Bujin Yamato affected by Bujintervention has 1800 ATK, and destroys an opponent’s Cyber Dragon whose original ATK is halved by Shrink (1050 ATK), so it is not treated as being destroyed while its current ATK is greater than or equal to the original ATK of Bujin Yamato. Therefore, the second effect of Bujintervention will not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7956&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons