[OCG] 09/22/16 Rulings

Go with the flow chart.

09/22/16 Rulings

Q: I activate the second effect of Starve Venom Fusion Dragon, and it gains the name and effects of my opponent’s Red-Eyes Meteor Dragon. In that case, if Starve Venom Dragon is treated as a Normal Monster, can I target it with De-Fusion?
A: If Starve Venom Fusion Dragon gains the name and effects of a Gemini monster, it is treated as a Normal Monster while face-up on the field and is no longer treated as a Fusion Monster. Therefore, De-Fusion cannot be activated by targeting it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6238&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Brain Hazard during my End Phase, targeting my banished Kozmo Tincan. When Kozmo Tincan is Special Summoned, can I activate its effect that reveals 3 different “Kozmo” cards in my Deck immediately?
A: The effect of Kozmo Tincan is a Trigger Effect that can be activated during each player’s End Phase, but is not an effect that activates upon its successful Special Summon, so as with this scenario, if it is Special Summoned by the effect of Brain Hazard during your End Phase, you cannot immediately activate its effect. Once Brain Hazard resolves, players can activate fast effects starting with the turn player. If any fast effects are activated, once they have resolved, the effect of Kozmo Tincan can be activated. (If no fast effects are activated, the effect of Kozmo Tincan can be used as it is.) For example, when you Special Summon Kozmo Tincan during your End Phase, if your opponent activates Torrential Tribute, Kozmo Tincan will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, so its effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8218&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Kozmo Sliprider, Kozmo DOG Fighter, and Kozmo Landwalker are face-up on my field. In this situation, if my opponent activates Icarus Attack so that 2 “Kozmo” cards on my field would be destroyed at the same time, can I apply the effect of Kozmo Landwalker to destroy another “Kozmo” card instead?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Kozmo Landwalker can be applied. In that case, you cannot choose to destroy 1 of the cards that was targeted with Icarus Attack. For example, if Icarus Attack was activated by targeting Kozmo Sliprider and Kozmo DOG Fighter, and the effect of Kozmo Landwalker is applied, Kozmo Landwalker will be destroyed instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13064&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Kozmo Delta Shuttle, if I send Kozmo Dark Destroyer to the Graveyard, do I have to target a monster on the field with 800 or more ATK and DEF?
A: As in this scenario, if you activate the effect of Kozmo Delta Shuttle by sending Kozmo Dark Destroyer to the Graveyard, you do not have to target a monster with 800 or more ATK and DEF. (For example, if you target Kozmo Strawman, the result will be that its ATK becomes 0 and its DEF becomes 1000.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8552&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Kyoutou Waterfront is face-up in the Field Zone with Kaiju Counters on it. If the effect of D/D/D Cursed King Siegfried that negates the effects of a Spell/Trap Card is activated targeting Kyoutou Waterfront, what happens to the Kaiju Counter?
A: In this scenario, if the effects of Kyoutou Waterfront are negated, it can no longer have Kaiju Counters on it. (All Kaiju Counters on it are removed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9477&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Kaiju Capture Mission by targeting a face-up Attack Position Jizukiru, the Star Destroying Kaiju on my field. If my opponent chains Call of the Haunted, and Special Summons Dark Simorgh from the Graveyard, how does the effect of Kaiju Capture Mission resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Kaiju Capture Mission will resolve while the effect of Dark Simorgh that prevents the opponent from Setting cards is applying. In that case, you cannot apply the part of the effect that changes the targeted “Kaiju” monster to face-down Defense Position, so a Kaiju Counter is not placed on Kaiju Capture Mission. (The targeted Jizukiru, the Star Destroying Kaiju remains on the field in face-up Attack Position.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11361&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: 2 copies of Paleozoic Canadia that were Special Summoned by their own effects are used as Xyz Material to Xyz Summon Cat Shark. In this case, will the effect of Cat Shark that prevents it from being destroyed by battle if it has a WATER monster as Xyz Material apply?
A: If a Paleozoic Canadia that was Special Summoned by its own effect becomes an Xyz Material, it is not treated as a WATER monster. Therefore, the effect of Cat Shark will not be applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6891&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated targeting a Paleozoic Marrella that was Special Summoned by its own effect, will Paleozoic Marrella be Set in the Spell & Trap Zone?
A: If Paleozoic Marrella was Special Summoned by its own effect and is treated as a Normal Monster, the effect of Book of Moon will change it to face-down Defense Position in its Monster Zone. (It is never Set to the Spell & Trap Zone.) Note that once Paleozoic Marrella is flipped face-up again, it is still treated as a Normal Monster (Aqua-Type/WATER/Level 2/ATK 1200/DEF 0), but the effects that make it unaffected by monster effects and banishes it when it would leave the field are no longer applied. (Paleozoic Marrella can now be affected by monster effects, and it can be sent to the Graveyard normally if it is destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8627&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate the effect of Junk Collector, can I banish Extinction on Schedule?
A: When activating the effect of Junk Collector, Extinction on Schedule cannot be banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8041&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Trap of Darkness, can I target Extinction on Schedule?
A: You can activate Trap of Darkness by targeting Extinction on Schedule. When Trap of Darkness resolves, the targeted Extinction on Schedule in your Graveyard will be banished. Then, at the end of the third Battle Phase after Trap of Darkness was activated, each player must send all cards on their field to the Graveyard normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6236&keyword=&tag=-1

Note: If you’re wondering why these are different, the effect of Extinction on Schedule counts Battle Phases after “this card’s activation”, and in the case of Junk Collector there’d be no card activation to reference and therefore no effect to apply. Trap of Darkness doesn’t have that issue since you did activate a card as opposed to the effect of a card.

Q: When I add a Level 4 or lower Warrior-Type monster from my Deck to my hand with the effect of Reinforcement of the Army, can I immediately Normal Summon (or Set) it?
A: As in this scenario, once the effect of Reinforcement of the Army finishes resolving, you cannot immediately perform a Normal Summon or Set. Once Reinforcement of the Army resolves, players can activate fast effects starting with the turn player. If any fast effects are activated, once they have resolved, the turn player can perform a Normal Summon or Set. (If no fast effects are activated, the turn player can perform a Normal Summon or Set as it is.) For example, when you add Marauding Captain from your Deck to your hand with the effect of Reinforcement of the Army, if your opponent activates Mind Crush and declares Marauding Captain, your Marauding Captain will be discarded and sent to the Graveyard. Since it is no longer in your hand, you cannot Normal Summon/Set Marauding Captain.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8232&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After Flip Summoning a Magician of Faith, if I add a Monster Reborn from my Graveyard to my hand with the effect of Magician of Faith, can I immediately activate (or Set) it? Furthermore, if I add a Mystical Space Typhoon from my Graveyard to my hand with the effect of Magician of Faith, can I immediately activate (or Set) it?
A: As in this scenario, once the effect of Magician of Faith finishes resolving, you cannot immediately activate or Set a Normal Spell Card. However, once the effect of Magician of Faith finishes resolving, players can activate Quick-Play Spell Cards such as Mystical Space Typhoon, starting with the turn player. (But even with Quick-Play Spell Cards, you cannot immediately Set them.) When a non-Quick-Play Spell Card is added to your hand with the effect of Magician of Faith, after any fast effects are activated and resolved, the turn player is able to activate or Set Spell Cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8221&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Main Phase, if I activate the effect of a card such as Armageddon Knight or Foolish Burial and send Destiny HERO – Malicious from my Deck to the Graveyard, can I immediately activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Malicious in my Graveyard?
A: The effect of Destiny HERO – Malicious is an Ignition Effect that activates in your Graveyard, and is not an effect that activates upon it being sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, as with this scenario, if it is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Armageddon Knight or Foolish Burial, you cannot immediately activate its effect. Once the effect of Armageddon Knight or Foolish Burial resolves, players can activate fast effects starting with the turn player. If any fast effects are activated, once they have resolved, the effect of Destiny HERO – Malicious can be activated. (If no fast effects are activated, the effect of Destiny HERO – Malicious can be used as it is.) For example, when Destiny HERO – Malicious is sent to the Graveyard, if your opponent activates D.D. Crow and banishes it from the Graveyard, Destiny HERO – Malicious will no longer be in the Graveyard so its effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8231&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Obelisk the Tormentor is Tribute Summoned, how long does its effect that prevents cards and effects from being activated apply? Will this effect prevent cards and effects from being activated for the rest of the Duel?
A: The effect of Obelisk the Tormentor that prevents cards and effects from being activated when it is Normal Summoned only applies at the time it is successfully Summoned. This effect does not prevent cards and effects from activating for the rest of the Duel, so after Obelisk the Tormentor has been successfully Tribute Summoned, cards and effects can be activated normally. (For example, when Obelisk the Tormentor is Tribute Summoned, cards such as Bottomless Trap Hole cannot be activated at that time, but cards like Mirror Force can be activated normally when Obelisk the Tormentor declares an attack.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8159&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Arcana Force XVIII – The Moon is Summoned, and its effect that performs a coin toss is activated so that it has gained either its “Heads” or “Tails” effect. Afterward, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Arcana Force XVIII – The Moon are negated, what happens?
A: As in this scenario, if the effects of Arcana Force XVIII – The Moon are negated by Skill Drain after either the “Heads” or “Tails” effects have been gained, those gained effects are negated. (Once the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, the gained “Heads” or “Tails” effect will begin applying again.)

Note: This is a fresh OCG ruling reversal.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6889&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons