[OCG] 12/04/14 Rulings

12/04/14 Assorted rulings.

Q: Can Dark Renewal be activated while Macro Cosmos is applying?
A: Even while Macro Cosmos is applying, Dark Renewal can be activated when the opponent Normal or Special Summons. In that case, the two targeted monsters are banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, it is not possible to Special Summon a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster from the Deck or Graveyard. (The same is true if Macro Cosmos is chained to Dark Renewal.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7652&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Apelion the Tamed Espritual Beast or Chimeratech Fortress Dragon be Special Summoned while Non-Fusion Area is applying?
A: The Special Summon of these monsters is not a Fusion Summon, therefore they can be Special Summoned even while Non-Fusion Area is applying.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=65&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving Compulsory Escape Device, can I choose a Monster Token.
A: Yes, you can choose a Monster Token. In this case, it is not returned to the Deck, but disappears from the field. (If the opponent selected a monster that is not a Token, it is returned to the Deck as usual.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11503&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving Compulsory Escape Device, can I choose Elemental HERO Wildheart?
A: Yes, you can choose Elemental HERO Wildheart. In this case, it is not returned to the Deck, but remains on the field. (If the opponent selected a monster that is affected by Trap Cards, it is returned to the Deck as usual.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=49&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving Compulsory Escape Device, can I choose a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster?
A: Yes, you can choose a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster. In this case, it is not returned to the Deck, but returns to the Extra Deck instead. (If the opponent selected a monster that is not a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster, it is returned to the Deck as usual.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=52&keyword=&tag=0

Q: My opponent has Skill Drain face-up on the field. If I activate the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite from my Graveyard, will I take 400 damage when it resolves, or is that effect negated?
A: As the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite activates in the Graveyard, it is not negated by Skill Drain. (You take 400 damage as usual.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=170&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World is discarded to the Graveyard by an opponent’s effect, so that I can look at 1 random card in my opponent’s hand and Special Summon it if it is a monster, how does this effect resolve if the card I pick is a monster that cannot be Special Summoned, like Tsukuyomi?
A: In this case, Tsukuyomi will remain in your opponent’s hand. (It will not be Special Summoned by the effect of Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6385&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate the effect of Swordsman of Revealing Light in my hand. If I then chain Magic Cylinder to its effect, how will the effects on the chain resolve?
A: In this case, Magic Cylinder resolves first and negated the attacking monster’s attack. Even so, Swordsman of Revealing Light is still Special Summoned by its own effect, but because the attack has already been negated, the effect of destroying the monster that attacked is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=265&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Solemn Judgment is activated when a monster is Normal or Flip Summoned, can Destruction Jammer be chained to it?
A: It cannot. If Solemn Judgment is being activated to negate the Summon of a monster, it is not considered to be an effect which is destroying a monster(s) on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=281&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the ATK of Mokey Mokey becomes 3000 because of Mokey Mokey Smackdown, but then the opponent uses Enemy Controller to take control of that Mokey Mokey, what happens to its ATK?
A: During the turn that the effect of Mokey Mokey Smackdown is applied, because only the ATK of Mokey Mokeys you control become 3000, the ATK will return to 300 once it switches control to the opponent.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8989&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Imperial Iron Wall is applying, can Extra Gate be activated? In addition, if Imperial Iron Wall is chained to Extra Gate, how does Extra Gate resolve?
A: Extra Gate cannot be activated while Imperial Iron Wall is applying. If Imperial Iron Wall is applying at the time Extra Gate resolves, its effects do not apply. (No monster is banished from the Extra Deck, and no card is discarded.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6394&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While I have 0 cards in my hand, can I activate a Set Extra Gate? Also, if the only card in my hand is Extra Gate, can I activate it?
A: You cannot activate Extra Gate in either case.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6251&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Extra Gate, but then chain Raigeki Break by discarding a card, so that I have 0 cards in my hand when Extra Gate resolves, is its effect applied?
A: In this case, your opponent will still banish a monster with the declared Level. If one does not exist in their Extra Deck, no further effect resolves.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6406&keyword=&tag=0

Q: My opponent controls 2 copies of Destiny HERO – Plasma. If I use Mind Control to take control of 1 of them, are both of their effects negated?
A: In this case, it will be the effect of the Destiny HERO – Plasma that remains on your opponent’s side of the field that will apply. (The effects of the one that changed control due to Mind Control are negated.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9049&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate the effect of Herald of Pure Light by targeting a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster in my Graveyard?
A: If the number of cards in your hand is greater than or equal to 1, then you may target a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster in your Graveyard with the effect of Herald of Pure Light. The targeted monster is returned to the Extra Deck instead of your hand, and 1 card in your hand is shuffled into the Deck as usual. Note that if you have 0 cards in your hand, you cannot activate the effect of Herald of Pure Light by targeting a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster in your Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=62&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Dark Simorgh or Light of Intervention are applying, can I activate Unleash Your Power! ? In addition, if Unleash Your Power! has been activated, if Dark Simorgh or Light of Intervention are applying during the End Phase, what happens to the battle positions of my monsters?
A: Unleash Your Power! can be activated even while Dark Simorgh or Light of Intervention are applying. Gemini monsters that become Effect Monsters by its effect will remain face-up during the End Phase, and will continue to remain face-up even after the next turn. (In other words, Unleash Your Power! will not change them to face-down Defense Position during the next turn either.) The same is true if Dark Simorgh or Light of Intervention begin applying after Unleash Your Power! has resolved.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8318&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If each player controls their own Clock Tower Prison, how would Eternal Dread resolve?
A: If each player has Clock Tower Prison in their Field Zone, Eternal Dread will place 2 Clock Counters on each of them. (You cannot place the counters on only 1 copy.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=120&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I activate Synchro Material during my Main Phase 1. If the targeted monster then leaves the field, and I cannot Synchro Summon with it, can I conduct my Battle Phase this turn?
A: You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn you activate Synchro Material, even if the targeted monster is no longer on the field and you cannot perform a Synchro Summon with it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=172&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While I control a Flying “C”, can I activate the effect of Bahamut Shark?
A: Special Summoning a monster with the effect of Bahamut Shark is not treated as an Xyz Summon. Even while the effect of Flying “C” is applying, the effect can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6252&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I have already Set a card this turn during my Main Phase, if my Absorbing Jar is flipped face-up, will its effect activate?
A: In this case, even if you already Set a card this turn, the effect is applied normally. (After resolving the effect of Absorbing Jar, you will not be able to Set any more cards this turn.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=69&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of my Force Resonator is applying, if the affected monster attacks, can my opponent activate Call of the Haunted by targeting a monster in the Graveyard?
A: They cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8559&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Call of the Haunted is chained to Supercharge, so that I control a monster other than a “roid” monster when resolving the effect of Supercharge, how is it applied?
A: Even in that case, you will draw 2 cards as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=235&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained to Supercharge, so that I no longer control a “roid” monster when resolving the effect of Supercharge, how is it applied?
A: Even in that case, you will draw 2 cards as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=215&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If an Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman or Dark Jeroid I control are destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Rescueroid?
A: Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman and Dark Jeroid are treated as “roid” monsters, therefore the effect of Rescueroid can be activated when they are destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard. Note that Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman is a Fusion Monster, so it is returned to the Extra Deck instead of being added to the hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=261&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I control my opponent’s “roid” monster because of Creature Swap, if that monster is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of my Rescueroid?
A: Even if the “roid” monster you control is owned by the opponent, you can activate the effect of Rescueroid. In that case, the destroyed monster will be returned to your opponent’s hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=245&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Rescueroid is activated, but Liberty at Last! is chained so that Rescueroid is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, will its effect apply?
A: In this case, the effect of Rescueroid will not apply. (The monster that was destroyed by battle cannot be added to the hand.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=236&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the effect of Stealthroid, if I no longer control another “roid” monster, is the effect applied?
A: In this case, the effect of Stealthroid will not apply. (The targeted Spell/Trap Card is not destroyed.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=262&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-down Defense Position “roid” monster is Tributed to Tribute Summon Armoroid, will its effect activate?
A: Yes, it will activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=198&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Archfiend Palabyrinth is activated, but Mystical Space Typhoon is chained, targeting and destroying Archfiend Palabyrinth, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this case, the effect of Archfiend Palabyrinth will not be applied. (You do not banish a Fiend-Type monster you control, nor Special Summon an “Archfiend” monster from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=56&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a Fiend-Type Token be banished with the effect of Archfiend Palabyrinth?
A: Yes, a Fiend-Type Token can be banished with the effect of Archfiend Palabyrinth. Even in that case, the effect of Special Summoning an “Archfiend” monster still applies normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9007&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Level Warrior is treated as a Level 1 monster in my hand because of Cost Down, and there are no monsters on the field, can I Special Summon it as a Level 2 monster? If my opponent controls a monster but I control no monsters instead, can I Special Summon Level Warrior as a Level 4 monster?
A: Even if Level Warrior is treated as a Level 1 monster in your hand because of Cost Down, you can Special Summon it as a Level 2 or 4 monster with its effects.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8558&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons