OCG 12/22/17 Rulings

Assorted rulings from recent products.

12/22/17 Rulings

Q: Trickstar Light Stage is face-up in my Field Zone, and 3 copies of Trickstar Lycoris are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, what happens when my opponent draws a card?
A: When the effect of each Trickstar Lycoris is applied, the effect of Trickstar Light Stage will also apply each time. In this case, when each Trickstar Lycoris inflicts 200 damage, Trickstar Light Stage inflicts another 200 damage. As a result, if there are 3 copies of Trickstar Lycoris, this happens 3 times and your opponent takes 1200 damage in total.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9126&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Trickstar Light Stage is face-up in my Field Zone, and my Trickstar Holly Angel is in an Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, when I Normal or Special Summon a Trickstar Lilybell to one of the Zones that Trickstar Holly Angel points to, and the effects of Trickstar Holly Angel and Trickstar Light Stage both inflict 200 damage to my opponent, what happens if my opponent then activates the effect of a D/D/D Rebel King Leonidas in their hand?
A: In this scenario, when Trickstar Lilybell is Normal or Special Summoned to a Zone that Trickstar Holly Angel points to, the effect of Trickstar Holly Angel inflicts 200 damage to your opponent, thereby making the effect of Trickstar Light Stage apply at the same time. In that case, when your opponent activates the effect of D/D/D Rebel King Leonidas in their hand, they choose which effect damage it will respond to. The amount of Life Points they gain will be 200, either in response to the effect of Trickstar Holly Angel or the effect of Trickstar Light Stage, but it is not possible to gain Life Points for both.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6135&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Contacting the “C” is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this case, can I activate Instant Fusion?
A: The effect of Instant Fusion does not use Fusion Material monsters, but it is still a Special Summon treated as a Fusion Summon. Therefore, if you have Contacting the “C” face-up in your Monster Zone, you cannot activate Instant Fusion.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15340&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Action Spell – Full Turn was activated this turn, and all battle damage players take from battles involving 2 monsters is doubled. If my Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon attacks my opponent’s Attack Position Swamp Battleguard, what happens to the damage?
A: In this scenario, the difference in ATK between the 2500 ATK Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon and 1800 ATK Swamp Battleguard is 700, which is doubled and inflicted as 1400 damage to your opponent. In this case, the effects of Action Spell – Full Turn and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon both double battle damage, but it is only doubled once as if only one effect is applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11315&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Temple of the Mind’s Eye is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone. If I activated Action Spell – Full Turn, and my Odd-Eyes Dragon attacks my opponent’s Attack Position Lava Battleguard, what happens to the damage?
A: In this scenario, although the effect of Action Spell – Full Turn is applying, the effect of Temple of the Mind’s Eye makes all battle damage become 1000, so your opponent takes 1000 damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Cost Down this turn, and the Levels of all monsters in my hand are reduced by 2. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Garbage Collector?
A: Even while the effect of Cost Down is applying, you can activate the effect of Garbage Collector, as long as there is a Cyberse-Type monster in your Deck with the same Level the targeted monster would have in your hand. For example, if you target a Level 3 Backup Secretary, you must have a Level 1 Cyberse-Type monster in your Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12645&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Decode Talker is in an Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent Normal or Special Summons a monster to their Main Monster Zone that Decode Talker points to, can I activate the effect of Sea Archiver?
A: In this scenario, even if your opponent Normal or Special Summons a monster to a Zone a Link Monster points to, you can activate the effect of Sea Archiver.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11540&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I attack my opponent’s Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon with Anti-Alian, my opponent activates the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon that banishes it and my battling monster until the end of the Battle Phase. At that time, when Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon and Anti-Alian return to the field, can I activate the effect of Anti-Alian that Normal Summons a Cyberse-Type monster?
A: In this scenario, if Anti-Alian was banished by the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon and then returned to the field, it is not treated as a monster that battled during this Battle Phase, so you cannot activate its effect that Normal Summons a Cyberse-Type monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13694&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Linkuriboh is in an Extra Monster Zone, and Bitron is face-up in my their Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I attack my opponent’s Bitron with Storm Cipher, but my opponent activates the effect of Linkuriboh by Tributing it, will Storm Cipher be affected?
A: The effect of Linkuriboh that makes an attacking monster’s ATK become 0 is activated by Tributing that Linkuriboh, but in this scenario, that effect is still considered to be activated by a monster in the Extra Monster Zone. Since Storm Cipher is unaffected by monster effects activated from the Extra Monster Zone, its ATK does not become 0 by the effect of Linkuriboh.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13577&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Proxy Dragon is in an Extra Monster Zone, and a Honeybot that was Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn is in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I take 2000 or more damage and activate the effect of Cynet Storm, what happens if my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys Honeybot?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Cynet Storm resolves while you are not able to Special Summon from your Extra Deck, since your Honeybot has been destroyed by the effect of Raigeki Break. You will shuffle your Extra Deck and reveal the top card normally, but if that card is a Cyberse-Type Link Monster, it is sent to the Graveyard since there are no available Zones for it. Note that if you have no Zones that you can Special Summon from the Extra Deck to, you cannot activate the effect of Cynet Storm.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12805&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.