Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 09/10/21 Ruling Update

Updates.

 

Q: If Magic Cylinder is chained to the effect of Light End Dragon, so that the attack is negated first when resolving the chain, does Light End Dragon still lose ATK/DEF?
A: In that case, Light End Dragon still loses 500 ATK/DEF, but the opponent’s monster is no longer considered a “monster this card is battling” since the attack was negated. The part of the effect that makes the opponent’s monster lose 1500 ATK/DEF until the end of the turn is not applied.

Source

This one is a reversal.

 

Q: An Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon that left the field after being successfully Xyz Summoned is face-up in my Extra Deck. When that Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is Pendulum Summoned, my opponent activates Horn of Heaven and negates the Summon, and Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is sent to the Graveyard. In this case, can Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with other card effects?
A: In this case, Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is no longer considered a monster that was properly Special Summoned, so it cannot be Special Summoned by other card effects (such as Monster Reborn).

Source

 

Q: I activated the effect of Destiny HERO – Destroy Phoenix Enforcer that Special Summons a “Destiny HERO” monster from the Graveyard during the Standby Phase of the next turn. During that Standby Phase, when Special Summoning a “Destiny HERO” monster from the Graveyard, can the Special Summon be negated by Solemn Judgment or Black Horn of Heaven?
A: You cannot activate Solemn Judgment or Black Horn of Heaven when this Special Summon occurs. The effects of Solemn Judgment and Black Horn of Heaven that negate Special Summons cannot be activated when a Special Summon occurs as a result of an activated effect. This is true whether the Special Summon occurs when resolving the Chain Link created by an activated effect, such as D – Fusion, or if a Special Summon occurs at a later time after after the activated effect resolves, such as Destiny HERO – Destroy Phoenix Enforcer.

Source

This ruling is not meant to cover cards that perform a Summon with the text “immediately after this effect resolves”, such as I:P Masquerena or Formula Synchron. They aren’t really performing a Summon themselves; they’re just letting you perform a standard Synchro Summon, Link Summon, etc. after resolving their Chain Link. You can still use Black Horn of Heaven there.

 

Q: Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster was Special Summoned, and its effect that prevents “Destiny HERO” monsters I control from being destroyed and prevents me from taking battle damage is applying. If that Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster leaves the field, will the effect continue to apply?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster continues applying. Furthermore, the part of the effect that prevents you from taking battle damage is only applied when “Destiny HERO” monsters battle. If this effect is applying, your monsters that are not “Destiny HERO” monsters can be destroyed normally, and you will take battle damage from battles that do not involve your “Destiny HERO” monsters.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Dragonmaid Downtime, what happens if my targeted monster is no longer on the field when the effect resolves?
A: If the first “●” effect of Dragonmaid Downtime was activated, since the targeted monster cannot be returned to the hand, you also cannot add a “Dragonmaid” card from your Deck to your hand. If the second “●” effect of Dragonmaid Downtime was activated, since the targeted monster cannot be returned to the hand, you also cannot return a Spell/Trap your opponent controls to the hand.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the first effect of Dragonmaid Tidying, what happens if my targeted monster is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, or if the opponent’s targeted card is no longer on the field or in the Graveyard?
A: Even in that case, the effect is still applied to the remaining targeted card.

Source

 

Q: During the turn I activated the effect of Fallen of Albaz, can I activate the effect of a Albion the Shrouded Dragon in my Graveyard, which is treated as Fallen of Albaz? Furthermore, during the turn I activated the effect of an Albion the Shrouded Dragon in my Graveyard treated as Fallen of Albaz, can I activate the effect of Fallen of Albaz?
A: The effects can be activated in either case.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effects of Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite or Electromagnetic Turtle, which can only be used once per Duel, but the activation is negated by a card such as Divine Wrath, can I activate those effects again during this Duel?
A: Even in this case, since the effect has been used, you cannot activate the “once per Duel” effect again.

Source

 

Q: Number C39: Utopia Ray is Xyz Summoned using a Number 39: Utopia that has Astral Kuriboh as an Xyz Material. In this case, does it gain the effect from Astral Kuriboh?
A: In that case, Number C39: Utopia Ray does not gain the effect “● This card cannot be destroyed by battle or your opponent’s card effects.” The effect is only gained if Astral Kuriboh is used as an Xyz Material on the field. In the above scenario, Number C39: Utopia Ray was not Xyz Summoned using Astral Kuriboh on the field as an Xyz Material, so it does not gain the effect.

Source

 

Q: If I have no available Main Monster Zones, can I activate the effect of Number F0: Utopic Draco Future?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Number F0: Utopic Draco Future can be activated, and the activation of the opponent’s monster effect is negated. However, if you do not have an available Main Monster Zone at this time, you cannot gain control of that opponent’s monster, and it will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: Flundereeze × Robina is Normal Summoned while Flundereeze × Eaglen is banished. In that case, can I activate the effect of Flundereeze × Robina that adds a Level 4 or lower Winged Beast monster from my Deck to my hand, as well as the effect of Flundereeze × Eaglen that adds it to my hand? Also, can my opponent activate Divine Wrath to negate the activation of either effect?
A: In that case, since the effects of Flundereeze × Robina and Flundereeze × Eaglen meet their activation requirements at the same time, their effects can be activated in a Chain in any order. If you activate both effects in a Chain, your opponent can only activate Divine Wrath by chaining to the Chain Link 2 monster effect.

Source

 

Q: If Ecole de Zone is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone and I Normal Summon a Flundereeze × Eaglen on my turn, how is each effect applied?
A: The effect of Ecole de Zone and the effect of Flundereeze × Eaglen meet their activation requirements at the same time, so these effects will activate in a Chain. However, since mandatory effects will create a Chain Link before optional effects, the effect of Ecole de Zone will be Chain Link 1 and the effect of Flundereeze × Eaglen will be Chain Link 2. Also, if you activate the effect of Flundereeze × Eaglen, you cannot Special Summon monsters during the same turn. The effect of Flundereeze × Eaglen will resolve at Chain Link 2 normally, but when the effect of Ecole de Zone resolves at Chain Link 1, you cannot Special Summon a monster, so the effect only destroys Flundereeze × Eaglen and finishes resolving. (You do not Special Summon a Mask Token.)

Source

 

Q: My opponent performs a Tribute Summon that requires 2 Tributes and applies the effect of Flundereeze and the Unknown Wind, sending a card I control to the Graveyard for the Tribute Summon. If they send a Shaddoll Falco or Set Waking the Dragon I control to the Graveyard, can I activate their effects?
A: Even in this case, since Shaddoll Falco or Waking the Dragon were sent to the Graveyard by the effect of your opponent’s Spell Card, you can activate their effects.

Source

 

Q: A Plaguespreader Zombie that was Special Summoned by its own effect is used as material to Synchro Summon Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke. At this time, Plaguespreader Zombie is banished due to its own effect, but will this trigger the effect of Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke that can be activated if a card is banished?
A: In this case, when Plaguespreader Zombie is banished, Cheng Ying, the Swordsoul Grand Duke does not yet exist on the field, so its effect cannot be activated. When performing a Synchro Summon, the materials leave the field first, then the Synchro Monster is Special Summoned. (These actions are not performed simultaneously.)

Source

 

Q: My opponent chains Back to the Front to the activation of my Exorsister Vadis. As a result, a monster is first Special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of Return to the Front, then Exorsister Elise and Exorsister Stella are Special Summoned from the Deck by the effect of Exorsister Vadis. In this case, since my opponent Special Summoned a monster from the Graveyard, can I activate the effects of Exorsister Elise or Exorsister Stella?
A: In that case, since cards did not leave the Graveyard because of your opponent while Exorsister Elise or Exorsister Stella were in the Monster Zone, their effects cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: I activate Rite of Aramesia, and after Special Summoning a Brave Token, I also place Journey of Destiny face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this case, since a Brave Token was Special Summoned, can I activate the effect of Journey of Destiny that adds to my hand or equips an Equip Spell from my Deck?
A: In that case, since the Brave Token was not Special Summoned while Journey of Destiny was in the Spell & Trap Zone, the effect of Journey of Destiny cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: The only monster I control is a Brave Token equipped with Starlit Papillon. In that case, do my opponent’s monsters lose ATK from the effect of Starlit Papillon?
A: The Brave Token itself is not a monster with the Token name “Brave Token” specifically listed in its text, so your opponent’s monsters will not lose ATK. Monsters that specifically list the Token name “Brave Token” are those that have “Brave Token” written in their card text.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.