[OCG] 10/08/15 and 10/02/15 Rulings

My favorite Trap Card.

10/08/15 Rulings

Q: Can Mystical Refpanel be chained to the activation of Pot of Duality?
A: Mystical Refpanel can be chained to Pot of Duality. The player that activated Mystical Refpanel will excavate 3 cards from the top of their Deck, add 1 to their hand, and shuffle the rest into the Deck. It should be noted that the player that activated Pot of Duality is still the one who cannot Special Summon monsters during the same turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8190&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Mystical Refpanel be chained to the activation of Destiny Draw?
A: Mystical Refpanel can be chained to Destiny Draw. The player that activated Mystical Refpanel will draw 2 cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6395&keyword=&tag=-1

The answers above assume that the player who used Mystical Refpanel is the opponent of the player who used Pot of Duality/Destiny Draw.

Q: Can Mystical Refpanel be chained to the activation of The Monarchs Stormforth?
A: Mystical Refpanel cannot be chained to The Monarchs Stormforth. The Monarchs Stormforth is not a card that applies to 1 player, but rather affects the monsters on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10034&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude is activated, and Destiny Draw is revealed and sent to the Graveyard. During my next Main Phase, if I activate the effect of Destiny Draw in my Graveyard, can Mystical Refpanel be chained?
A: Mystical Refpanel can only be chained to the activation a Spell Card, whose effect applies to 1 player. When the effect of a Spell Card is activated from the Graveyard after applying the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, Mystical Refpanel cannot be chained.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=48&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can my opponent’s Barrel Behind the Door be chained to the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch?
A: If the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch is activated by targeting a face-up card on the field that is originally a DARK monster, your opponent can chain Barrel Behind the Door. For example, if the effect is activated by targeting a Heavy Mech Support Platform treated as an Equip Spell Card, Barrel Behind the Door can be activated. If the effect is activated by targeting a Lavalval Chain treated as a DARK monster by the effect of DNA Transplant, Barrel Behind the Door cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12263&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent has 1 or more monsters on their side of the field, whereas I have no monsters on my side of the field. In this scenario, can I activate the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs, and then chain The Monarchs Stormforth?
A: In this scenario, if you do not have a Level 5 or higher monster that can be Tribute Summoned in your hand, as well as the necessary Tributes on the field, you cannot perform a Tribute Summon, therefore you cannot activate the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs. However, if The Monarchs Stormforth was previously activated and resolved, instead of being activated in a chain, then you can activate the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs in this situation.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12148&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Even if I control no Tribute Summoned/Set monsters, can I activate March of the Monarchs?
A: Even if you do not control any Tribute Summoned/Set monsters, you can activate March of the Monarchs. In that case, although the effect that prevents Tribute Summoned/Set monsters from being targeted or destroyed by card effects is not applied yet, the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters from your Extra Deck is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10425&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Tribute Summoned Lancephorynchus or PSY-Frame Driver be targeted by The Monarchs Awaken?
A: Face-up Normal Monsters on your side of the field that were Tribute Summoned can be targeted by The Monarchs Awaken. In that case, since Normal Monsters have no effects, the part of the effect that negates the target’s effects is not applied, so only the part of the effect that makes the monster unaffected by other card effects is applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11708&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Tribute Summoned Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning from my hand. While it is treated as a Normal Monster, can Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning be targeted by The Monarchs Awaken?
A: The Monarchs Awaken can be activated by targeting a Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning treated as a Normal Monster. In that case, the effect of Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning that treats it as a Normal Monster is negated, and the effect that would allow you to Normal Summon it again as an Effect Monster is also negated, so you cannot Normal Summon it again. (As a result, Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning is treated as an Effect Monster with its effects negated, and it is unaffected by other card effects.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11871&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If The Monarchs Awaken is activated by targeting Mobius the Frost Monarch, but Book of Moon is chained so that Mobius the Frost Monarch is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does The Monarchs Awaken resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the targeted Mobius the Frost Monarch has been changed to face-down Defense Position, the effects of The Monarchs Awaken do not apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6811&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Monarchs Erupt and Macro Cosmos are both face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. During my End Phase, if I do not control any Tribute Summoned monsters, will the effect of The Monarchs Erupt that sends it to the Graveyard apply?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of The Monarchs Erupt that sends it to the Graveyard is applied. In that case, since the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, The Monarchs Erupt is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10429&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent Normal Summons Cyber Dragon Core, they activate its effect to add 1 “Cyber” Spell/Trap Card from their Deck to their hand. If I activate Chain Disappearence in a chain, will the effect banish Cyber Dragons from my opponent’s hand and Deck?
A: The effect of Cyber Dragon Core treats it as Cyber Dragon while it is face-up on the field or Graveyard, but when resolving the effect of Chain Disappearance, cards with the same name as that monster while it is banished will be banished from the hand and Deck. Therefore, in this scenario, additional copies of Cyber Dragon Core will be banished from your opponent’s hand and Deck, not Cyber Dragon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11870&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent Special Summons The Phantom Knights of Shadow Veil as a Normal Monster using its own effect, can I activate Chain Disappearance?
A: When The Phantom Knights of Shadow Veil is Special Summoned by its own effect, it becomes a monster with 1000 or less ATK, so you can activate Chain Disappearance. In that case, the copy of The Phantom Knights of Shadow Veil that was Special Summoned is banished, along with all additional copies in your opponent’s hand and Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6815&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Rivalry of Warlords and DNA Surgery (declaring Spellcaster-Type) are both face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, whereas a face-up Attack Position Gemini Elf and a face-down Defense Position Fortress Warrior are in my Monster Zone. In this scenario, if my face-down Defense Position Fortress Warrior is attacked and flipped face-up by an opponent’s monster, will it be sent to the Graveyard by Rivalry of Warlords?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of DNA Surgery makes all face-up monsters on the field become the declared Type (Spellcaster-Type in this case), the flipped Warrior-Type Fortress Warrior becomes a Spellcaster-Type monster. Therefore, Fortress Warrior is not sent to the Graveyard by Rivalry of Warlords.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6242&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Vice Berserker is used as a Synchro Material monster for the Synchro Summon of Powered Inzektron, how are their effects applied?
A: The effects of Vice Berserker and Powered Inzektron both activate when the Synchro Summon is successful, and form a chain that you can order in any way.
● If you activate Vice Berserker as Chain Link 1 and Powered Inzektron as Chain Link 2: The effect of Powered Inzektron resolves first, so that it cannot be destroyed by battle or card effects this turn, also you take no further damage. When the effect of Vice Berserker resolves, you do not take the 2000 damage, so the part of the effect that increases the Synchro Monster’s ATK by 2000 is not applied.
● If you activate Powered Inzektron as Chain Link 1 and Vice Berserker as Chain Link 2: The effect of Vice Berserker resolves first, inflicts 2000 damage to you, and increases the ATK of Powered Inzektron by 2000 until the end of this turn. After that, the effect of Powered Inzektron is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10036&keyword=&tag=-1

10/02/15 Rulings

Q: If Gagaga Head was Normal Summoned without Tributing with its own effect, and then its effects are negated by Skill Drain, what happens to its Level?
A: If the effect of Skill Drain is applying, and Gagaga Head is Normal Summoned as a Level 4 monster without Tributing, its Level returns to the original value (6). (The result is the same if Gagaga Head is Normal Summoned this way while the effect of Skill Drain is already applying.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17251&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Normal Summoning Gagaga Head without Tributing using its own effect, can it be Set in face-down Defense Position?
A: If you want to Normal Summon Gagaga Head without Tributing using its own effect, you must Normal Summon it in face-up Attack Position. Therefore, you cannot Set it in face-down Defense Position this way.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17250&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Gagaga Head that Special Summons up to 2 “Gagaga” monsters from my Graveyard only be activated if Gagaga Head is Normal Summoned as a Level 4 monster without Tributing using its own effect?
A: The effect of Gagaga Head can be activated when it is successfully Normal Summoned in any way, including Tribute Summon, and not just when Normal Summoned as a Level 4 monster using its own effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17249&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I Normal Summon Gagaga Head and activate its effect, can I then activate Monster Reborn during this turn?
A: If the effect of Gagaga Head was activated when it was Normal Summoned, you will not be able to Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material. Therefore, you cannot activate Monster Reborn this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17243&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summon a monster from the Graveyard with Monster Reborn. If I Tribute that Special Summoned monster to Tribute Summon Gagaga Head, can I activate the effect of Gagaga Head?
A: In this scenario, even if you already Special Summoned monsters other than by Xyz Summon, such as with Monster Reborn, you can activate the effect of Gagaga Head when it is Normal Summoned. After the effect of Gagaga Head is applied, you cannot Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17242&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I Normal Summon Gagaga Head and activate its effect, can I then activate Rank-Up-Magic Limited Barian’s Force during this turn?
A: If the effect of Gagaga Head was activated when it was Normal Summoned, you will not be able to Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material. Therefore, you can activate Rank-Up-Magic Limited Barian’s Force this turn by targeting Gagaga Cowboy or Gagaga Samurai, but not by targeting a monster that is not a “Gagaga” monster, such as Number 39: Utopia.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17244&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I Normal Summon Gagaga Head and activate its effect, can I then Xyz Summon a monster that is not a “Gagaga” monster?
A: If the effect of Gagaga Head was activated when it was Normal Summoned, you will not be able to Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material. In that case, you can only use “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Materials, but the monster you Xyz Summon does not have to be a “Gagaga” monster. Therefore, you can also Xyz Summon monsters such as Number 17: Leviathan Dragon or Number 39: Utopia.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17245&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Gagaga Head when it is Normal Summoned, but the activation is negated by Divine Wrath, can I Special Summon monsters other than by Xyz Summon this turn? Also, if I activate the effect of Gagaga Head when it is Normal Summoned, but the effect is negated by Effect Veiler, can I Special Summon monsters other than by Xyz Summon this turn?
A: If the effect of Gagaga Head or its activation is negated, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material, does not apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17247&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Gagaga Head is Normal Summoned, I activate its effect by targeting a Gagaga Magician and Gagaga Girl in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow, and banishes Gagaga Magician, how does the effect of Gagaga Head resolve?
A: If you activated the effect of Gagaga Head by targeting 2 monsters in your Graveyard, even if 1 of them is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, the remaining monster is still Special Summoned. (In this scenario, only Gagaga Girl is Special Summoned.) Even in this case, you will not be able to Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17248&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Gagaga Head is Normal Summoned, I activate its effect. If my opponent chains Ojama Trio so that I no longer have any available Monster Zones, can I Special Summon monsters other than by Xyz Summon this turn?
A: In this scenario, if there are no available Monster Zones when the effect of Gagaga Head resolves, even though the targeted monsters cannot be Special Summoned, you will not be able to Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except by Xyz Summon using only “Gagaga” monsters as Xyz Material.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17246&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Gauntlet Launcher is Xyz Summoned using 2 copies of Gagaga Head as Xyz Material. In this case, will the effect of drawing 1 card activate twice?
A: In this scenario, if 2 copies of Gagaga Head are used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon, the effect gained by the Xyz Monster will activate twice, and you will draw 2 cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17241&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I have 0 cards in my Deck. If I Normal Summon Gagaga Head without Tributing, and then Xyz Summon Maestroke the Symphony Djinn using that Gagaga Head and a Gagaga Gardna, will the effect of drawing 1 card activate?
A: In this scenario, even if you have no cards in your Deck, when Gagaga Head is used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon, the effect gained by the Xyz Monster will still activate. (As a result, since you are unable to draw a card, you lose the Duel.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17240&keyword=&tag=-1

There are also 3 Smile World rulings posted on October 2, but they’re too basic to bother with.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons