[OCG] 08/31/17 Rulings

Still using old names for now.

08/31/17 Rulings

Q: When Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory attacks an opponent’s Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect, will the effect of Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory return Embodiment of Apophis to the Spell & Trap Zone? How will the battle proceed?
A: The effect of Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory that negates the effects of monsters it battles only negates monster effects. Since the effect of Embodiment of Apophis Special Summons it as a Normal Monster Card, there are no effects to negate and it does not return to the Spell & Trap Zone. Moreover, Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory will gain 1600 ATK as part of its effect, and the battle proceeds normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12837&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Cyber Dragon, Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten, and Mecha Phantom Beast O-Lion are face-up on my field, and I activated the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten that Special Summons a Mecha Phantom Beast Token this turn. During the same turn, can I Special Summon a Chimeratech Fortress Dragon from the Extra Deck by its own procedure?
A: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Fortress Dragon, the Cyber Dragon and other Machine-Type monsters are sent to the Graveyard as Fusion Materials, but the Special Summon is not a Fusion Summon. Therefore, even if you activated the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten this turn, you can Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11647&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten that Special Summons a Mecha Phantom Beast Token this turn. During the same turn, can I activate Necroid Synchro?
A: The Special Summon performed by the effect of Necroid Synchro is treated as a Synchro Summon, but the monsters banished from your Graveyard are not considered Synchro Materials for that Summon. Therefore, even if you activated the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten this turn, you can activate Necroid Synchro. (It is not necessary to banish “Mecha Phantom Beast” monsters from your Graveyard with its effect.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11648&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake, targeting a face-up Linkslayer on my field. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Linkslayer to my hand, how does the effect of Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake resolve?
A: Even if a monster targeted with the effect of Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake is no longer on the field when that effect resolves, Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake is Special Summoned, but its Level does not change. Even in this case, Destrudo, Dread of the Dead Drake still returns to the bottom of the Deck when it leaves the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12585&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Akashic Magician is in the Extra Monster Zone, and a co-linked Firewall Dragon is in the Main Monster Zone beneath it. If I activate the effect of Akashic Magician by declaring Rival Arrival, what happens if there are 2 copies of Rival Arrival among the 4 excavated cards?
A: In this scenario, if you excavate more than 1 copy of the declared card when resolving the effect of Akashic Magician, all copies are added to your hand while the remaining cards are sent to the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12867&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are 5 monsters on my opponent’s field and no vacant Main Monster Zones, can I activate the effect of Dragonoid Generator?
A: Even if your opponent has no vacant Main Monster Zones, you can activate the effect of Dragonoid Generator. If your opponent has no vacant Main Monster Zones during the End Phase of that turn, your opponent will not Special Summon a Dragonoid Token. (If your opponent does have a vacant Main Monster Zone by the time you reach the End Phase, they will Special Summon the Dragonoid Token normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7284&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The only card in my Spell & Trap Zone is a Set Altergeist Protocol. When my opponent declares an attack with Cyberse Wizard, if I activate my Set Altergeist Protocol, can I chain the effect of Altergeist Quntiery in my hand?
A: In this scenario, if Altergeist Protocol is activated at the time the attack is declared, there will be a face-up “Altergeist” card on your field, so you can chain the effect of Altergeist Quntiery.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12582&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Gouki Destroy Ogre, my opponent Special Summons an Archlord Kristya from their Graveyard. In this case, how does the rest of the effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Gouki Destroy Ogre, if your opponent Special Summons Archlord Kristya, its effect that prevents players from Special Summoning is applied, so you cannot Special Summon “Gouki” monsters from your Graveyard. (Even in this case, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters other than “Gouki” monsters for the rest of the turn is applied normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13153&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent’s Trickstar Lilybell attacks directly using its own effect, can I activate the effect of Linkuriboh that makes its ATK become 0?
A: Even if an opponent’s monster attacks directly, such as with its own effect, you can activate the effect of Linkuriboh that makes its ATK become 0.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12573&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Linkuriboh is the only monster on my field. If my opponent’s monster declares an attack on Linkuriboh and I activate its effect that makes the opponent’s monsters ATK become 0, what happens to the attack?
A: In this scenario, since Linkuriboh is Tributed to activate its effect, a replay occurs. Whether your opponent chooses to cancel the attack or attack you directly, the ATK of your opponent’s monster will be 0, so you take no damage if your opponent continues the attack.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12010&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have Shadow Six Samurai – Rihan in my Extra Monster Zone, and Shadow Six Samurai – Fuhma, Shadow Six Samurai – Genba, Shadow Six Samurai – Hatsume, Shadow Six Samurai – Douji, and Shadow Six Samurai – Kizaru in my Main Monster Zones, can I activate Shadow Art of the Six Samurai?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate Shadow Art of the Six Samurai. However, since Shadow Art of the Six Samurai must Special Summon the targeted banished monster to a Main Monster Zone, you must send a monster from your Main Monster Zone to the Graveyard as the cost when activating it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10095&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate Shadow Art of the Six Samurai by sending a Copy Knight treated as a monster by its own effect to the Graveyard?
A: You can send Copy Knight treated as a monster to the Graveyard when activating Shadow Art of the Six Samurai, and the effect is applied normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7268&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Magibullet Shooter Caspar is face-up in my Monster Zone, and I activated Magibullet Devil’s Deal in the same column as it. If I activate the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar that adds a “Magibullet” card from my Deck to my hand, but my opponent chains Phoenix Wing Wind Blast and returns Magibullet Devil’s Deal to the top of the Deck, how does the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar resolve?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar is activated after activating Magibullet Devil’s Deal, even if that Magibullet Devil’s Deal is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, it is applied normally and you add a “Magibullet” card from your Deck to your hand other than Magibullet Devil’s Deal.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11552&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Dinomight Knight, the True Dracofighter, they activate a True King’s Return in the Spell & Trap Zone that is in the same column as my Magibullet Shooter Caspar. At this time, can I activate the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar that adds a “Magibullet” card from my Deck to my hand?
A: When a “True Draco” or “True King” Continuous Trap Card is activated using the effect of Dinomight Knight, the True Dracofighter, the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9214&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Raigeki Break in the same column as my face-up Magibullet Shooter The Kid, and destroys it. In this case, can I activate the effect of Magibullet Shooter The Kid?
A: In this scenario, although Raigeki Break was activated in the column Magibullet Shooter The Kid was in, since Magibullet Shooter The Kid was destroyed by the effect, you cannot activate its effect afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9663&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Creature Swap in a Spell & Trap Zone that is in a different column as my opponent’s face-up Magibullet Shooter Wild. When it resolves, I gain control of Magibullet Shooter Wild and place it in my Monster Zone in the same column as Creature Swap. Afterward, can I activate the effect of Magibullet Shooter Wild?
A: In this scenario, Creature Swap was activated in a different column than Magibullet Shooter Wild, so even if that Magibullet Shooter Wild moves to the same column once you gain control of it, you cannot activate its effect afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9213&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Creature Swap in a Spell & Trap Zone that is in the same column as my opponent’s face-up Magibullet Shooter Wild. When it resolves, I gain control of Magibullet Shooter Wild and place it in my Monster Zone in a different column as Creature Swap. Afterward, can I activate the effect of Magibullet Shooter Wild?
A: In this scenario, Creature Swap was activated in the column than Magibullet Shooter Wild, but if that Magibullet Shooter Wild moves to a different column once you gain control of it, you cannot activate its effect afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11752&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my turn, I activate the effect of The Grand Jupiter and equip an opponent’s Magibullet Fiend Zamiel to it. During my opponent’s following turn, I activate Magibullet Devil’s Deal, and during the End Phase, I activate the effect of The Grand Jupiter that Special Summons the equipped Magibullet Fiend Zamiel. In this case, can I then activate the effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel?
A: In this scenario, you did not activate any “Magibullet” Spell/Trap Cards while Magibullet Fiend Zamiel was face-up in your Monster Zone, so you cannot activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11320&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my Battle Phase, my opponent activates Magibullet Never-Endorphin, targeting their face-up Magibullet Shooter Doctor. If I activate Rebellion and take control of that Magibullet Shooter Doctor, can I attack my opponent directly with it?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of your opponent’s Magibullet Never-Endorphin was applied to Magibullet Shooter Doctor, even if you gained control of it during the Battle Phase, it cannot attack directly.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6497&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Rainbow Weathery Arciel is in my Extra Monster Zone, and Snow Weathery Ciel is in a Main Monster Zone that it points to. If my opponent activates a card or effect in the Graveyard, such as the effect of Sangan, Z-ONE, or Dark Coffin, can the effect gained by Snow Weathery Ciel be chained to negate the activation?
A: Even if your opponent activates a monster effect or the effect of a Spell/Trap Card from the Graveyard, the effect of a monster gained from Rainbow Weathery Arciel can be chained. (The activation of the opponent’s effect will be negated, but a card in the Graveyard cannot be destroyed.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7480&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Cloudy Weathery Sleet has gained the “●” effect from Cloudy Weathery Pattern during the first turn of the Duel, can I activate that effect?
A: You can activate the effect gained from Cloudy Weathery Pattern as long as there is another face-up monster on the field to target. The effect can be activated even during the Main Phase 1 of the Duel’s first turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8653&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Cloudy Weathery Sleet has gained the “●” effect from Cloudy Weathery Pattern. In this situation, if I activate the gained effect during my turn, can I target a monster on my opponent’s field?
A: Even if you activate the gained “●” effect from Cloudy Weathery Pattern during your own turn, you can target an opponent’s monster. In that case, the targeted monster’s ATK becomes half its current amount as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12785&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Cloudy Weathery Sleet has gained the “●” effect from Cloudy Weathery Pattern, and activates it. If my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys Cloudy Weathery Pattern, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Cloudy Weathery Sleet was already activated, it is applied normally even though Cloudy Weathery Pattern itself has been destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9664&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a “Weathery” monster gains the effect of Sunny Weathery Pattern, can that effect be activated targeting a face-down Thunder Weathery Turmer I control?
A: When activating the effect gained from Sunny Weathery Pattern, a face-down Defense Position monster can be targeted. In this scenario, since the targeted monster that is Tributed is Thunder Weathery Turmer, the monster you Special Summon from your hand or Graveyard must be a “Weathery” monster other than Thunder Weathery Turmer.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13885&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a “Weathery” monster gains the effect of Sunny Weathery Pattern, and I activate that effect targeting a Thunder Weathery Turmer treated as Elemental HERO Sparkman due to the effect of Hero Mask, what happens?
A: As in this scenario, if you target a monster whose name is treated as something other than its original name, you can Special Summon a “Weathery” monster whose name is different than what the Tributed monster was treated as. Since Thunder Weathery Turmer was treated as Elemental HERO Sparkman, you can Special Summon a copy of Thunder Weathery Turmer from your hand or Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11928&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of a “Weathery” monster gained from Thunder Weathery Pattern be activated when it battles an opponent’s Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster?
A: Even if your “Weathery” monster that gained the effect from Thunder Weathery Pattern battles an opponent’s Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster, you can activate that effect at the start of the Damage Step. In that case, the opponent’s monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10473&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of a “Weathery” monster gained from Thunder Weathery Pattern be activated when it battles a Spell/Trap Card that was Special Summoned by the effect of Magical Hats?
A: Even if your “Weathery” monster that gained the effect from Thunder Weathery Pattern battles an opponent’s Spell/Trap Card that was Special Summoned with Magical Hats, you can activate that effect at the start of the Damage Step. In that case, that Spell/Trap Card returns to the owner’s hand normally. (As a result, it is not destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11715&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Protector of the Sanctuary is face-up on my field. In this scenario, when my opponent adds a Level 4 or lower Warrior-Type monster from their Deck to their hand by the effect of Reinforcement of the Army, can I activate the effect of a “Weathery” monster gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern?
A: In this scenario, your opponent is unable to draw cards due to the effect of your Protector of the Sanctuary, so if your opponent adds a monster to their hand by the effect of Reinforcement of the Army, you cannot activate the effect of a “Weathery” monster gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13423&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Mystical Space Typhoon, my opponent chains Waterfall of Dragon Souls, selecting the effect that adds a Wyrm-Type monster from their Deck to their hand. After this Chain resolves, can I activate the effect of a “Weathery” monster that it gains from Aurora Weathery Pattern?
A: As in this scenario, if a player adds a card from their Deck to their hand with an effect activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, the effect gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12256&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.