[OCG] 10/30/14 Rulings

10/30/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: While the effect of my Shared Ride is applying, if my opponent activates Salvage and adds 2 WATER monsters in their Graveyard to their hand, do I draw multiple cards? In addition, if my opponent activates Preparation of Rites and adds a Ritual Monster from their Deck to their hand, and a Ritual Spell Card from their Graveyard to their hand, do I draw multiple cards?
A: In both cases, you can only draw 1 card. When a card like Salvage or Preparation of Rites resolves, even if 2 or more cards are added to the hand when resolving that effect, Shared Ride will only allow you to draw 1 card. (You do not draw 1 card for each card added to the hand.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14072&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of my Shared Ride is applying, if my opponent activates Salvage, and then further chains Beckoning Light, so that they add monsters from their Graveyard to their hand when each of these cards resolves, how many cards do I draw for the effect of Shared Ride?
A: In this case, because your opponent is adding monsters from their Graveyard to their hand when each effect resolves, you will draw a total of 2 cards. (You do not draw 1 card for each card added to the hand.) After Beckoning Light resolves at Chain Link 2, you will draw 1 card, and after Salvage resolves at Chain Link 1, you will draw the other card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14071&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I Special Summon Lava Golem by Tributing my opponent’s Evilswarm Thunderbird and Evilswarm Ophion (which has Xyz Material)?
A: While Evilswarm Ophion has Xyz Material, neither player can Special Summon Level 5 or higher monsters. Thus you cannot Special Summon Lava Golem, even by Tributing that Evilswarm Ophion.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9662&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Summon Limit is active, and this turn, I have not Summoned any monsters. If I activate Monster Reborn, and its activation is negated by Magic Jammer, will I then only be able to Summon a monster once more this turn? Also, if Monster Reborn has its effect negated by The Fabled Unicore, will I then only be able to Summon a monster once more this turn?
A: If Monster Reborn has its activation negated by Magic Jammer, then that does not count as one of the two Summons you are allowed each turn while Summon Limit is active. (Therefore you may still Summon 2 more times.) If Monster Reborn is negated by The Fabled Unicore, that is counted as one of the two Summons you are allowed this turn. (Therefore you may only Summon 1 more time.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14069&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Summon Limit is active, and this turn, I have not Summoned any monsters. If I attempt to Special Summon Photon Thrasher by its effect, but the Special Summon is negated by Solemn Warning, will I then only be able to Summon a monster once more this turn?
A: Even if your Summon is negated by Solemn Warning, including that of Photon Thrasher, a Pendulum Summon, etc., that is counted as one of the two Summons you are allowed this turn. (Therefore you may only Summon 1 more time.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14070&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my Daigusto Sphreez and my opponent’s Blackwing Armor Master battle, which player receives the battle damage?
A: In this case, neither player takes any battle damage. (Note that if Blackwing Armor Master was attacking, you can still activate its effect to place a Wedge Counter on Daigusto Sphreez.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9672&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Solemn Warning be chained to The Flute of Summoning Kuriboh? Also, if Vanity’s Emptiness is applying, so that neither player can Special Summon, can Solemn Warning still be chained to The Flute of Summoning Kuriboh?
A: In both cases, Solemn Warning can be chained.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14068&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I control R-Genex Accelerator, and use Pot of Greed to draw 2 “Genex” monsters at the same time, can I activate the effect of R-Genex Accelerator?
A: In this case, even if you add 2 or more “Genex” monsters from your Deck to your hand at the same time, you can activate the effect of R-Genex Accelerator by revealing 1 of those monsters, and you will only Special Summon that 1 monster.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8864&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Vanity’s Emptiness is activate, can I activate Monster Slots? Also, if I have no vacant Monster Zones, can I activate Monster Slots?
A: You cannot activate Monster Slots in either case.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7615&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate the effect of Penguin Soldier, can I choose not to return any monsters to the hand?
A: Penguin Soldier has a Trigger Effect that can be activated if it is flipped face-up, by targeting 1 or 2 monsters on the field. You cannot activate it by targeting no monsters. (If there are no monsters on the field that can be returned to the hand, you cannot activate the effect of Penguin Soldier.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6117&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Hino-Kagu-Tsuchi inflicts battle damage to the opponent, so that the opponent must discard their entire hand at the start of the next Draw Phase, how is its effect applied if the next Draw Phase is skipped by Offerings to the Doomed, Yata-Garasu, Time Seal, etc.?
A: If the next Draw Phase is skipped, the effect to discard does not take place.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6153&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Cyber Dragon Zwei attacks, and during Main Phase 2 its effect is used to make it become Cyber Dragon, can I then activate Evolution Burst?
