[OCG] 10/15/15 Rulings

The Monarchs never end.

10/15/15 Rulings

Q: If the effect of Power Tool Dragon is activated, but Call of the Haunted is chained, targeting and Special Summoning Thunder King Rai-Oh, how does the effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is applying, the effect of Power Tool Dragon cannot be activated. In this scenario, if Thunder King Rai-Oh is Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted, neither player can add cards from their Deck to their hand except by drawing, so the effect of Power Tool Dragon cannot be applied. (You do not select any Equip Spell Cards in your Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8347&keyword=&tag=-1

This seems to be a reversal of the previous ruling.

Q: Revived King Ha Des destroys Performage Flame Mascot by battle, and the latter is placed face-up in the Extra Deck. If the monster effect of Performage Flame Mascot is activated, will it be negated by the effect of Revived King Ha Des?
A: Pendulum Monsters that are destroyed by battle with Revived King Ha Des and placed face-up in the Extra Deck do not have their effects negated. Therefore, the effect of Performage Flame Mascot can be activated and applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10323&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Imperial Custom is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. During my opponent’s Battle Phase, I activate Magical Hats, and Special Summon Spellbinding Circle and Stronghold the Moving Fortress as Normal Monsters from my Deck. In that case, although Spellbinding Circle and Stronghold the Moving Fortress are treated as monsters, are they affected by the effect of Imperial Custom?
A: Spell/Trap Cards Special Summoned by the effect of Magical Hats are only treated as monsters. Even if you choose a Continuous Trap Card, it is not treated as one, so the effect of Imperial Custom does not apply. (In this scenario, Spellbinding Circle and Stronghold the Moving Fortress can be destroyed by battle and card effects normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11487&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Tribute Summoned Raiza the Storm Monarch is in my Monster Zone, whereas The Monarchs Erupt is in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I Tribute Raiza the Storm Monarch during my End Phase to activate Icarus Attack, so that I no longer have a Tribute Summoned monster on my side of the field, will The Monarchs Erupt send itself to the Graveyard with its effect?
A: In this scenario, if Icarus Attack is activated by Tributing Raiza the Storm Monarch, so that you no longer have a Tribute Summoned monster on your side of the field, The Monarchs Erupt will be sent to the Graveyard before Icarus Attack resolves.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11281&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of The Seal of Orichalcos is applying, so that my opponent’s monsters cannot attack my monsters with the lowest ATK, can my opponent’s Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 or a monster affected by Forbidden Lance select my monsters with the lowest ATK as their attack targets?
A: The effect of The Seal of Orichalcos that prevents your opponent’s monsters from targeting yours for attacks is one that affects the opponent’s monsters. Therefore, if the effects of Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 or Forbidden Lance are applying, an opponent’s monster that is unaffected by Spell effects can still attack your monsters with the lowest ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11288&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: This turn, I activated the first effect of Spell Wall, so that the Summons of Spellcaster-Type monsters cannot be negated, and my opponent cannot activate cards/effects when Spellcaster-Type monsters are Summoned. This turn, if I Pendulum Summon Dragonpit Magician and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon at the same time, can my opponent negate the Pendulum Summon with Solemn Judgment?
A: In this scenario, if you Pendulum Summon a Spellcaster-Type and a Dragon-Type monster at the same time, your opponent can activate Solemn Judgment. In that case, because the effect of Spell Wall was applied, the Pendulum Summon of Dragonpit Magician is not negated, but the Pendulum Summon of Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon is negated, and it is destroyed. (Only Dragonpit Magician will be treated as being successfully Pendulum Summoned.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12680&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: This turn, I activated the first effect of Spell Wall, so that the Summons of Spellcaster-Type monsters cannot be negated, and my opponent cannot activate cards/effects when Spellcaster-Type monsters are Summoned. This turn, if I Pendulum Summon Dragonpit Magician and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon at the same time, can my opponent activate Torrential Tribute?
A: In this scenario, when you Pendulum Summon a Spellcaster-Type and a Dragon-Type monster at the same time, the effect of Spell Wall preventing your opponent from activating cards/effect is still applied. (Your opponent cannot activate Torrential Tribute.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11166&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Gate Blocker is applying, can Planet Pollutant Virus be activated?
A: Even if the effect of Gate Blocker is applying, Planet Pollutant Virus can be activated. In that case, the part of the effect that destroys all monsters the opponent controls with A-Counters on them is applied normally, but as long as the effect of Gate Blocker is applying, the effect of Planet Pollutant Virus that places A-Counters on monsters that are Summoned is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10343&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Gate Blocker is applying. In this situation, if a face-up FIRE monster is destroyed by a card effect, will the effect of Kickfire that places a counter on it once per turn apply?
A: While the effect of Gate Blocker is applying, your opponent cannot place counters on cards, so the effect of their Kickfire cannot be applied. (Even if a face-up FIRE monster is destroyed by a card effect, this does not mean the effect of Kickfire has been applied at that time.) Therefore, if Gate Blocker is destroyed this turn and its effect is no longer applying, if another face-up FIRE monster is destroyed by card effect, in that case the effect of Kickfire is applied once for the turn and a counter is placed on it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10340&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Cursed Bamboo Sword that allows the equipped monster to attack directly is activated. Then, during the Start Step of my Battle Phase, if my opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys Cursed Bamboo Sword before it attacks, can it still attack directly?
A: Once the effect of Cursed Bamboo Sword resolves, and the targeted “Bamboo Sword” card is returned to the hand, the effect that allows the equipped monster to attack directly has already been applied. Therefore, even if Cursed Bamboo Sword is destroyed afterward, the monster that was equipped with it can still attack directly this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10226&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Soul Charge, Special Summoning 2 Gemini monsters, Grasschopper and King Pyron, and then further Normal Summons King Pyron to be treated as an Effect Monster. In this case, can I Special Summon Trifortressops with its own effect?
A: Even when a Gemini monster is Normal Summoned again to be treated as an Effect Monster, this is treated as a monster being Normal Summoned, so this is a scenario in which your opponent has Summoned 3 monsters this turn. Therefore, you can activate the effect of Trifortressops in your hand and Special Summon it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11275&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria is activated by revealing a Level 4 monster, is it possible to Xyz Summon using 2 copies of Star Drawing as Xyz Material? Also, if the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria is activated by revealing a Level 5 monster, is it possible to Xyz Summon using 2 copies of Star Drawing as Xyz Material?
A: If the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria was activated by revealing a Level 4 monster, you can Xyz Summon a Rank 4 monster using 2 copies of Star Drawing normally. (If you apply the effect of Star Drawing, you can also Xyz Summon a Rank 5 monster.) If the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria was activated by revealing a Level 5 monster, since Star Drawing is Level 4, you cannot use it as Xyz Material. (You also cannot Xyz Summon a Rank 5 monster by applying the effect of Star Drawing.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9943&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria is activated by revealing a Level 4 monster. In this case, during my Main Phase 1, if I activate multiple copies of Fire Formation – Tenken and make Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Coyote and Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Swallow unaffected by card effects, can I use them as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Mystical Fairy Elfuria was applied, monsters other than Level 4 monsters cannot be used as Xyz Material for Xyz Summons. Even if the effect of Fire Formation – Tenken is applied, neither Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Coyote nor Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Swallow cannot be used as Xyz Materials for an Xyz Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6223&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Evilswarm Obliviwisp and my opponent’s Ancient Gear Beast battle, and as a result, Evilswarm Obliviwisp is destroyed by battle. In this case, which effect of each monster that negates the other monster’s effects will be applied?
A: In this scenario, if Evilswarm Obliviwisp was destroyed by battle, the effect of Ancient Gear Beast is applied immediately. Then, the effect of Evilswarm Obliviwisp will activate and create a chain, but because the effect of Ancient Gear Beast was applied, the effect is negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10341&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Infernal Flame Vixen with 2500 or more ATK is destroyed, and its second effect is activated by targeting a total of 3 monsters in the Graveyards, but The Transmigration Prophecy is chained so that among those 3 targets, 1 is no longer in the Graveyard, will the other 2 targets be banished?
A: When resolving the effect of Infernal Flame Vixen, if any of the targeted monsters are no longer in the Graveyard, any remaining targets are still banished normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12621&keyword=&tag=-1

Forum Discussion

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons