Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 09/12/21 Ruling Update

Some mostly meta-relevant scenarios, reversals, and a few rulings that still needed updating after the April 2020 revisions.

 

Q: I activate the effect of Cyber Angel Natasha in my Graveyard, by banishing Cyber Angel Benten as the cost, and targeting a Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke my opponent controls. By resolving that effect, I gain control of Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke. In that case, since Cyber Angel Benten was banished, can I activate the effect of Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke?
A: Even in that case, after resolving the effect of Cyber Angel Natasha, you can activate the effect of Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke that you gained control of.

Source

 

Q: When resolving the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroy Phoenix Enforcer that destroys a card each player controls, can I choose a monster that cannot be destroyed by card effects due to the effect of Destiny HERO – Dusktopia?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, that monster will not be destroyed, but the other card you choose will be destroyed.

Source

 

Q: If I chain the effect of Invoked Mechaba to the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban that activated in the hand or Graveyard, what happens to that Drytron Alpha Thuban?
A: If the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained to the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban, the activation of that effect is negated. Furthermore, if the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban was activated in the hand and it is still in the hand by the time the effect of Invoked Mechaba resolves, Drytron Alpha Thuban is banished. If the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban was activated in the Graveyard and it is still in the Graveyard by the time the effect of Invoked Mechaba resolves, Drytron Alpha Thuban is banished.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops is activated by Tributing itself. If the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained, will Dinowrestler Pankratops be banished?
A: If the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained to the effect of Dinowrestler Pankratops, the activation of that effect is negated. However, whether or not Dinowrestler Pankratops is banished depends on if it is still on the field when resolving the effect of Invoked Mechaba.
If Dinowrestler Pankratops Tributed itself to activate its effect and the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained, the activation of Dinowrestler Pankratops’ effect is negated, however Dinowrestler Pankratops is not banished because its effect activated on the field but it is no longer on the field.
If Dinowrestler Pankratops activated its effect by Tributing a different “Dinowrestler” monster and the effect of Invoked Mechaba is chained, the activation of Dinowrestler Pankratops’ effect is negated, and since Dinowrestler Pankratops is still on the field, it is banished.

Source

 

Q: Can I activate the effect of Invoked Elysium if my opponent does not control any face-up monsters?
A: Yes, you can. When resolving this effect, if your opponent does not control any face-up monsters with the same Attribute as the targeted monster, only the targeted monster is banished.

Source

 

Q: My Amazoness Swords Woman is equipped with Double-Edged Sword. If I attack directly with that Amazoness Swords Woman (with 3500 ATK), what is the battle damage?
A: In that case, the effect of Double-Edged Sword causes both players to take battle damage from this battle, and the effect of Amazoness Swords Woman causes your opponent to take any battle damage you would take instead. Therefore, your opponent takes 3500 damage twice. In that case, since you did not take any battle damage, the effect of Double-Edged Sword that sends it to the Graveyard does not activate.

Source

 

Q: If Gagaga Samurai can attack twice after applying its own effect, how many times can it attack if I activate Hi-Five the Sky?
A: After Gagaga Samurai attacks the first time, you can activate Hi-Five the Sky and target that Gagaga Samurai. In that case, Gagaga Samurai can only attack once more during that Battle Phase. (It cannot attack a total of 3 times.) When the second attack occurs, the effect of Hi-Five the Sky that prevents your opponent from activating effects until the end of the Damage Step will apply. Also, after Gagaga Samurai has made a second attack, you cannot target it with Hi-Five the Sky.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Darkflare Dragon, by sending 1 Dragon monster from my hand and 1 Dragon monster from my Deck to the Graveyard as cost. Is it possible to target either monster sent to the Graveyard as cost with this effect? If it is possible, if Eclipse Wyvern was one of the monsters sent to the Graveyard as cost, and is also targeted and banished by the effect, can either effect of Eclipse Wyvern be activated?
A: The effect of Darkflare Dragon cannot be activated unless there is already a card in either Graveyard that can be targeted. However, as long as there is already a card that could be targeted, you can activate the effect and target one of the monsters that was sent to the Graveyard as cost.
Also, if Eclipse Wyvern was sent to the Graveyard as cost, and is also targeted and banished by the effect as described above, the effect of Eclipse Wyvern that banishes a Level 7 or higher LIGHT or DARK Dragon monster from your Deck does not activate. (Since this is an effect that activates in the Graveyard, it will not activate if Eclipse Wyvern is not in the Graveyard at the time the effect would activate.) Also, since no monster was banished by this effect, the effect that adds the banished monster to your hand also cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: I cannot Special Summon other monsters during the turn I activate Parallel World Fusion, but if the activation of Parallel World Fusion is negated by Solemn Judgment, or if the effect is negated by Royal Oppression, can I still Special Summon that turn?
A: You can perform other Special Summons during the turn the activation of your Parallel World Fusion was negated by Solemn Judgment. However, you cannot perform other Special Summons during the turn the effect of your Parallel World Fusion was negated by Royal Oppression.

Source

 

Q: If a Normal Summon was negated this turn by the effects of Solemn Judgment or Forced Back, can I activate the effect of Red-Eyes Wyvern during the End Phase?
A: In that case, since you did not Normal Summon/Set that turn, you can activate the effect of Red-Eyes Wyvern.

Source

 

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.