A: In this scenario, Cyber Dragon Zwei was named Cyber Dragon Zwei when it attacked, so after it becomes Cyber Dragon by using its effect, it is still possible to activate Evoltion Burst. Note that if Cyber Dragon (or Cyber Dragon Zwei being treated as Cyber Dragon) already attacked that turn, you cannot activate Evolution Burst.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6116&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Final Attack Orders is active, if a face-down Defense Position Umbral Horror Will o’ the Wisp is attacked and then flipped face-up, but then changed to Attack Position by the effect of Final Attack Orders before damage calculation, can the effect of Umbral Horror Will o’ the Wisp be activated after it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard?
A: The effect of Umbral Horror Will o’ the Wisp will activate as long as it was in face-up Attack Position when it was considered destroyed by battle. Therefore, in this case, its effect will activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8753&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Mark of the Rose is used to take control of an opponent’s monster, but then Creature Swap is used to give the opponent control of that monster again, what will happen to Mark of the Rose and its effects?
A: Even in this case, during your End Phase, the effect of Mark of the Rose will activate even though your opponent already controls the equipped monster, so no effect applies. Furthermore, during your next Standby Phase, the effect to take control of the equipped monster will activate and you will regain control of that monster.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6410&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Necrovalley is active, can I activate the effect of Drill Warrior which discards a card and banishes that Drill Warrior? Also, if Necrovalley is active during my next Standby Phase after resolving that effect, can its effect that Special Summons it and adds a monster from the Graveyard to the hand be activated?
A: While Necrovalley is active, you can still activate the effect that banishes Drill Warrior. (The effect is applied normally.) If Necrovalley is active during my next Standby Phase after resolving that effect, the effect of Drill Warrior that Special Summons it and adds a monster from the Graveyard to the hand will activate. In this case, Drill Warrior is Special Summoned, but the effect of adding a monster to your hand is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9791&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Destiny HERO – Plasma, Relinquished, or Thousand-Eyes Restrict which equips a monster to it is activated, but Raigeki Break or Book of Moon is chained so that Destiny HERO – Plasma, etc. is flipped face-down/destroyed, how does the effect resolve?
A: If an effect is chained to that of Destiny HERO – Plasma, etc. so that it is no longer face-up on the field when it resolves, the effect still tries to apply. Since the targeted monster cannot be equipped to Destiny HERO – Plasma, etc., the targeted monster is sent to the Graveyard instead.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6643&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Amarylease was used this turn, if I want to Tribute Summon Steelswarm Girastag, which can be Tribute Summoned by Tributing only 1 “Steelswarm” monster, can I then Normal Summon it without any Tributes through the effect of Amarylease?
A: Since Steelswarm Girastag is a Level 7 monster, it normally requires 2 Tributes to Tribute Summon. When doing so, you can reduce the Tribute by 1 using the effect of Amarylease. Steelswarm Girastag also allows you to Tribute Summon it by Tributing only 1 “Steelswarm” monster, but when doing so, it is not possible to further reduce the required Tributes using Amarylease.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10088&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I would take 2000 or more battle damage because of the effects of Amazoness Swords Woman or Dimension Wall, can I activate Nutrient Z?
A: Yes, you can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9569&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Ritual Monster was Ritual Summoned using Djinn Prognosticator of Rituals, and then control of it is switched to the opponent with Creature Swap, will the effect to make the opponent discard a card each time that Ritual Monster inflicts battle damage still apply?
A: “The opponent” is viewed from the perspective of the player that Ritual Summoned using Djinn Prognosticator of Rituals. Therefore, if the Ritual Monster switches control, the effect will not apply if it inflicts battle damage to the player that Ritual Summoned it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9077&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I control an “Ice Barrier” monster, and then I Normal Summon Sacred Spirit of the Ice Barrier and equip it with Mirror of Yata. Is it possible not to activate the effect of Sacred Spirit of the Ice Barrier during the End Phase?
A: While the effect of Mirror of Yata is applying, the equipped Spirit monster does not have to have its effect which returns it to the hand activate during the End Phase. If the effect of Sacred Spirit of the Ice Barrier becomes “target 1 monster the opponent controls; return that target to the hand” by its own effect, it is not possible to not activate that effect by the effect of Mirror of Yata.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9568&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While my opponent controls a White Dragon Ninja, if I activate Bait Doll and target an opponent’s Set card, which turns out to be a Trap Card whose activation timing is incorrect, how does Bait Doll resolve at that point?
A: In this case, if the targeted card is a Continuous Trap Card, it is not destroyed, but since its activation cannot be performed it is sent to the Graveyard. The same happens if the card targeted for Bait Doll was a Normal or Counter Trap Card. That card cannot be destroyed, but since the activation cannot be performed, it is sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7614&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons