[OCG] 10/01/19 Rulings Update

Assorted rulings, mostly from Extra Pack 2019.

 

Q: Harpie Lady, Harpie Lady Sisters, and Relinquished are each face-up in my Monster Zone, and a Harpie Lady equipped to Relinquished by its own effect is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, can I activate Harpie Lady Phoenix Formation?
A: You must have a total of 3 Harpie Lady and/or Harpie Lady Sisters face-up in your Monster Zone to activate Harpie Lady Phoenix Formation. In this scenario, you cannot activate Harpie Lady Phoenix Formation.

Source

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

 

Q: When I activate Dark Magical Circle, I chain Illusion Magic and add up to 2 copies of Dark Magician from my Deck and/or Graveyard to my hand. If the result of that effect is that I have only 2 cards or less remaining in my Deck, how does the effect of Dark Magical Circle resolve?
A: The first effect of Dark Magical Circle is applied even if you have 2 cards or less in your Deck when it resolves. In that case, look at the remaining cards in your Deck. (If there are any copies of Dark Magician or Spell/Trap Cards with the card name “Dark Magician” in their text among those cards, you can reveal 1 and add it to your hand. The remaining cards are returned to the Deck in any order.)

Source

 

Q: When activating the effect of Performapal Sky Pupil that Special Summons it from my hand, can I choose a Performapal Gatlinghoul on my field as the monster to return to the hand as the cost?
A: When activating the effect of Performapal Sky Pupil, you must return a face-up Level 5 or higher “Performapal” monster from your Monster Zone to the hand as the cost. Performapal Gatlinghoul is a Level 5 or higher “Performapal” monster, but since it is a Fusion Monster, it cannot be returned to the hand. Therefore, you cannot use Performapal Gatlinghoul for the cost of the effect.

Source

 

Q: I activate the first effect of Thunder Dragonhawk, Special Summoning a Thunder Dragonduo from my Graveyard after it was Special Summoned by its own procedure. After that effect resolves, does the effect of Thunder Dragonduo that increases its ATK by 300 activate?
A: The effect of Thunder Dragonduo that increases its ATK is a Trigger Effect that activates on the field. In this scenario, since Thunder Dragonduo was not on the field when the effect of Thunder Dragonhawk was activated from your hand, the effect of Thunder Dragonduo does not activate.

Source

 

Q: Malefic World is face-up in my Field Zone, Malefic Territory is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Malefic Parallel Gear are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if Malefic Territory is destroyed by the effect of my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon, since there can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field, which monster is destroyed?
A: In this scenario, when the effect “There can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field.” is applied, if there are 2 or more “Malefic” monsters in the Monster Zone, their controller chooses either one of them to be destroyed. (You can choose to destroy either Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon or Malefic Parallel Gear.)

Source

 

Q: If there are less than 3 face-down cards in my opponent’s Extra Deck, and the only “Borrel” monster on my field or in my Graveyard is Borreload Savage Dragon, can I activate Bayonet Punisher?
A: If the only “Borrel” monster on your field or in your Graveyard is Borreload Savage Dragon when you activate Bayonet Punisher, the only applicable effect is the one that banishes 3 random face-down cards from your opponent’s Extra Deck. However, in this scenario, since your opponent has less than 3 face-down cards in their Extra Deck, you cannot activate Bayonet Punisher.

Source

 

Q: While Valkyrie Sechste and Valkyrie Erste are the only monsters on my field, I activate the effect of Valkyrie Erste and banish a Blue-Eyes White Dragon from my opponent’s Graveyard, so that the ATK of Valkyrie Erste becomes 3000. In this situation, if I activate Mischief of the Time Goddess at the end of the Battle Phase, what happens to the ATK of Valkyrie Erste?
A: In this scenario, the rest of the turn is skipped by the effect of Mischief of the Time Goddess, and the effect of Valkyrie Erste is no longer applied. Therefore, its ATK returns to 1600.

Source

 

Q: The effect of my opponent’s Droll & Lock Bird is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of a Danger! Bigfoot! in my hand?
A: Even if the effect of Droll & Lock Bird is preventing players from adding cards from the Deck to the hand, you can still activate the effect of a Danger! Bigfoot! in your hand. In that case, your opponent randomly discards 1 card from your hand normally, but if the discarded card is not a Danger! Bigfoot!, a Danger! Bigfoot! is Special Summoned from your hand but you do not draw a card. If the discarded card is Danger! Bigfoot!, the effect finishes resolving, and you can choose to activate the second effect of that discarded Danger! Bigfoot!.

Source

 

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of a Danger!? Jackalope? in their hand, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring in my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of a Danger!? Jackalope? in their hand, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring. In that case, the effect of Danger!? Jackalope? is negated, and it remains in your opponent’s hand.

Source

 

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Time Thief Redoer that detaches its Xyz Materials, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring in my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of Time Thief Redoer that detaches its Xyz Materials, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring in your hand. (It does not matter what kind of Xyz Materials are attached to Time Thief Redoer.)

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Time Thief Redoer that detaches its Xyz Materials, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Time Thief Redoer to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: Even if Time Thief Redoer is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, the part of the effect that detaches up to 3 different types of Xyz Materials from it is applied normally. The “● Spell” and “● Trap” effects are also applied normally, but if the “● Monster” effect is applied, Time Thief Redoer is banished face-down, and returns to the Main Monster Zone in face-down Defense Position during the End Phase.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Cyber Dragon Nachster, and Special Summon a Cyber Dragon from my Graveyard. At this time, if my opponent activates the effect of Gnomaterial and applies it to Cyber Dragon, can I still Special Summon a Chimeratech Fortress Dragon from my Extra Deck with its own procedure?
A: The effect of Gnomaterial prevents the affected monster from being Tributed or used as material for a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Summon that turn. Since Special Summoning Chimeratech Fortress Dragon from the Extra Deck is not a Fusion Summon, the materials sent to the Graveyard are not considered being used for a Fusion Summon. Therefore, in this scenario, you can send Cyber Dragon Nachster and Cyber Dragon to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon.

Source

 

Q: While Pinpoint Landing is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, I Pendulum Summon 1 monster from my hand and 1 from my Extra Deck at the same time. In this case, can I activate the effect of Pinpoint Landing?
A: In this scenario, if you Pendulum Summoned a monster from your hand and from your Extra Deck at the same time, you cannot activate the effect of Pinpoint Landing.

Source

 

Q: While Pinpoint Landing is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, I activate the effect of a Hop-Eared Flying Squad, Special Summoning it from my hand and then performing a Synchro Summon using its effect. In this case, can I activate the effect of Pinpoint Landing?
A: The effect of Hop-Eared Flying Squad only Special Summons it when it resolves, while the Synchro Summon is performed immediately after the effect finishes resolving. Therefore, in this scenario, since Hop-Eared Flying Squad was exactly 1 monster being Special Summoned from the hand to your field, you can activate the effect of Pinpoint Landing.

Source

 

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Vision HERO Faris that Special Summons it from the hand, by discarding a Vision HERO Vyon from their hand. In this situation, when can I activate Consolation Prize?
A: If a monster is sent from the hand to the Graveyard as the cost of activating another card effect as in this scenario, Consolation Prize cannot be activated by chaining to that card effect. After that activated effect resolves, Consolation Prize can be activated in a new Chain. Therefore, in this situation, when your opponent activates the second effect of Vision HERO Faris that places a “Vision HERO” monster from their Deck face-up in their Spell & Trap Zone, you can chain Consolation Prize. (If your opponent does not activate the second effect of Vision HERO Faris, you can activate Consolation Prize as Chain Link 1.)

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.