Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 10/16/22 Rulings Update

The Couple of Aces ruling is a good precedent for the Triple Tactics Talents vs. Knightmare Unicorn/Guardian Chimera scenario that always comes up.

 

 

Q: If cards cannot be banished due to the effect of Imperial Iron Wall, can I activate the second effect of Abyss Script – Fire Dragon’s Lair?
A: You cannot activate the second effect of Abyss Script – Fire Dragon’s Lair in situations when cards cannot be banished. Also, if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying when you resolve the second effect of Abyss Script – Fire Dragon’s Lair, you look at your opponent’s Deck and nothing else.

Source

 

Q: If Ancient Warriors Saga – Three Visits is placed face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone by the second effect of Ancient Warriors Saga – Borrowing of Arrows, or if Photon Change is placed face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone by the effect of Photon Deceleration, will they be sent to the Graveyard during the second Standby Phase afterward?
A: Since Ancient Warriors Saga – Three Visits and Photon Change were not placed on the field by being activated, they are not sent to the Graveyard by their own text during the second Standby Phase afterward.

Source


Q:
The effect of my Maxx “C” is currently applying. In this situation, if my opponent activates the effect of Nibiru, the Primal Being, when do I draw cards?
A: Immediately after resolving the Chain Link for the effect of Nibiru, the Primal Being, you draw 2 cards. These 2 cards are treated as being drawn at the same time. Therefore, for example, if the first card you draw is Converging Wills Dragon, you can activate its “When you draw this card” effect.

Source

 

Q: A Gaia the Dragon Champion with an original ATK of 2600 is Fusion Summoned with Spiral Fusion, gaining 2600 ATK from the effect of Spiral Fusion, so that its ATK is now 5200. Afterward, if the first effect of Dragon King’s Myth is applied to that Gaia the Dragon Champion, what is its ATK?
A: It will be 10,400 (double 5200) during that turn. After the end of the turn when the effect of Dragon King’s Myth is no longer applied, its ATK will be 2600 (its original value).

Source

 

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate and resolve the effect of Galakuriboh. Afterward, can I activate the effect of the Special Summoned Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Galakuriboh finishes resolving in the Battle Step with the attack target changed to Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon, so the effect of that Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon can be activated.

Source

 

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack, what happens if I activate the effects of 2 copies of Galakuriboh in the same Chain?
A: The Chain resolves normally in this case. Therefore, the attack target is ultimately changed to the last Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon that was Special Summoned.

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Remove Brainwashing is applying, I activated the effect of Couple of Aces in my hand, and the coin toss result was tails. After that effect resolves, which player will activate the effect of Couple of Aces that draws 2 cards?
A: After the first effect of Couple of Aces resolves, control is immediately switched to you, but your opponent is the one who activates its second effect.

Source

 

Q: If Silver-Winged AXE-Sarry is attacked, and its effect is activated to equip it to a monster as an Equip Card, what happens to the battle?
A: If the effect was activated before entering the Damage Step (from the time the attack is declared to the rest of the Battle Step), a replay occurs. Therefore, your opponent can stop the attack or re-select an attack target.
If the effect was activated during the Damage Step (from the start of the Damage Step to before damage calculation), the battle ends. In that case, damage calculation does not occur, but the attacking monster is considered to have attacked and cannot attack again.

Source

 

Q: If an Xyz Material is returned to the hand, Deck, or Extra Deck by the effects of Materiactor Gigaboros or Exosisters Magnifica, can I activate the second effect of Gigantic “Champion” Sargas?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: I activated Kashtira Overlap, targeting a monster with 1500 ATK and 2100 DEF. When resolving the effect, if the targeted monster is the only monster among the cards in my hand, Graveyard, or on either field that has 1500 ATK and 2100 DEF, what happens?
A: In that case, the targeted monster is banished and the effect finishes resolving. (Normally, you cannot banish the targeted monster with this effect, but it is banished only in the above situation if it has 1500 ATK and 2100 DEF.)

Source

 

Q: I sent King of the Swamp to the Graveyard with the effect of Tearlaments Perlregia. During this turn, can I apply the effect of King of the Swamp when using it as Fusion Material?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Tearlaments Perlregia prevents you from activating the effects of the monster it sends to the Graveyard, and the effects of monsters with the same name. The first effect of King of the Swamp is not an effect that activates, so it can be applied even during the turn it was sent to the Graveyard this way.

Source

 

Q: I chained the effect of Icejade Aegirine Gymir to the third effect of my opponent’s Wightprincess. When resolving the effect of Icejade Aegirine Gymir, if the name of Wightprincess is treated as Skull Servant due to its effect, which monsters are banished?
A: Cards named Wightprincess are banished from your opponent’s field and Graveyard. (Any Wightprincess treated as Skull Servant in the Graveyard are not banished.)
As a general rule, when banishing cards with the effect of Icejade Aegirine Gymir, you refer to the name of the opponent’s card that activated its effect. However, if the monster whose effect was activated is no longer in the same location where it activated its effect from (such as if it was moved to another location by paying its activation cost or due to another effect activated on the same Chain), you refer to the card’s name at activation.
In this scenario, the Wightprincess whose effect activated in the hand is not in the hand when the effect of Icejade Aegirine Gymir resolves. Therefore, the effect will banish cards with the name Wightprincess.

Source

 

Q: If Photon Emperor is an Xyz Material and is detached and sent to the Graveyard, or if the Xyz Monster it is attached to is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, can I activate its effect that Special Summons it?
A: Yes, you can. The first effect of Photon Emperor can be activated if it is sent to the Graveyard, except when it is sent from the field to the Graveyard. Cards that become Xyz Materials are not treated as cards on the field (they do not exist on the field as cards). Therefore, if a card used as an Xyz Material is sent to the Graveyard, that card was not sent from the field to the Graveyard.
In this scenario, if Photon Emperor is an Xyz Material and is sent to the Graveyard, it is treated as being “sent to the GY, except from the field”.

Source

 

Q: Can I Link Summon a Tri-Brigade Arms “Bucephalus II” with the effect of Tri-Brigade Revolt?
A: Yes, you can. However, you must be able to Link Summon Tri-Brigade Arms “Bucephalus II” (in other words, having 3 or more “Tri-Brigade” Spells/Traps in your Graveyard).
Firstly, in order to activate Tri-Brigade Revolt, you need a “Tri-Brigade” Link Monster in your Extra Deck that can be Link Summoned. Therefore, as an example, in order to activate Tri-Brigade Revolt while the only “Tri-Brigade” Link Monster in your Extra Deck is Tri-Brigade Arms “Bucephalus II”, you need 3 or more “Tri-Brigade” Spells/Traps in your Graveyard.
Furthermore, you need a “Tri-Brigade” Link Monster in your Extra Deck that can be Link Summoned when resolving the Chain Link made by activating Tri-Brigade Revolt (when Special Summoning the monsters that will be used as materials) and while performing the Link Summon afterward. Therefore, in order to Link Summon Tri-Brigade Arms “Bucephalus II”, you also need 3 or more “Tri-Brigade” Spells/Traps in your Graveyard when resolving Tri-Brigade Revolt.
Additionally, the activated Tri-Brigade Revolt is sent to the Graveyard after the Link Summon is performed. Therefore, that Tri-Brigade Revolt is not counted as a “Tri-Brigade” Spell/Trap in your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: My opponent activated the second effect of their Kashtira Shangri-Ira 5 times, making it so that I cannot use any of my Main Monster Zones. If that Kashtira Shangri-Ira activated either of its effects during my turn, can I Tribute it to Special Summon Kurikara Divincarnate?
A: No, you cannot.

Source

 

Q: Can I activate the first effect of Gagaga Samurai if I cannot conduct my Battle Phase that turn (such as the first turn of the Duel, or if the Battle Phase cannot be conducted that turn due to certain effects or conditions, or during my Main Phase 2)?
A: No, you cannot. The same applies to the following effects.
– Blade Armor Ninja
– First effect of Evil HERO Infernal Gainer
– Second effect of Parallel Port Armor
– Second effect of Shark Fortress
– Second effect of Ukiyoe-P.U.N.K. Rising Carp
– Second effect of Vernusylph of the Thawing Mountains
– Third effect of Primal Dragon, the Primordial
– Toon Rollback

Source

 

Q: Can I activate the first effect of Gagaga Samurai targeting a monster that cannot attack due to the effects of Swords of Revealing Light or Fiendish Chain?
A: No, you cannot.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.