[OCG] 09/11/2014 OCG rulings

09/11/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: Is it possible to activate Solemn Warning in a chain to the effect of Revival Golem?
A: If the effect to Special Summon it is selected, then Solemn Warning can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13612&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of an opponent’s Abyss Dweller is active, will the mandatory effect of Revival Golem still activate?
A: No, it will not.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13609&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Jowgen the Spiritualist is on the field, will the effect of Revival Golem activate?
A: While Jowgen the Spiritualist is on the field, you cannot choose to activate the effect of Revival Golem which Special Summons itself. You must choose the effect to add it to your hand instead.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13611&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Prohibition is activated, can A Legendary Ocean be declared? In addition, if Umi is declared by Prohibition, can A Legendary Ocean be activated?
A: As a rule, A Legendary Ocean is always treated as Umi. Thus, when activating Prohibition, A Legendary Ocean cannot be declared, but will be declared as Umi. If Umi has been declared by Prohibition, A Legendary Ocean cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13585&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster that was declared by Prohibition be Special Summoned with Monster Reborn?
A: A monster declared by Prohibition cannot be placed on the field, such as by Monster Reborn or any other card effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13584&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder has been declared by Prohibition, can a Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder be Special Summoned by sending 3 face-up Continuous Spell Cards you control to the Graveyard, including the active Prohibition?
A: If Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder has been declared by Prohibition, it cannot be Special Summoned. Thus, you cannot send Prohibition to the Graveyard to Special Summon it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13586&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn has been declared by Prohibition, can a Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn in the Graveyard be targeted by the effect of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor?
A: The monsters banished by the effect of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor are not treated as Synchro Material monsters. In this situation, the declared Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn can be targeted by the effect of Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor, and the effect will resolve normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13587&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Vampire Kingdom has been declared by Prohibition, can Vampire Takeover be activated?
A: Vampire Takeover resolves by activating a Vampire Kingdom. Therefore, it cannot be activated if Vampire Kingdom has been declared by Prohibition.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13592&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Hazy Flame Sphynx has been declared by Prohibition, can Hazy Pillar be used to attach a Hazy Flame Sphynx to an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material?
A: Yes, it can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13590&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Fire Formation – Tensu has been declared by Prohibition, can a Fire Formation – Tensu be Set from the Deck by the effect of Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Hawk?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13582&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Evilswarm Thunderbird has been declared by Prohibition. If an Evilswarm Thunderbird that was already on the field beforehand activates its effect and banishes itself, will it be returned during the next Standby Phase? Also, while an Evilswarm Thunderbird is currently banished by its own effect, if Prohibition is activated declaring Evilswarm Thunderbird, will it be returned during the next Standby Phase?
A: In both cases, it is impossible for Evilswarm Thunderbird to be returned to the field, so it is sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13583&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Necro Gardna has been declared by Prohibition, can a Necro Gardna in the Graveyard activate its effect?
A: No, it cannot. It also does not matter if that Necro Gardna was on the field when Prohibition was activated or already in the Graveyard. However, if the effect of Necro Gardna is activated during the Main Phase, and then afterward Prohibition is activated, the effect of that Necro Gardna will still negate 1 attack that turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7843&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Iron Core of Koa’ki Meiru has been declared by Prohibition, can it activate its effect while in the Graveyard?
A: No, it cannot be activated. It also does not matter if that Iron Core of Koa’ki Meiru was on the field when Prohibition was activated or already in the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10109&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Gladiator Beast Bestiari was declared to activate the effect of Psi-Blocker while Gladiator Beast Bestiari was already on the field, can that Gladiator Beast Bestiari be shuffled into the Deck along with another “Gladiator Beast” monster to Special Summon Gladiator Beast Gyzarus from the Extra Deck?
