[OCG] 08/28/15 Rulings

Bring your Kuriboh to work day.


08/28/15 Rulings

Q: If Traptrix Rafflesia is Xyz Summoned while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, how are each of its effects applied?
A: If Traptrix Rafflesia is Xyz Summoned while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, the effect that makes it unaffected by Trap effects while it has Xyz Material is negated, the effect that prevents your “Traptrix” monsters from being destroyed or targeted by your opponent’s cards is negated, and the effect that copies a “Hole” Normal Trap Card’s effect will also be negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8343&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Tellarknight Ptolemaeus which attaches a “Stellarknight” card from the Extra Deck to it as Xyz Material is activated, but Enemy Controller is chained to it so that Tellarknight Ptolemaeus switches control to the opponent, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Tellarknight Ptolemaeus, even if control has been switched, the effect is applied normally. (The player who activated the effect of Tellarknight Ptolemaeus will attach a “Stellarknight” monster to it as Xyz Material from their Extra Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11519&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Satellarknight Skybridge is activated, but then Forbidden Lance is chained so that the targeted monster becomes unaffected by Spell effects, how does Satellarknight Skybridge resolve?
A: When resolving Satellarknight Skybridge, even if the targeted monster has become unaffected by Spell effects due to Forbidden Lance, the effect that Special Summons a “tellarknight” monster with a different name from the Deck applies normally. Although the part of the effect that returns the targeted monster to the Deck is not applied, you still cannot Special Summon monsters other than “tellarknight” monsters while that Special Summoned monster is face-up on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12484&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Stellarknight Triverr with Xyz Material is sent to the Graveyard to activate Stellarnova Alpha, after the chain finishes resolving, can the last effect of Stellarknight Triverr be activated?
A: In this scenario, even if Stellarknight Triverr is sent to the Graveyard for the cost to activate Stellarnova Alpha, its effect can be activated after the current chain resolves.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12587&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the first turn of the Duel, can the effect of Revolving Switchyard that Special Summons a Level 4 EARTH Machine-Type monster from the Deck be activated?
A: Even in this scenario, that effect of Revolving Switchyard can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12827&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After the effect of Revolving Switchyard that Special Summons a Level 4 EARTH Machine-Type monster from the Deck has been applied, if Revolving Switchyard is destroyed later in the turn by Mystical Space Typhoon, will my opponent still take no battle damage this turn?
A: During the turn the effect of Revolving Switchyard was already applied, if Revolving Switchyard is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, the effect that makes your opponent take no battle damage for the rest of this turn is still applied. Therefore, your opponent does not take any battle damage this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12927&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are any Token monsters on my opponent’s side of the field, can I activate Swords of Concealing Light?
A: Even if there are Token monsters on your opponent’s side of the field, you can activate Swords of Concealing Light. In that case, when its effect resolves, the Tokens do not change their battle positions. (For example, if a Token was in Attack Position, it remains in Attack Position.) Note that the effect that prevents your opponent’s monsters from changing their battle positions is still applied, and Swords of Concealing Light is still destroyed during the second Standby Phase after being activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12435&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Nekroz of Sophia be Special Summoned by the effect of Zefrasaber, Swordsman of the Nekroz?
A: If you activate the effect of Zefrasaber, Swordsman of the Nekroz, you can Ritual Summon Nekroz of Sophia. Since Nekroz of Sophia cannot be Special Summoned, except by Ritual Summoning it from your hand using 3 monsters on your side of the field with different Types, even if you Summon it using the effect of Zefrasaber, Swordsman of the Nekroz, you must meet these requirements.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11287&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Due to the effect of Exchange, I have a card in my hand that belongs to my opponent. During my Standby Phase, if I activate the effect of Card Trader, can I return my opponent’s card to the Deck?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, the card is returned to your opponent’s Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12653&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the activation of Urgent Ritual Art be negated by Solemn Warning?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7942&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Theban Nightmare is the only card on my side of the field, and Kuriboh is the only card in my hand. If my opponent’s monster attacks Theban Nightmare, and during damage calculation I activate the effect of Kuriboh, will the effect of Theban Nightmare then be applied?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Theban Nightmare is applied immediately, and damage calculation is performed after it has gained 1500 ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12147&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Winged Kuriboh LV9 is face-up on my opponent’s side of the field. In this scenario, I Special Summon Odd-Eyes Meteorburst Dragon and use its effect to Special Summon a Mandragon from my Pendulum Zone. Afterward, if Mandragon is destroyed by my opponent’s Raigeki Break while it is in the Monster Zone, what happens to it?
A: In this scenario, if Mandragon was destroyed while in your Monster Zone, it is placed face-up in the Extra Deck. (The effect of Winged Kuriboh LV9 does not apply.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6996&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Winged Kuriboh LV9 is face-up on my opponent’s side of the field. If I activate Dragong as a Spell Card in my Pendulum Zone, and then afterward it is destroyed by my opponent’s Dust Tornado, what happens to it?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Winged Kuriboh LV9 is applying, Dragong is banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6904&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Superheavy Samurai Nusu-10 destroys my opponent’s face-up Eternal Soul, will the effect of Eternal Soul that destroys all monsters on my opponent’s side of the field activate?
A: If Eternal Soul is destroyed by the effect of Superheavy Samurai Nusu-10, as long as the effect that Sets the destroyed card to your side of the field is applied, the effect of Eternal Soul will not activate. Note that if you do not choose to Set Eternal Soul to your side of the field, its effect that destroys your opponent’s monsters will activate normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11650&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Treacherous Trap Hole by targeting my opponent’s Treeborn Frog and Swap Frog. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device, returning Swap Frog to the hand, will the effect of Treacherous Trap Hole still resolve?
A: When resolving Treacherous Trap Hole, even if one of the targeted monsters is no longer on the field, the other monster is still destroyed normally. (In this scenario, Treeborn Frog is destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9276&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster be targeted with Generation Shift?
A: The effect of Generation Shift must be able to add a monster to your hand, so you must have a monster in your Main Deck with the same name as the targeted monster to activate it. Therefore, normally, you cannot activate Generation Shift by targeting a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster. However, since Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin is also always treated as Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, and Neo-Spacian Twinkle Moss is also always treated as Neo-Spacian Glow Moss, you can target them if you have a monster with the same name in your Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12622&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can King of the Skull Servants be Special Summoned by the effect of Skull Conductor?
A: King of the Skull Servants cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Skull Conductor.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10086&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Gemini monster with 2000 or more ATK such as Gigaplant is Special Summoned by the effect of Monster Reborn, can Void Trap Hole be activated? Also, if a Gemini monster with 2000 or more ATK such as Gigaplant is Special Summoned by the effect of Blazewing Butterfly, can Void Trap Hole be activated?
A: When a Gemini monster with 2000 or more ATK such as Gigaplant is Special Summoned, even if it is treated as an Effect Monster after being Special Summoned by Blazewing Butterfly, or treated as a Normal Monster after being Special Summoned by Monster Reborn, Void Trap Hole can be activated. (In both cases, the Gemini monster’s effects are negated, and it is destroyed.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6903&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Tiras, Keeper of Genesis that activates at the end of the Battle Phase is activated, but Space Cyclone is chained so that Tiras, Keeper of Genesis no longer has Xyz Materials, will the targeted card be destroyed?
A: In this situation, if Tiras, Keeper of Genesis no longer has Xyz Materials, its effects cannot be applied, so the targeted card is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6337&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Tiras, Keeper of Genesis without Xyz Material battles. At the end of the Battle Phase, when its effect that destroys 1 card on the field is activated, and Book of Moon is chained so that Tiras, Keeper of Genesis is changed to face-down Defense Position, will the targeted card be destroyed?
A: In this situation, Tiras, Keeper of Genesis is still treated as having no Xyz Materials, so the targeted card is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6897&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons