[OCG] 11/26/15 Rulings

Let’s be thankful for new rulings.

11/26/15 Rulings

Q: Xyz Reborn is activated by targeting a Gem-Knight Pearl in the Graveyard. In a chain to the activation, if my opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon, targeting and destroying Xyz Reborn, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon activated at Chain Link 2, Xyz Reborn is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. In this case, when resolving Xyz Reborn, the effect of Special Summoning the targeted monster is applied, and Gem-Knight Peal is Special Summoned, but the effect that attaches Xyz Reborn to that monster is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12367&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon, targeting my Set Xyz Reborn. If I chain that Xyz Reborn to the activation, Special Summoning a Gem-Knight Pearl from my Graveyard, how do the effects resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Xyz Reborn activated at Chain Link 2, Gem-Knight Peal is Special Summoned from the Graveyard and Xyz Reborn itself is attached to it as an Xyz Material, resulting in Xyz Reborn no longer being a Trap Card on the field. Therefore, it is not destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon and remains attached to Gem-Knight Pearl.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11843&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the second effect of Raidraptor – Rise Falcon be activated by targeting an opponent’s First of the Dragons?
A: When the effect of Raidraptor – Rise Falcon is activated, First of the Dragons can be targeted. Since the effect of Raidraptor – Rise Falcon is not an effect that is applied to the targeted monster, the effect of First of the Dragons that makes it unaffected by other monsters’ effects does not prevent Raidraptor – Rise Falcon from gaining 2700 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8443&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When the Pendulum Effect of Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer is activated, but the effect of Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit is chained, so that Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer itself is destroyed, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the Pendulum Effect of Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer, if that Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer has been destroyed, its effect is not applied. (The card in your other Pendulum Zone is not destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9056&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The first effect of Old Entity Hastorr was used to equip it to an opponent’s Beast King Barbaros, and that Beast King Barbaros is then destroyed by battle with one of my monsters. In that case, will the second effect of Old Entity Hastorr that takes control of the equipped monster activate?
A: In this scenario, if the Beast King Barbaros that is equipped with your Old Entity Hastorr is destroyed by battle, since the correct equip target is lost and Old Entity Hastorr is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard as a result, it is not leaving the field while equipped to a monster, so the effect that takes control of that monster does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8656&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the first effect of Magical Sea Castle Aigaion that banishes a monster from the opponent’s Extra Deck is activated, but Imperial Iron Wall is chained, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Imperial Iron Wall prevents cards from being banished, the effect of Magical Sea Castle Aigaion is not applied. (Do not randomly choose 1 face-down card in your opponent’s Extra Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9073&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After the effect of Artifact Scythe that prevents my opponent from Special Summoning from the Extra Deck has resolved, if control of Artifact Scythe changes because of Creature Swap, will my opponent be able to Special Summon from the Extra Deck this turn?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Artifact Scythe that prevents your opponent from Special Summoning from the Extra Deck has already been applied, even if Artifact Scythe itself changes control to your opponent, the effect will remain under your control. (The opponent of the player who activated the effect of Artifact Scythe is the one who cannot Special Summon monsters from their Extra Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7618&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Ghostrick Mansion is face-up on the field, if Star Eater attacks, how does the attack proceed?
A: After Star Eater declares an attack, it becomes unaffected by other card effects until the end of the Damage Step. Therefore, while the effect of Ghostrick Mansion is applying, when you are declaring an attack with Star Eater, you cannot select a face-down Defense Position monster as an attack target. (A face-up monster must be targeted for the attack, or if there are none, the attack is a direct attack.) Once a direct attack is declared with Star Eater, it becomes unaffected by other cards’ effect and is unable to attack directly, so a replay occurs. When the replay occurs, if you choose to re-select an attack target, Star Eater is still unaffected by other cards’ effects, allowing you to target a face-down Defense Position monster for the attack, but it is no longer possible to make the attack a direct attack if there are any monsters on your opponent’s side of the field. Note that any battle damage inflicted by Star Eater is not halved.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7630&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Elemental HERO Wildheart is Special Summoned by the effect of Slip Summon, how does the effect of returning the Special Summoned monster to the hand during the End Phase resolve?
A: After Special Summoning a monster, the effect of Slip Summon has already been applied. Thus, even if you Special Summon Elemental HERO Wildheart, it will return to its owner’s hand during the End Phase despite being unaffected by Trap effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9053&keyword=&tag=-1
This is a reversal of the previous ruling.

Q: During the turn Chain Material was activated, if I activate Parallel World Fusion and resolve its effect, can I apply the effect of Chain Material?
A: When resolving the effect of Parallel World Fusion, the effect of Chain Material can be applied. If you do, you may banish monsters from your hand, field, Deck, and Graveyard as the Fusion Materials. (In that case, you may not return any banished monsters to your Deck as Fusion Materials for the “Elemental HERO” Fusion Monster.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8597&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Prime Monarch that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. Can I activate the effect of Number 103: Ragnazero by targeting that copy of The Prime Monarch?
A: The effect of Number 103: Ragnazero must target a monster whose original ATK is different than its current ATK, and The Prime Monarch Special Summons itself as a monster with an original ATK of 1000, so if its current ATK is also 1000, it cannot be targeted by the effect of Number 103: Ragnazero. (Note that if the ATK of The Prime Monarch has changed, such as by the effect of Forbidden Lance, since it is a monster whose original ATK is different than its current ATK, it can be targeted with the effect of Number 103: Ragnazero.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6770&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: In a situation in which there is a face-up Synchro Monster on the field, I perform a Pendulum Summon and Special Summon Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon and Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon from my Extra Deck at the same time. In this case, can I activate the effect of Dreamland to increase the Special Summoned monsters’ Level by 1?
A: In this situation, the “● Synchro:” effect of Dreamland can be activated. However, because Xyz Monsters do not have Levels, the result is that only Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon has its Level increased by 1. (The effect is not applied to Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8047&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Gear Golem the Moving Fortress is activated during Main Phase 1, allowing it to attack directly this turn. Afterward, if my opponent activates Skill Drain, negating the effects of all face-up monsters, can Gear Golem the Moving Fortress still attack directly this turn?
A: In this scenario, because the effect of Gear Golem the Moving Fortress was already applied, even if Skill Drain is activated and its effects are negated, Gear Golem the Moving Fortress can still attack directly.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9059&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, whereas there are 2 face-up copies of Command Knight in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if my own monster attacks a Command Knight, but Mystical Space Typhoon is activated during the Battle Step so that Skill Drain is destroyed, what happens?
A: In this scenario, once Skill Drain is destroyed, the effect of Command Knight that makes it so that it cannot be targeted for an attack while its controller controls other monsters will apply again, so that during attack declaration or a replay, Command Knight cannot be selected as an attack target. (But if the attack was already declared, it is not negated.) Therefore, in this case, the attack continues normally and damage calculation is performed using your attacking monster and Command Knight.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8594&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Phantom of Chaos that has gained the name and effects of Buster Blader is face-up in my Monster Zone. Can that Phantom of Chaos be selected as a target for the effects of Destruction Sword – Dragon Buster Blade, Destruction Sword – Wizard Buster Blade, and Destruction Sword – Arms Buster Blade?
A: In this scenario, since Phantom of Chaos is treated as Buster Blader, the equipping effect of Destruction Sword – Dragon Buster Blade, etc. and the effects applied while equipped can be applied normally. Note that during the End Phase of this turn, even though Phantom of Chaos stops being treated as Buster Blader, Destruction Sword – Dragon Buster Blade, etc. remain equipped and their effects continue applying normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8022&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons