[OCG] 10/12/2017 Rulings

Starting off with a few reversals of older rulings.

10/12/2017 Rulings

Q: Red Dragon Archfiend and Red Sprinter are face-up in my Monster Zone, in Attack Position. If my Red Sprinter attacks, but the attack is negated by the effect of my opponent’s Magic Cylinder, will Red Sprinter be destroyed by the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend during the End Phase?
A: In this scenario, the attack by Red Sprinter was negated by the effect of Magic Cylinder, but since an attack was declared, it is not a monster on your field that did not declare an attack. In this case, the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend will activate during the End Phase, but Red Sprinter is not destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7398&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Savage Colosseum is face-up in my Field Zone. During my Battle Phase, when my Reptilianne Gorgon attacks an opponent’s monster, my opponent activates Negate Attack. In this case, will each effect of Savage Colosseum be applied?
A: In this scenario, your monster’s attack is negated by your opponent’s Negate Attack, so the attack does not reach the Damage Step and the effect of Savage Colosseum that makes you gain 300 Life Points cannot activate. Also, even though your monster’s attack was negated, since an attack was declared, it is not a monster on your field that did not declare an attack. In this case, the effect of Savage Colosseum will activate during the End Phase, but Reptilianne Gorgon is not destroyed.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9066&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Chocolate Magician Girl equipped with my Raregold Armor is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if my opponent’s monster attacks Chocolate Magician Girl, can I activate its effect?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Chocolate Magician Girl when it is targeted for an attack. In that case, although the part of the effect that Special Summons a monster is applied, the effect of Raregold Armor prevents your opponent from attacking other monsters, so the part of the effect that makes the Special Summoned monster become the new attack target, and halves the attacking monster’s ATK, is not applied. At this time, a replay occurs, and your opponent can choose to either attack Chocolate Magician Girl or cancel the attack.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10083&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Ancient Gear Golem is Special Summoned by the effect of Spell Gear, can I activate Pyro Clock of Destiny?
A: The effect of Spell Gear is an effect that counts turns, so you can activate Pyro Clock of Destiny and advance its turn count by 1. Normally, players who activated Spell Gear cannot Normal Summon/Set monsters until their next turn after activating it is over, but if the turn count is advanced with Pyro Clock of Destiny, the turn in which Spell Gear was activated becomes the second turn and the effect that prevents you from Normal Summoning/Setting will expire when this turn ends. Similarly, if you activate Pyro Clock of Destiny during your next turn after activating Spell Gear, the effect will end immediately. (So you can Normal Summon/Set that turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10097&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is face-up in my opponent’s Extra Monster Zone, in Defense Position. In this situation, when my opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon and targets my Set Oasis of Dragon Souls, I chain that Oasis of Dragon Souls and Special Summon a Thunderclap Skywolf from my Graveyard. How does each effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, Thunderclap Skywolf is Special Summoned in Defense Position by the effect of Oasis of Dragon Souls, but due to the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, it will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard again. Even in this case, although you can activate the effect of Thunderclap Skywolf that destroys all face-up monsters on your opponent’s field, it is considered an effect that was activated due to Thunderclap Skywolf being Special Summoned in Defense Position, and is negated by the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir.

(Lol KDE-US areas)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12943&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Stellarknight Constellar Diamond with Xyz Material is face-up in my opponent’s Extra Monster Zone, and its effect that banishes any card returned from the Graveyard to the hand is applying. At this time, if The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up in my Field Zone and Angel Sage Minerva is in my Monster Zone, what happens if I activate a Counter Trap Card?
A: After resolving a Counter Trap Card while The Sanctuary in the Sky is face-up on the field, both parts of the effect of Angel Sage Minerva must be applied. In this scenario, Angel Sage Minerva will gain 500 ATK normally, but the Counter Trap Card you add to your hand is banished instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7243&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I attempt to Synchro Summon a monster, my opponent activates the effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended that negates the Special Summon, by returning it to the hand. If I chain Reincarnating Parshath, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the activation of the effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended is negated, but since it was returned to its owner’s hand for its cost, it is not possible to apply the effect of Reincarnating Parshath that shuffles it into the Deck. In this case, you cannot Special Summon a “Parshath” monster from your Deck or Extra Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7241&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: As Chain Link 1, I activate Subterror Final Battle and choose the effect that changes a “Subterror” monster on my field to face-down Defense Position. If Mystical Space Typhoon is activated as Chain Link 2 and targets that Subterror Final Battle, which parts of the effect are applied?
A: In this scenario, Subterror Final Battle is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon at Chain Link 2. Next, you will apply the chosen “•” effect of Subterror Final Battle as Chain Link 1, and change a face-up “Subterror” monster to face-down Defense Position. Since Subterror Final Battle is no longer on the field, it cannot be Set by its own effect after that, so changing the “Subterror” monster to face-down Defense Position is considered the last effect to apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6883&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Ritual Summoned Revendread Slayer is face-up in my Monster Zone. If that Revendread Slayer is banished temporarily by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter, and then destroyed by the effect of my opponent’s Raigeki Break after it returns to the field, can I activate its effect that adds a Ritual Spell Card from my Deck to my hand and sends a “Vendread” monster from my Deck to the Graveyard?
A: As in this scenario, even after a Ritual Summoned Revendread Slayer is banished by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter and then returned to the field, when it is sent to the Graveyard afterward, you can activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13294&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.