[OCG] 10/27/17 Rulings

Twelve new rulings posted this week.

10/27/17 Rulings

Q: When resolving the monster effect of D/D Proud Chevalier that adds a face-up DARK Pendulum Monster from my Extra Deck to my hand, can I choose an Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon that is face-up in my Extra Deck?
A: No, you cannot.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15419&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Supreme King Dragon Darkwurm from my hand as a Spell Card to my Pendulum Zone. At this time, can I chain the effect of Pendulum Switch that Special Summons a monster from my Pendulum Zone, and target that Supreme King Dragon Darkwurm?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Pendulum Switch that Special Summons a monster from your Pendulum Zone and target a Pendulum Monster being activated. (It is Special Summoned normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=243&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: It is my opponent’s Standby Phase, and my opponent activated Scapegoat this turn. In this situation, can I activate the effect of World Legacy – ”World Shield” that Special Summons it from my Graveyard?
A: Even if your opponent activated Scapegoat this turn and cannot Special Summon any monsters, you can activate the effect of World Legacy – ”World Shield” that Special Summons it from your Graveyard. (In that case, only that part of the effect is applied. Your opponent cannot Special Summon a monster.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6243&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the only monster face-up in my Extra Deck is Nirvana High Paladin, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Mythical Beast Basilisk?
A: Since the Pendulum Monster Nirvana High Paladin is also a Synchro Monster, if it is the only Spellcaster-Type Pendulum Monster face-up in your Extra Deck, you cannot activate the Pendulum Effect of Mythical Beast Basilisk.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9918&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Paleozoic Opabinia is face-up in the Extra Monster Zone, and Inspect Boarder is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this scenario, I Normal Summon a Swap Frog and activate its effect that sends a Level 2 or lower Aqua-Type WATER monster from my Deck or field to the Graveyard. During the same turn, can I still activate the effect of Paleozoic Opabinia that adds a “Paleozoic” Trap Card from my Deck to my hand?
A: In this scenario, you activated the effect of Swap Frog while the only Monster Card type on the field listed for the effect of Inspect Boarder was Xyz. Although Paleozoic Opabinia is unaffected by the effects of other monsters, the effect of Inspect Boarder is not considered an effect that is applied to monsters. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot activate the effect of Paleozoic Opabinia.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9917&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Contacting the “C” is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this case, can I activate Advanced Heraldry Art?
A: The effect of Advanced Heraldry Art performs an Xyz Summon using the 2 “Heraldic Beast” monsters it Special Summons from the Graveyard. Therefore, if Contacting the “C” is face-up in your Monster Zone, you cannot activate Advanced Heraldry Art.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11332&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my Security Gardna battles my opponent’s monster, and Security Gardna is destroyed by battle, will the effect of Security Gardna still prevent me from taking battle damage from that battle?
A: Even if Security Gardna is destroyed by battle and you would take battle damage, its effect will prevent you from taking that damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15774&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s turn, I activate Call of the Haunted and Special Summon a Security Gardna from my Graveyard. During this turn, if my opponent activates Secret Blast, but I take no damage due to the effect of Security Gardna, will I still not take battle damage once this turn?
A: In this scenario, since your Security Gardna was Special Summoned this turn, its effect makes it so that you take no effect damage for the rest of the turn, so you take no damage from the effect of Secret Blast. Therefore, if you would take battle damage during this turn afterward, the other effect of Security Gardna that makes it so that you do not take battle or effect damage once per turn has not been applied yet, so you do not take battle damage once more.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11331&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Monster Reborn this turn and Special Summoned Phantom of Chaos. I then activate the effect of Phantom of Chaos, and it gains the name and effects of a Three Burst Shot Dragon in my Graveyard. During this turn, can I activate the copied effect of Three Burst Shot Dragon that Special Summons a Link 2 or lower monster from my Graveyard and a Level 4 or lower Dragon-Type monster from my hand?
A: The effect of Three Burst Shot Dragon that Special Summons monsters cannot be activated during the turn it was Special Summoned. In this scenario, the Phantom of Chaos that gained its effects was also Special Summoned this turn, so that effect cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15068&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a Battle Phase in which I already attacked with Tindangle Acute Cerberus, my opponent activates Enemy Controller and takes control of that Tindangle Acute Cerberus. In this case, can the effect of Tindangle Acute Cerberus that Special Summons a Tindangle Token be activated at the end of the Battle Phase?
A: Even in this scenario, since Tindangle Acute Cerberus declared an attack during this Battle Phase, its effect that Special Summons a Tindangle Token can be activated. However, in this case, your opponent will be the one controlling Tindangle Acute Cerberus at the end of the Battle Phase, so it will be your opponent who chooses to activate the effect and Special Summon the Tindangle Token to their field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9793&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Sensor Separation is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that allows each player to only control 1 monster of each Type is applying. If Elemental HERO Shadow Mist is the only face-up monster on my field, can I activate Mask Change?
A: In this scenario, since the Warrior-Type Elemental HERO Shadow Mist is the only face-up monster on your field, you cannot activate Mask Change since its effect would Special Summon a Warrior-Type “Masked HERO” monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13887&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Mask Change while Elemental HERO Shadow Mist is the only face-up monster on my field. At this time, if my opponent chains Sensor Separation, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the part of the effect of Mask Change that sends the targeted monster to the Graveyard is applied normally. As a result, there will be no face-up Warrior-Type monsters on your field, so you can Special Summon a DARK “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck normally as well.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13886&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.