[OCG] 09/24/15 Rulings

This week’s rulings include a few Hi-Speed Rider cards, in time for their TCG release. (Still working on the Extra Pack 2015 rulings, but everyone already knows how they work.)

09/24/15 Assorted Rulings

Q: Eccentric Boy is face-up in my Monster Zone, whereas Yang Zing Unleashed is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. Furthermore, Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing is in my hand. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Yang Zing Unleashed?
A: To activate the effect of Yang Zing Unleashed, you must have the appropriate Synchro Material monsters to perform a Synchro Summon, including at least 1 “Yang Zing” monster. In this scenario, as long as you have a Synchro Monster in your Extra Deck whose Level is equal to the combined Levels of Eccentric Boy on the field and Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing in your hand, you can activate the effect of Yang Zing Unleashed. (Also note, that since you do not have a “Yang Zing” monster on your side of the field, if you did not have a “Yang Zing” monster in your hand in this scenario, you could not activate the effect of Yang Zing Unleashed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10197&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Insect Armor with Laser Cannon is activated by targeting Inzektor Dragonfly or Inzektor Centipede. If my opponent chains DNA Surgery, declaring Machine-Type, how does the chain resolve?
A: In this scenario, Inzektor Dragonfly or Inzektor Centipede have become Machine-Type by the effect of DNA Surgery when Insect Armor with Laser Cannon resolves. In that case, since Insect Armor with Laser Cannon can only be equipped to an Insect-Type, it is sent to the Graveyard without being equipped. (Therefore, the effect of Inzektor Dragonfly or Inzektor Centipede cannot be activated.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10201&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of PSYFrame Overload be activated by targeting a Battle Fader that was Special Summoned by its own effect?
A: A face-up Battle Fader that was Special Summoned by its own effect can be targeted by the effect of PSYFrame Overload. In this case, since a Battle Fader that was Special Summoned by its own effect is banished if it leaves the field, it is banished face-up by its own effect, and not banished face-down.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10670&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of PSYFrame Overload be activated by targeting a Zefraxi, Treasure of the Yang Zing after its effect has been applied?
A: A Zefraxi, Treasure of the Yang Zing that has applied its effect can be targeted by the effect of PSYFrame Overload. In this case, since Zefraxi, Treasure of the Yang Zing is placed on the bottom of the Deck if it leaves the field, it returns to the bottom of the Deck, and is not banished face-down.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9622&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Evilswarm Ophion with Xyz Material is present on my opponent’s side of the field, and its effect that prevents players from Special Summoning Level 5 or higher monsters is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effects of PSYFrame Gear Alpha, PSYFrame Gear Beta, PSYFrame Gear Gamma, PSYFrame Gear Delta, or PSYFrame Gear Epsilon in my hand?
A: In this scenario, while the effect of Evilswarm Ophion is applying, the Level 6 PSYFrame Driver cannot be Special Summoned, so the effects of monsters such as PSYFrame Gear Alpha cannot be applied. Therefore, their effects cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9491&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Main Phase 1, I activate the effect of PSYFrame Lord Zeta, banishing PSYFrame Lord Zeta itself and an opponent’s Gagagigo the Risen. In this situation, if I then activate Prohibition by declaring Gagagigo the Risen, what happens during my next Standby Phase?
A: After activating the effect of PSYFrame Lord Zeta, even if Prohibition is activated by declaring the name of the opponent’s banished monster, the effect that returns the banished monsters to the field during your next Standby Phase still applies. A monster whose name hasn’t been declared by Prohibition will return to the field normally, but a monster whose name has been declared cannot return to the field, and is sent to the Graveyard instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9291&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Number 17: Leviathan Dragon without Xyz Material is equipped with Shooting Star Bow – Ceal, can that Number 17: Leviathan Dragon attack my opponent directly?
A: The effect of Number 17: Leviathan Dragon prevents it from attacking directly while it has no Xyz Materials, so even while it is equipped with Shooting Star Bow – Ceal, it cannot attack directly.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7107&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Red Cocoon has become an Equip Card by its own effect, can it be equipped to a different monster using the effect of Tailor of the Fickle?
A: The correct target for Red Cocoon must be a Dragon-Type Synchro Monster on your side of the field, so if you have one on your side of the field aside from the one that Red Cocoon is currently equipped to, Red Cocoon can be equipped to that monster using the effect of Tailor of the Fickle. In that case, the effect of Red Cocoon will now apply when the newly equipped monster battles an opponent’s monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8142&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate A Hero Emerges. If my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness, how does A Hero Emerges resolve?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness prevents monsters from being Special Summoned, the effect of A Hero Emerges does not apply. (Your opponent does not randomly select a card in your hand.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8193&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth that was Special Summoned during a previous turn by Call of the Haunted is in face-up Attack Position on my opponent’s side of the field. During my opponent’s next turn, if a monster other than that Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth declares an attack, and I activate the second effect of Dice Roll Battle from my Graveyard, can my opponent change Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth to Defense Position during Main Phase 2?
A: If the effect of Dice Roll Battle performs damage calculation using Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth, it is not treated declaring an attack. Furthermore, in this scenario, Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth was not Special Summoned this turn. Therefore, even if damage calculation was performed using that Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth, its battle position can still be changed during Main Phase 2.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7088&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Summon Limit is applying, can the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid be activated? Also, if the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid is activated, but Summon Limit is chained, how does its effect resolve?
A: In order to activate the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid, Speedroid Ohajikid itself must be Normal Summoned. In addition, if you activate the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid, you must be able to perform a Synchro Summon immediately after resolving it using Speedroid Ohajikid and the monster Special Summoned by this effect. Therefore, while the effect of Summon Limit is applying, and you Normal Summon Speedroid Ohajikid, you have already Summoned once, so the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid cannot be activated. Furthermore, if Summon Limit is chained to the effect of Speedroid Ohajikid, since you have already Normal Summoned once, so the effect that Special Summons the targeted Tuner monster from the Graveyard is applied, but you cannot then perform the Synchro Summon using those monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7694&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is chained to Collected Power, and the monster targeted by Collected Power is changed to face-down Defense Position, how will Collected Power resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if the monster targeted by Collected Power has been changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect of Collected Power still applies. In that case, since all Equip Cards on the field would be equipped to an incorrect target, they are all destroyed by the effect of Collected Power.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6235&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The only monster on my side of the field is a face-down Defense Position Rabidragon. If I Flip Summon Rabidragon, and my opponent activates Solemn Judgment, can I chain Champion’s Vigilance?
A: In this scenario, Champion’s Vigilance cannot be activated. If your opponent is attempting to negate the Flip Summon of Rabidragon with Solemn Judgment, and you do not have another Level 7 or higher Normal Monster on your side of the field, you cannot activate Champion’s Vigilance.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8166&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Ancient Crimson Ape, Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest, and Yellow Baboon, Archer of the Forest are face-up on my side of the field. In this situation, if my opponent activates Icarus Attack and destroys Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest and Yellow Baboon, Archer of the Forest, how many Life Points will I gain by the effect of Ancient Crimson Ape?
A: In this scenario, since a monster(s) on your side of the field was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Icarus Attack, the effect of Ancient Crimson Ape activates once. Furthermore, the effect of Ancient Crimson Ape does not gain Life Points depending on the number of monsters sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, so you will only gain 1000 Life Points.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8048&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is applying, can the effect of Gishki Noellia be activated? Also, if the effect of Gishki Noellia is activated, but Call of the Haunted is chained, targeting and Special Summoning Dimension Fortress Weapon, how does the effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Dimension Fortress Weapon is applying, the effect of Gishki Noellia cannot be activated. Also, if the effect of Gishki Noellia is activated, but Call of the Haunted is chained, targeting and Special Summoning Dimension Fortress Weapon, the effect of Gishki Noellia is not applied. (You do not excavate any cards from your Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7249&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons