Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 12/04/21 Rulings Update

More updates.

 

The following three rulings are ones that were already on the Database, but referenced older and outdated rulesets, and had not been updated until now.

 

Q: If my opponent controls an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster after its activation, how much damage is inflicted if I activate Secret Barrel?
A: After being activated, Embodiment of Apophis becomes a monster and is still also treated as a Trap, but it does not exist in the Spell & Trap Zone and only occupies a Monster Zone. Therefore, if the only card your opponent controls is an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster, Secret Barrel only inflicts 200 damage to your opponent for it.

Source

This ruling previously mentioned that Embodiment of Apophis still used a Spell & Trap Zone, which is no longer the case after the April 1, 2020 rule changes. Even so, it still only counted as 1 card for Secret Barrel.

 

Q: Can I activate a Set Artifact Ignition if my Spell & Trap Zones are full?
A: If you have no room in your Spell & Trap Zones and you activate a Set Artifact Ignition, you must target a card in your own Spell & Trap Zone other than that Artifact Ignition. Furthermore, you cannot target a Spell/Trap your opponent controls or a Field Spell in your Field Zone.

Source

This ruling previously mentioned that you could not target a card in your Pendulum Zones if your Spell & Trap Zones were full. Pendulum Zones were separate from your Spell & Trap Zones prior to March 25, 2017.

 

Q: If the effect of Ritual Beast Tamer Wen is activated targeting a banished Spiritual Beast Pettlephin, but my opponent chains Burial from a Different Dimension and returns the targeted Spiritual Beast Pettlephin to the Graveyard, will Spiritual Beast Pettlephin be Special Summoned?
A: If the Spiritual Beast Pettlephin that was targeted by the effect of Ritual Beast Tamer Wen is not banished when the effect resolves, it is not Special Summoned.

Source

This ruling previously mentioned that Spiritual Beast Pettlephin still could not be Special Summoned by other effects that turn, since this still counted as an attempt to Special Summon it, but that is no longer the case after the April 1, 2020 rule changes.

 

The following are the new rulings.

 

Q: While there are no cards in either Graveyard, I Tribute Summon a Raiza the Mega Monarch by Tributing a Floowandereeze & Eglen and Floowandereeze & Robina, and activate its effect. In this case, since Raiza the Mega Monarch was Tribute Summoned by Tributing a WIND monster, can I just target the 1 card on the field to return to the hand?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, the effect targets 1 card on the field and no other cards.

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Paleozoic Dinomischus in the Graveyard is activated, can the effect of Underworld Goddess of the Closed World be chained to that effect?
A: It cannot be activated. (The effect is not treated as one that Special Summons a monster in the Graveyard.)

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Number 68: Sanaphond the Sky Prison has been applied, can the effect of Paleozoic Dinomischus in the Graveyard be activated?
A: Yes, it can be activated. (It will be Special Summoned as a Normal Monster as usual.)

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Rivalry of Warlords is applying, if I control no monsters, what happens if I activate the effect of a Cyber Angel Natasha (Fairy-Type) in my Graveyard by targeting an Eldlich the Golden Lord (Zombie-Type) my opponent controls?
A: Even in that case, Cyber Angel Natasha is Special Summoned from the Graveyard and you gain control of Eldlich the Golden Lord. However, since you now control 2 monster Types, Eldlich the Golden Lord is immediately sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls a Lyrilusc – Recital Starling that was Xyz Summoned using Lyrilusc – Beryl Canary as a material, and has gained the “●” effect that increases its ATK by 200 and prevents it from changing control. In this situation, if my opponent activates the effect of Lyrilusc – Recital Starling, can I chain the effect of Number F0: Utopic Draco Future? If so, how does it resolve?
A: Even in that case, you can chain the effect of Number F0: Utopic Draco Future. In that case, the activation of the effect of Lyrilusc – Recital Starling is negated, but you do not gain control of it. (Lyrilusc – Recital Starling remains on your opponent’s field.)

Source

 

Q: Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier was Special Summoned from the Graveyard, then changed to face-down Defense Position by its own effect. In this situation, if the effect of Ogdoabyss, the Ogdoadic Overlord is activated, will Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier be sent to the Graveyard?
A: In that case, Subterror Behemoth Phospheroglacier will be sent to the Graveyard. If a monster Special Summoned from the Graveyard changes from face-up to face-down Defense Position, that monster will continue to be treated as a Special Summoned monster, but will no longer be treated as a monster Special Summoned from the Graveyard. The same applies when it is flipped face-up again after that.

Source

 

Q: If Evocator Chevalier was Normal Summoned again as an Effect Monster after being Special Summoned from the Graveyard, can its effect be activated by targeting The Undead Vampire?
A: Yes, it can. Evocator Chevalier is still treated as a monster that was Special Summoned from the Graveyard, even after being Normal Summoned again.

Source

 

Q: Can The Undead Vampire be targeted by the effects of Normal Summoned monsters, or monsters Special Summoned from the hand?
A: The Undead Vampire can be targeted by the effects of Normal Summoned monsters. But it cannot be targeted by the effects of monsters Special Summoned from the hand. (You can target The Undead Vampire with the effects of monsters that were not Special Summoned. Furthermore, if a monster was Special Summoned, it can only target The Undead Vampire with its effects if it was Special Summoned from the Graveyard.)

Source

 

Q: I control the Level 8 Fiend Fusion Monster Despian Quaeritis and a Branded Servants, and my opponent controls a Tri-Brigade Fraktall whose ATK is 0 due to the effect of Despian Quaeritis. If that Tri-Brigade Fraktall with 0 ATK activates its effect, but is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, can the effect of Tri-Brigade Fraktall be negated by the effect of Branded Servants?
A: In that case, the effect of Branded Servants cannot be applied. (The activated effect of Tri-Brigade Fraktall cannot be negated.) When resolving a monster effect, if the monster that activated that effect is not face-up in the Monster Zone, whether or not the effect of Branded Servants can be applied depends on that monster’s original ATK or DEF. Since Tri-Brigade Fraktall has an original ATK of 1900 and original DEF of 1600, the effect of Branded Servants cannot be applied.

Source

 

Q: I control the Level 8 Fiend Fusion Monster Despian Quaeritis and a Branded Servants, and my opponent controls a Tri-Brigade Nervall whose ATK is 700 due to the effect of Tri-Brigade Rendezvous. If that Tri-Brigade Nervall with 700 ATK activates its effect, but is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, can the effect of Tri-Brigade Nervall be negated by the effect of Branded Servants?
A: In that case, the effect of Branded Servants can be applied. (You can negate the activated effect of Tri-Brigade Nervall.) When resolving a monster effect, if the monster that activated that effect is not face-up in the Monster Zone, whether or not the effect of Branded Servants can be applied depends on that monster’s original ATK or DEF. Since Tri-Brigade Nervall has an original ATK of 0, the effect of Branded Servants can be applied.

Source

 

Q: Can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained to the card activation of Uradora of Fate?
A: When Uradora of Fate is activated, the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring cannot be chained. Also note that the “●” effect of Uradora of Fate is an effect that activates at the end of the Damage Step, when the targeted monster destroys an opponent’s monster by battle. Therefore, the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring cannot be chained to the “●” effect of Uradora of Fate.

Source

 

Q: If my opponent reveals 3 copies of Blue-Eyes White Dragon with the effect of Bingo Machine, GO!!! and randomly adds 1 of them to their hand, can I activate the effect of Puppet Queen that Special Summons it?
A: No, you cannot.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls a Kairyu-Shin – Leviathan and Umi. In this case, can I Link Summon a Linkuriboh (DARK) or Salamangreat Almiraj (FIRE) using Kuriboh (DARK) as the material?
A: You cannot Special Summon monsters other than WATER monsters if you already control Kuriboh. (The same is true even if Kuriboh is used as a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Material.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.