Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 10/30/22 Rulings Update

Some minor changes and updates.

 

 

Q: When resolving the first effect of Zenmaiday, if either the targeted Xyz Monster or a “Wind-Up” monster I control is unaffected by Trap effects (the effect of Zenmaiday) due to the effect of Forbidden Lance, etc., what happens?
A: If the targeted Xyz Monster is unaffected by Trap effects, the effect of attaching another monster to it as Xyz Material is not applied.
Even if a “Wind-Up” monster you control is unaffected by Trap effects, you can still choose it as a monster to attach as Xyz Material. However, the effect is not applied to that monster, and the effect finishes resolving.

Source

 

Q: I activated and applied the first monster effect of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon, targeting my opponent’s D/D/D Super Doom King Purple Armageddon this turn. In this situation, if my opponent activates Skill Drain and negates the effects of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon, what happens to the effect that was already applied?
A: In this scenario, since the effects of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon are negated, the ATK increase is no longer applied, and its ATK returns to its original value of 3300. However, it will still have the gained name and effects of D/D/D Super Doom King Purple Armageddon until the End Phase.
Also, the following monsters will retain their gained names and effects even if their effects are negated after being applied:
– Blackwing – Aurora the Northern Lights
– CXyz Barian Hope
– Dragon Knight Draco-Equiste
– Elemental HERO Divine Neos
– Gem-Knight Master Diamond
– Hundred Eyes Dragon
– Infernoid Decatron
– Legendary Knight Hermos
– Masterflare Hyperion
– Neo-Spacian Dark Panther
– Number 69: Heraldry Crest
– Number 8: Heraldic King Genom-Heritage
– Number C69: Heraldry Crest of Horror
– One-Eyed Skill Gainer
– Phantom of Chaos
– Starving Venemy Dragon
– Starving Venom Fusion Dragon
– Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom
– Symphonic Warrior Synthess
– Windwitch – Crystal Bell

Source

 

Q: I activated Vendread Reorigin and Special Summoned a Vendread Token. In this situation, if I activate Creature Swap and my opponent gains control of that Vendread Token, can I Special Summon monsters other than “Vendread” monsters?
A: The effect of Vendread Reorigin “While the Token Special Summoned by this effect is on the field, you cannot Normal or Special Summon monsters, except “Vendread” monsters.” is applied to the player who activated Vendread Reorigin. Even if control of the Special Summoned Vendread Token switches to the opponent, it does not change which player is unable to Special Summon monsters other than “Vendread” monsters.
The same applies when control of monsters Special Summoned by the following effects changes:
– Swordsoul of Mo Ye, Swordsoul of Taia, Swordsoul Strategist Longyuan, Swordsoul Assessment, and Swordsoul Blackout (for the Swordsoul Token).
– Hippo Carnival and Super Hippo Carnival (for the Hippo Tokens).
– Gadget Box (for the Gadget Box Token).
– Transcicada (for the Moult Token).
– Nunu, the Ogdoadic Remnant and Astral Kuriboh (for themselves).

Source

 

Q: The second effect of Kashtira Shangri-Ira has been applied, making an unused Monster Zone or Spell & Trap Zone unusable. In this situation, if the effects of Kashtira Shangri-Ira are negated, will the selected zone become usable?
A: It remains unusable. The second effect of Kashtira Shangri-Ira is a Trigger Effect that applies its effect to the selected zone when it resolves, and the condition for it to apply is “while this monster is face-up on the field” (meaning it stops applying when Kashtira Shangri-Ira is no longer face-up in the Monster Zone).
The effect is not a Continuous Effect (it does not continuously apply the effect to the selected zone), so even if the effects of Kashtira Shangri-Ira are negated, the effect that already resolved will continue to apply as long as it remains face-up in the Monster Zone.
The same applies to Excode Talker.

Source

 

Q: The effect of my Maxx “C” is currently applying. If I activate the last effect of my Beetle Amalgamaton Zekstagger during the End Phase and my opponent Special Summons an Insect monster, do I draw from the effect of Maxx “C”?
A: Since your opponent performed the Special Summon, you draw 1 card.

Source

 

Q: By resolving the effect of my opponent’s Fallen of Albaz or Predaplant Chlamydosundew, my Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon in my Monster Zone is sent to the Graveyard as a Fusion Material, and a Fusion Monster is Special Summoned to my opponent’s field. Can I activate the effect of that Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon that was sent to the Graveyard, triggered by my opponent Special Summoning a Fusion Monster from the Extra Deck?
A: Yes, you can. In order to activate the second effect of Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon from the Graveyard, Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon must already be in your Graveyard when a monster is Special Summoned by your opponent’s activated monster effect.
In the above situation, a Fusion Monster is Fusion Summoned to your opponent’s field using Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon as a Fusion Material. During a Fusion Summon, the part of the effect that sends Fusion Materials to the Graveyard and the part of the effect that Special Summon the Fusion Monster do not occur simultaneously, so by the time the Fusion Monster is Special Summoned, Grand-Guignol the Finale Dragon will be in the Graveyard. Therefore, its activation requirements are met.

Source

 

Q: When I activate the effect of Tearlaments Scheiren in my hand, my opponent chains the effect of Dimension Shifter. In this case, how do I resolve my effect?
A: Special Summon the Tearlaments Scheiren from your hand, and banish 1 monster from your hand. Since that monster was not sent to the Graveyard, the part of the effect that sends the top 3 cards of your Deck to the Graveyard is not applied. The effect is applied in the order it is written, and if part of the effect is not successfully applied, the effect finishes resolving at that point.

Source

 

Q: When activating the second effect of Vaylantz World – Shinra Bansho, can I target a Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster that was placed in the Spell & Trap Zone without being properly Special Summoned, or a Monster Token?
A: No, you cannot.

Source

 

Q: If I activated Farewelcome Labrynth or Big Welcome Labrynth, can I apply the effect of Labrynth Labyrinth to add the additional “● Also after that, destroy 1 card on the field.” effect?
A: Yes, you can. Farewelcome Labrynth and Big Welcome Labrynth are both “Welcome Labrynth” Normal Traps. Card text that says “‘X’ card” refers to cards that include “X” in their card names.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.