A: Shuffling Gladiator Beast Bestiari into the Deck to Special Summon Gladiator Beast Gyzarus from the Extra Deck is considered using that Gladiator Beast Bestiari. Therefore, if Gladiator Beast Bestiari was declared to activate the effect of Psi-Blocker, it cannot be shuffled into the Deck to Special Summon Gladiator Beast Gyzarus.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13591&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster on the field whose name was declared to activate the effect of Psi-Blocker be used as a Synchro Material monster for a Synchro Summon?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13589&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster on the field whose name was declared to activate the effect of Psi-Blocker be used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13588&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Ritual or Fusion Monster’s name was declared by Prohibition or Psi-Blocker, can that Ritual or Fusion Monster be Ritual or Fusion Summoned? Furthermore, if a monster’s name has been declared by Prohibition or Psi-Blocker, can that monster be used as Fusion Material for a Fusion Summon? Can it be sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Future Fusion?
A: A declared Ritual or Fusion Monster cannot be Ritual or Fusion Summoned. A declared monster cannot be used as Fusion Material for a Fusion Summon. However, a declared monster can still be sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Future Fusion.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12162&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster affected by Forbidden Lance still be equipped with Equip Spell Cards?
A: Yes, it can be equipped, but the effects of that Equip Spell Card will not affect it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13596&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Qliphort Genome is equipped with Saqliphort, if that monster is affected by Forbidden Lance, will the effects of Saqliphort apply?
A: Since Qliphort Genome is no longer affected by the effects of Spell Cards, it is not affected by the effect of Saqliphort which gives it 300 ATK and prevents it from being destroyed by battle. (Thus, during the turn Forbidden Lance applies, the equipped Qliphort Genome can be destroyed by battle.) Also, Qliphort Genome is unaffected by the effect that allows you to treat it as 2 Tributes for the Tribute Summon of a “Qliphort” monster. (Thus, during the turn Forbidden Lance applies, the equipped Qliphort Genome is only treated as 1 Tribute.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13593&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If an opponent’s Qliphort Archive attacks, can the first effect of Rainbow Kuriboh be activated?
A: Yes, it can. Rainbow Kuriboh will be equipped to Qliphort Archive as usual. At this point, it becomes an Equip Spell Card and its effect that prevents the equipped monster from attacking is treated as that of a Spell Card. Therefore, even if Qliphort Archive was Normal Summoned and is unaffected by the effects of monsters with a lower Level than it, Qliphort Archive still cannot attack.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13597&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the first effect of Rainbow Kuriboh, if the targeted monster is no longer on the field, how does the effect resolve?
A; In that case, it is not possible to equip Rainbow Kuriboh, so it is sent to the Graveyard. (It is treated as being sent directly from the hand to the Graveyard.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13595&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the effect of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon, if the targeted monster is now face-down, how will the effect resolve?
A: It resolves without effect. The ATK of that target cannot be halved, and Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon cannot gain any ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13599&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Q: When resolving the effect of Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon, if that Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon is now face-down, how will the effect resolve?
A: The ATK of the targeted monster is still halved, but Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon cannot gain any ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13598&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If DDD Hell Armageddon the Cruel End Overlord was Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted, and then that Call of the Haunted is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, will DDD Hell Armageddon the Cruel End Overlord be destroyed?
A: In this case, when Mystical Space Typhoon destroys Call of the Haunted, the effect of Call of the Haunted that destroys the Special Summoned monster is not one that targets it. Therefore, DDD Hell Armageddon the Cruel End Overlord is not destroyed. (If the effect that destroys does not target DDD Hell Armageddon the Cruel End Overlord at activation, such as Raigeki Break or Blaze Accelerator, it will not destroy it.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13600&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Artorigus, King of the Noble Knights is Xyz Summoned, and activates its effect by targeting Noble Arms – Arfeudutyr, Noble Arms – Caliburn, and Noble Arms of Destiny in the Graveyard. If D.D. Crow is chained, and banishes the targeted Noble Arms of Destiny, how does the effect of Artorigus, King of the Noble Knights resolve?
A: The remaining Equip Spell Cards, Noble Arms – Arfeudutyr and Noble Arms – Caliburn, will be equipped normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13603&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a player already controls Noble Arms – Gallatin, is it possible for them to activate the effect of Artorigus, King of the Noble Knights and target another Noble Arms – Gallatin in the Graveyard?
A: Each player can only control 1 Noble Arms – Gallatin. Therefore, if a player already controls a Noble Arms – Gallatin, they cannot target another in the Graveyard with the effect of Artorigus, King of the Noble Knights.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13602&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Macro Cosmos is active, can either effect of Ignoble Knight of Black Laundsallyn be activated?
A: While Macro Cosmos is active, the effect of Ignoble Knight of Black Laundsallyn which Special Summons it from the hand or Graveyard by sending 1 LIGHT Normal Monster you control to the Graveyard cannot be activated. Its effect that adds a “Noble Arms” card from the Deck to the hand by Tributing a “Noble Knight” monster can still be activated. (The Tributed monster is banished, but the effect resolves normally.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13610&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Does Noble Arms of Destiny prevent the equipped monster from being destroyed once per turn each by battle and by card effects, or one or the other?
A: The equipped monster is not destroyed by either battle or card effects once per turn, not once for each.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13605&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Safe Zone and Noble Arms of Destiny are both affecting the same Warrior-Type monster, and Heavy Storm is activated, will that monster be destroyed?
A: Safe Zone and Noble Arms of Destiny are destroyed at the same time, but the equipped monster remains on the field. In addition, the effect of Noble Arms of Destiny can be activated by targeting a Warrior-Type “Noble Knight” monster afterward.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13604&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Skill Drain is active, is Noble Knight Medraut treated as a Normal Monster or an Effect Monster?
A: While not equipped with a “Noble Arms” Equip Spell Card, the effect that treats Noble Knight Medraut as a Normal Monster is negated by Skill Drain, so it becomes an Effect Monster with negated effects. If a “Noble Arms” Equip Spell Card is equipped to Noble Knight Medraut while Skill Drain is active, it gains its “●” effects, but they are negated. Furthermore, if Skill Drain leaves the field, the “●” effects reapply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13606&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After resolving the second effect of Elemental HERO Blazeman, if Skill Drain is activated, will Elemental HERO Blazeman retain the sent monster’s Attribute, ATK, and DEF?
A: If Skill Drain is activated after the effect of Elemental HERO Blazeman has resolves, Skill Drain does not remove the gained Attribute, ATK, or DEF, and they continue to apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13594&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Thunder King Rai-Oh is on the field, can Mermail Abyssteus still be Special Summoned by its own effect?
A: Yes, it can. In this case, the effect that adds a Level 4 or lower “Mermail” monster from the Deck to the hand also activates, but it resolves without effect if Thunder King Rai-Oh is on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13608&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Thunder King Rai-Oh is on the field, can the effect of Evoltile Elginero be activated?
A: Yes, it can. It will resolve by drawing a card, but you cannot shuffle a Dinosaur-Type monster in your hand into the Deck or add 1 “Evoltile” monster from your Deck to your hand if Thunder King Rai-Oh is on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13614&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If there is 1 Mecha Phantom Beast Turtletracer on the field, and 2 Mecha Phantom Beast Tokens, will each Token not be destroyed by battle once per turn?
A: No, the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Turtletracer only applies once per turn, not once per Mecha Phantom Beast Token each turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13607&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Macro Cosmos is active, can Lightray Grepher Special Summon itself by discarding 1 Level 5 or higher LIGHT monster? Also, can the effect of Lightray Grepher that banishes a LIGHT monster from the Deck be activated by discarding a LIGHT monster?
A: While Macro Cosmos is active, Lightray Grepher can Special Summon itself by discarding 1 Level 5 or higher LIGHT monster, but the discard monster is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Also, while Macro Cosmos is active, the effect of Lightray Grepher that banishes a LIGHT monster from the Deck by discarding a LIGHT monster can be activated, but the discarded monster is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13613&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Prophecy Destroyer is activated, but it no longer exists in the Graveyard when its effect resolves, is it still Special Summoned?
A: No, it is not.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13601&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons