[OCG] 12/08/17 Rulings

The rulings for Powercode Link were also added to the database at the same time, and will be posted here soon.

12/08/17 Rulings

Q: Skill Drain and a Prohibition that was activated by declaring SPYRAL Super Agent are both face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I Link Summon a SYPRAL Double Helix, can I then activate its effect?
A: In this scenario, the Link Summoned SPYRAL Double Helix has its effects negated by Skill Drain, so its name is not treated as SPYRAL Super Agent by its own effect, and it can attack and activate its effects normally. Also, if the effect of SPYRAL Double Helix is activated and Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to destroy Skill Drain, SPYRAL Double Helix will be treated as SPYRAL Super Agent again, and since SPYRAL Double Helix appeared on the field after the effect of Prohibition started applying, its effect that was activated will not apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12618&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Relinquished is face-up in my Monster Zone, while Magician of Dark Illusion is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Millennium-Eyes Illusionist that equips an opponent’s Effect Monster to my Relinquished, targeting that Magician of Dark Illusion, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Relinquished to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Millennium-Eyes Illusionist, you choose 1 face-up Relinquished or “Eyes-Restrict” Fusion Monster on your field and equip the targeted monster to it. In this scenario, if Relinquished was changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of the chained Book of Moon, Relinquished is not face-up when the effect of Millennium-Eyes Illusionist resolves, so the effect does not apply. (Magician of Dark Illusion remains face-up on the field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10768&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Fiend-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster in my Monster Zone is sent to my Graveyard, can I activate the die roll effect of Perpetual King Archfiend?
A: Even if a Fiend-Type Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster is sent to your Graveyard, you can activate the die roll effect of Perpetual King Archfiend. If the die roll result makes the “● 1” or “● 2-5” effects apply, that Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monster returns to the Extra Deck. If the “● 6” effect applies, that monster is Special Summoned from the Graveyard. If that monster is one that cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard, it remains in the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13884&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode attacks my Curious, the Lightsworn Dominion and destroys it by battle. After damage calculation, if the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode destroys all other monsters on the field and Curious, the Lightsworn Dominion is destroyed by that effect, will the effect of Curious, the Lightsworn Dominion that adds a card from my Graveyard to my hand activate twice?
A: In this scenario, Curious, the Lightsworn Dominion leaves the field when it is destroyed by the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode after damage calculation, so you can activate its effect once after that. Since Curious, the Lightsworn Dominion is no longer treated as having been destroyed by battle, its effect cannot be activated again.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8564&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Steelswarm Origin is in an Extra Monster Zone, and there are 4 Sheep Tokens on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if an opponent’s Sheep Token is destroyed by battle or card effect, can I activate the effect of Steelswarm Origin that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “lswarm” monster from my Deck?
A: Even if a Token in the Monster Zone is destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate the effect of Steelswarm Origin that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “lswarm” monster from your Deck. (If 2 or more Tokens are destroyed at the same time, you can Special Summon “lswarm” monsters up to that number.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14981&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Link Summon Isolde, Two Tales of the Noble Knights and use its effect to add Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin from my Deck to my hand. During this turn, can I activate NEX and target another Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin that was already face-up on my field, to Special Summon Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin?
A: In this scenario, you cannot Normal or Special Summon any copies of Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin after adding one to your hand with the effect of Isolde, Two Tales of the Noble Knights. Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin is always treated as Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, so you cannot Special Summon it this turn. Therefore, it is not possible to activate NEX this turn by targeting a Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin that was already on your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9064&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Zefra Metaltron and my opponent’s Crowley, Origin of Prophecy are each in the Extra Monster Zones, and a Stellarknight Zefraxciton that was Pendulum Summoned from the Extra Deck is face-up in my Main Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Zefra Metaltron that banishes 2 monsters that were Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, targeting Crowley, Origin of Prophecy and Stellarknight Zefraxciton, but my opponent chains Spellbook of Fate and banishes Stellarknight Zefraxciton, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Zefra Metaltron was activated targeting Crowley, Origin of Prophecy and Stellarknight Zefraxciton. When resolving the effect, if one of the two targeted monsters has been banished by the effect of Spellbook of Fate, the effect of Zefra Metaltron does not apply. (Crowley, Origin of Prophecy will remain on the field.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12408&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Cherubini, Black Angel of the Burning Abyss in the Extra Monster Zone and a Fluff Token in my Main Monster Zone are the only cards on my field. In this situation, if Cherubini, Black Angel of the Burning Abyss would be destroyed by battle or opponent’s card effect, can I apply its effect that sends another card on my field to the Graveyard instead?
A: Since a Token on your field is considered a card you control, you can choose a Token when applying the effect of Cherubini, Black Angel of the Burning Abyss. In that case, the Token disappears when it leaves the field and is not sent to the Graveyard, but Cherubini, Black Angel of the Burning Abyss remains on the field without being destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12410&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Heavymetalfoes Electrumite is in an Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, when my opponent activates Enemy Controller and targets Heavymetalfoes Electrumite with the effect that takes control of it, I chain Mystical Space Typhoon and destroy a Metalfoes Silverd in my Pendulum Zone. After that, will the effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite that draws a card activate?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite would activate in a new Chain after resolving Mystical Space Typhoon and Enemy Controller, but since your opponent now controls Heavymetalfoes Electrumite, it is not a situation in which a card in your Pendulum Zone was destroyed. Therefore, the effect of Heavymetalfoes Electrumite does not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12407&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate the effect of Crystron Glassfiber that Special Summons a Tuner Synchro Monster if I do not have any available Monster Zones to Special Summon from the Extra Deck with?
A: If Crystron Glassfiber itself is in the Extra Monster Zone, since it will be banished as the cost to activate its effect, the Extra Monster Zone will become available and the effect can be resolved normally. If Crystron Glassfiber is in a Main Monster Zone, its effect cannot be activated unless the Extra Monster Zone or a Main Monster Zone that a Link Monster points to will be available. (For example, if the only other Link Monster on the field is your Proxy Dragon in the Extra Monster Zone, while Crystron Glassfiber is in your Main Monster Zone, the effect of Crystron Glassfiber cannot be activated.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12409&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.