[OCG] 10/29/2015 OCG Rulings

10/29/2015
Assorted rulings

Q: Can Advanced Heraldry Art be activated while the effect of Grisaille Prison is being applied?
A: While Grisaille Prison is being applied, Advanced Heraldry Art cannot be activated.
Furthermore, if Grisaille Prison is activated in a chain to the activation of Advanced Heraldry Art, and its effect is applied, only the part of the effect that Special Summons the 2 targeted “Heraldic Beast” monsters is performed.
(Afterwards, an Xyz Summon is not performed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6993&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can you tribute a Nekroz of Clausolas for the effect of Nekroz Cycle, and then Ritual Summon that Nekroz of Clausolas that was tributed and sent to the Graveyard?
A: For the procedure of the Ritual Spell Card, a “Nekroz” Ritual Monster in your hand or Graveyard is chosen, monsters in your hand or field whose Levels equal the Level of that monster are tributed, and a Ritual Summon is performed.
Therefore, providing the Nekroz of Clausolas in teh hand is chosen to be Ritual Summoned, that Nekroz of Clausolas itself cannot be tributed.
(Other monsters in your hand or field are tributed and a Ritual Summon is performed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7022&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Recycling Batteries was activated targeting a Batteryman C and a Batteryman AA in your Graveyard.
If the opponent activates D.D. Crow in a chain to that activation, banishing the Batteryman AA that was targeted for Recycling Batteries, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the remaining target is added to the hand.
(In the proposed scenario, only Batteryman C is added to the hand)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7416&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you have 5 monsters in your Monster Zones, can you activate the effect of a Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite in your Graveyard?
A: In the proposed scenario, even if you have 5 monsters in your Monster Zones and have no available Monster Zones, the effect of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite can be activated.
However, at the time of that activation, a monster in your Monster Zones must be returned to the hand as a cost.
(A card in your Spell & Trap Zones or Pendulum Zones cannot be returned to activate the effect)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8314&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Silent Insect in a Monster Zone is applying its effect.
In this case, if the effect of The Prime Monarch to Special Summon itself is activated, is that effect negated by the effect of Silent Insect?
A: The effects of Continuous Spell or Trap Cards that activate in the Graveyard are not negated by the effect of Silent Insect.
(The effect of Silent Insect negates the effects of Continuous Spell or Trap Cards on the field)
Therefore, the effect of The Prime Monarch that activates in the Graveyard is not negated and the effect resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8447&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Swamp Mirrorer or Quantum Cat be activated while the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is being applied?
A: Even in that case, Swamp Mirrorer or Quantum Cat can be activated.
Since only DARK monsters can be Special Summoned as a result of the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss, the only Attribute that can be declared while activating Swamp Mirrorer or Quantum Cat is DARK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8648&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Different Dimension Deepsea Trench be activated during a turn in which you have activated Pot of Duality and you cannot perform Special Summons?
Also, if a face-up Different Dimension Deepsea Trench in the Spell & Trap Zone is destroyed during a turn in which you have activated Pot of Duality and cannot perform Special Summons, does its effect activate?
A: Different Dimension Deepsea Trench can be activated even during a turn in which you have activated Pot of Duality and you cannot perform Special Summons.
(The effect that banishes a monster resolves normally)
Also, providing Different Dimension Deepsea Trench is destroyed, its effect activates and starts a chain even during a turn in which you have activated Pot of Duality and cannot perform Special Summons.
(However, since you cannot perform Special Summons, the effect does not resolve, and that monster remains banished as a result)

Soure: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8766&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If both players Special Summon monsters at the same time by the effect of The Shallow Grave, can the effect of Flying “C” be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect of a Flying “C” in the hand can be activated when that Special Summon is successful.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9462&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Grave Squirmer that had its effects negated by the effect of Forbidden Chalice was attacked by Evilswarm Obliviwisp and was destroyed in battle.
In this case, is the effect of Grave squirmer negated?
A: In the proposed scenario, the effect of Evilswarm Obliviwisp is activated after Damage Calculation, and at the end of the Damage Step the Grave Squirmer that was destroyed in battle is sent to the Graveyard.
Therefore, the effect of the Grave Squirmer destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard activates and starts a chain, but its effect is negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9591&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Senior Silver Ninja be activated while Necrovalley is active?
A: Even if the effect of Necrovalley is active, the effect of Senior Silver Ninja can be activated.
Since the effect of Senior Silver Ninja does not target, providing that “Ninja” monsters are only Special Summoned from the hand in face-down Defense Position, the effect resolves normally.
However, if a “Ninja” monsters would be Special Summoned from the Graveyard in face-down Defense Position, the effect of Senior Silver Ninja is negated by the effect of Necrovalley.
(In that case, not even 1 monster is Special Summoned)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9674&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Number 106: Giant Hand has been applied and the effects of the targeted monster have been negated.
In this case, if Book of Moon is activated, so that Number 106: Giant Hand is changed to face-down Defenes Position, what happens with the applied effect of Number 106: Giant Hand?
A: The effect of Number 106: Giant Hand is applied as long as it remains face-up in a Monster Zone.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, if Number 106: Giant Hand is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect is no longer applied.
(Afterwards, even if Number 106: Giant Hand is flipped face-up, the effect is not applied again)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9987&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Gozen Match is being applied and you only have LIGHT monsters in your Monster Zones.
In this case, when an opponent’s monster declares a direct attack, can you activate A Hero Emerges?
A: In the proposed scenario, providing you have a LIGHT monster in your hand that can be Special Summoned by the effect of A Hero Emerges, you can activate A Hero Emerges.
(For example, in the proposed scenario, if you only have DARK monsters in your hand, you cannot activate A Hero Emerges)
Furthermore, if at the time of the resolution of the effect the opponent chooses the LIGHT monster it is Special Summoned normally, but if the opponent chooses another monster that is not a LIGHT monster or a Spell or Trap Card, the chosen card is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12566&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Psychic Overload was activated targeting Krebons, Psychic Commander and Psychic Snail.
If the opponent activates D.D. Crow in a chain to that activation, banishing Krebons among those targets, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the part of the effect that shuffles the 3 targeted monsters into the Deck is not applied, and the part of the effect that draws 2 cards is not applied either.
(In the proposed scenario, the targeted Psychic Commander and Psychic Snail remain in the Graveyard)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12726&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Book of Moon was activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend that activates during the End Phase, changing the Red Dragon Archfiend that activated its effect to face-down Defense Position.
In this case, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, the effect does not resolve.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12943&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Fish Depth Charge was activated targeting a monster the opponent controls.
If the opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device in a chain to the activation to that effect, so that the targeted monster returns to the owner’s hand, how does this resolve?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the monster targeted for the resolution of Fish Depth Charge is no longer on the field and has been returned to the hand, the part of the effect that destroys the target does not resolve, and the part of the effect that draws a card does not resolve either.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12966&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons