[OCG] 11/05/15 Rulings

Some very wordy rulings this week..

11/05/15 Rulings

Q: If Tachyon Transmigration is activated in a Chain that contains monster effects activated outside of the field, or the activated effects of Spell/Trap Cards, what happens?
A: If Tachyon Transmigration is activated, and the Chain contains monster effects that activated outside of the field (such as effects activated from the hand or Graveyard), those activations are also negated. However, those monsters do not return to the Deck. (Only cards on the field that had their activation negated will be shuffled into the Deck.) In addition, if the Chain that Tachyon Transmigration was activated in also contains the activated effect of a Spell/Trap Card, such as the effect of Breakthrough Skill activated from the Graveyard, those activations are not negated. (The activations of Spell Cards, Trap Cards, and monster effects on the Chain are still negated normally.) Tachyon Transmigration can negate the activations of Spell/Trap Cards, but not the activations of Spell/Trap effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13117&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Vanity’s Call is activated in a Chain that contains monster effects activated outside of the field, or the activated effects of Spell/Trap Cards such as the effect of Galaxy Cyclone that activates in the Graveyard, what happens?
A: If Vanity’s Call is activated, and the Chain contains monster effects that activated outside of the field (such as effects activated from the hand or Graveyard), those activations are also negated, and those monsters are destroyed. In addition, if the Chain that Vanity’s Call was activated in also contains the activated effect of a Spell/Trap Card, such as the effect of Galaxy Cyclone activated from the Graveyard, those activations are not negated. (The activations of Spell Cards, Trap Cards, and monster effects on the Chain are still negated normally.) Vanity’s Call can negate the activations of Spell/Trap Cards, but not the activations of Spell/Trap effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10024&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gozen Match is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone. If there are no monsters in any of my Monster Zones, can I Pendulum Summon an Oversight Magician (LIGHT) and Oafdragon Magician (WIND) at the same time? Also, while Gozen Match is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and Wisdom-Eye Magician (LIGHT) is face-up in my Monster Zone, can I Pendulum Summon an Oversight Magician (LIGHT) and Oafdragon Magician (WIND) at the same time?
A: While the effect of Gozen Match is applying, as long as there are no monsters in any of your Monster Zones, you can Pendulum Summon Oversight Magician (LIGHT) and Oafdragon Magician (WIND) at the same time. (In that case, since you must apply the effect of Gozen Match, you can choose to keep either Oversight Magician or Oafdragon Magician in your Monster Zone, while the other is placed face-up in your Extra Deck.) In addition, if there is a face-up LIGHT monster already in your Monster Zone while the effect of Gozen Match is applying, you can only Pendulum Summon LIGHT monsters. (Therefore, in this scenario, you can only Pendulum Summon Oversight Magician, and you cannot Pendulum Summon Oafdragon Magician.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11326&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Diamond Dire Wolf, targeting Diamond Dire Wolf itself and a Call of the Haunted in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break, and either Diamond Dire Wolf or Call of the Haunted are destroyed, so that only 1 of the 2 targeted cards remains on the field, how does the effect of Diamond Dire Wolf resolve?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Diamond Dire Wolf resolves, even if 1 of the 2 targeted cards is no longer on the field, the effect resolves by destroying the remaining target on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6300&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Xyz Universe is activated by targeting Lavalval Chain and Number 16: Shock Master. If Forbidden Lance is chained to the activation, and Lavalval Chain becomes unaffected by Spell/Trap effects, how will the effect of Xyz Universe resolve?
A: In this scenario, when applying the effect of Xyz Universe, Number 16: Shock Master is sent to the Graveyard, but the Lavalval Chain which has received the effect of Forbidden Lance is not sent to the Graveyard, and remains in the Monster Zone. In this case, since the 2 targeted monsters were not both sent to the Graveyard, you cannot Special Summon an Xyz Monster from your Extra Deck. However, the part of the effect that prevents your opponent from taking any further damage this turn is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11940&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Xyz Universe is activated by targeting Lavalval Chain and Number 16: Shock Master. If Book of Moon is chained to the activation, and Lavalval Chain is changed to face-down Defense Position, how will the effect of Xyz Universe resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Xyz Universe, even if 1 of the targeted monsters has been changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect is applied normally. (In this scenario, both Lavalval Chain and Number 16: Shock Master are sent to the Graveyard, the Xyz Monster with the appropriate Rank is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck and has Xyz Universe attached to it as Xyz Material, and your opponent takes no further damage this turn.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10037&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Power Filter is applying, can Tragoedia be Special Summoned?
A: While Tragoedia is on the field, its effect increases its ATK and DEF by 600 for each card in the hand, but while it is not on the field, such as in the hand or Graveyard, Tragoedia is not treated as a monster with 1000 or less ATK. Therefore, even while the effect of Power Filter is applying, either player is able to Special Summon Tragoedia.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12285&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Power Filter is applying, can I activate Enchanting Fitting Room?
A: Even while the effect of Power Filter is applying, you can activate Enchanting Fitting Room. When resolving the effect, if any of the excavated cards are Level 3 or lower Normal Monsters with 1000 or less ATK, those monsters cannot be Special Summoned, so they are shuffled into the Deck along with the other remaining cards. (Note that any Level 3 or lower Normal Monsters with more than 1000 ATK that are excavated are Special Summoned normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11542&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A DNA Transplant that was activated by declaring LIGHT-Attribute is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect is also face-up on the field. During the End Phase of this turn, if the effect of W Nebula Meteorite is applied, what happens?
A: In this scenario, Embodiment of Apophis has become a LIGHT Reptile-Type monster, so the effect of W Nebula Meteorite that changes all LIGHT Reptile-Type monsters on your side of the field to face-down Defense Position is applied. However, since Embodiment of Apophis is instead Set in the Spell & Trap Zone, the result is that it was not changed to face-down Defense Position, so when drawing cards for each monster changed to face-down Defense Position, Embodiment of Apophis is not included. (It should be noted that if no face-up LIGHT Reptile-Type monsters on your side of the field could be changed to face-down Defense Position, and no cards were drawn, you also cannot Special Summon a Level 7 LIGHT Reptile-Type monster from your Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12401&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss whose effects are being negated by Forbidden Chalice is in my Monster Zone, along with a face-down Defense Position monster. At the end of this turn, when the effect of Forbidden Chalice stops applying, what happens with each effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Forbidden Chalice stops applying, before proceeding to your opponent’s Draw Phase, Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss is destroyed by its own effect because a monster that is not a “Burning Abyss” monster exists on your side of the field. Note that in this case, it is not possible to activate the banishing effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss during this End Phase. (Furthermore, your turn ends and you proceed to your opponent’s Draw Phase. The effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss cannot be activated before nor after your opponent’s normal draw in their Draw Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8021&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Performapal Lizardraw is the only card in my Monster Zone. In this scenario, I Pendulum Summon Performapal Partnaga and activate its effect by targeting Performapal Lizardraw. If Book of Moon is chained to the activation, so that either Performapal Partnaga or the targeted Performapal Lizardraw is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Performapal Partnaga resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Performapal Partnaga, even if Performapal Partnaga itself has been changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect is applied normally. (In this case, because there is only 1 face-up “Performapal” monster on your side of the field, Performapal Lizardraw gains 300 ATK.) Also, when resolving the effect of Performapal Partnaga, if the targeted monster is in face-down Defense Position, the effect is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11329&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Wind-Up Rat is activated, but my opponent chains the effect of Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit, so that Wind-Up Rat is no longer on the field, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Wind-Up Rat, if that Wind-Up Rat itself is no longer on the field, its effect of changing it from face-up Attack Position to face-up Defense Position cannot be applied, so the targeted “Wind-Up” monster cannot be Special Summoned from your Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11637&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Deskbot 005 is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, and placed face-up in the Extra Deck. In this scenario, if the effect of Deskbot 005 that Special Summons a “Deskbot” monster from the Graveyard is activated, can Solemn Warning be chained to the activation?
A: Even in this scenario, if the effect of Deskbot 005 is activated in the Extra Deck, Solemn Warning can be chained to the activation. In this case, the activation of the effect is negated, Deskbot 005 is destroyed, and it is sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9131&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Fragrance Storm by targeting a face-up Dandylion in my Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Book of Moon to the activation, and Dandylion is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does Fragrance Storm resolve?
A: When resolving Fragrance Storm, if the targeted Plant-Type monster has been changed to face-down Defense Position, the effects of Fragrance Storm do not apply. (In this case, the targeted Dandylion remains in your Monster Zone and is not destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7655&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Emperor Sem is activated, and both players target a card in their respective Graveyards. If the effect of D.D. Crow is chained to the activation, so that 1 of those 2 targeted cards is no longer in the Graveyard, how does the effect of Emperor Sem resolve?
A: If both players selected targets when the effect of Emperor Sem activated, but of the 2 targeted cards, 1 of them is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, the remaining card is returned to the top of its owner’s Deck normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12729&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons