OCG 08/28/14 Rulings

08/28/14

Assorted Rulings:

Q: If the opponent chains Call of the Haunted to your D.D. Encounter, so that they no longer have an empty Monster Zone when resolving D.D. Encounter, how does it resolve?
A: In this case, only the player who is able to Special Summon will do so (you, in this example). Note that if either player does not have any available Monster Zones to begin with, D.D. Encounter cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13525&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Dark Magician exists face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone as an Equip Card, due to the effect of Relinquished, etc., can I activate Dark Magic Attack?
A: If a Dark Magician exists face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone as an Equip Card, due to the effect of Relinquished, etc., you can activate Dark Magic Attack, even if Dark Magician does not exist in your Monster Zone.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13541&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Card of Sanctity is activated, does it banish itself?
A: Card of Sanctity does not banish itself as part of its cost. All cards in your hand and side of the field other than Card of Sanctity will be banished.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13544&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If you control an Imperial Iron Wall, can you activate Card of Sanctity?
A: No, you cannot, since it is impossible to banish cards. (You cannot activate Card of Sanctity even by banishing Imperial Iron Wall.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13542&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Card of Sanctity be activated if I don’t have cards in either my hand or my side of the field?
A: Yes, Card of Sanctity can be activated even if you don’t have any cards in either your hand or your side of the field. For example, if you have 1 other card in your hand, but you control no cards, you can activate Card of Sanctity from your hand. Or, if Card of Sanctity is Set and you control 1 other card, but have 0 cards in your hand, you can activate the Set Card of Sanctity. You cannot activate Card of Sanctity if you do not have at least 1 other card in your hand/field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13543&keyword=&tag=0

(Note: The above ruling is a reversal for the OCG.)

Q: If 2 or more monsters are Special Summoned at the same time, including a Pendulum Monster, how would an activated Darkfall resolve?
A: Darkfall can be activated if the opponent Special Summons 2 monsters at the same time, including a Pendulum Monster(s), but the Pendulum Monster will be placed face-up in the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard. At that time, monsters with the same name in your opponent’s hand and Deck will not be sent to the Graveyard. However, if any non-Pendulum Monsters were Summoned, monsters with the same name as those are sent from the opponent’s hand and Deck to the Graveyard as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13534&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Stardust Spark Dragon has applied its effect on a monster Special Summoned by the effect of Qliphort Disk. If that monster is not destroyed during the End Phase as a result, will it be destroyed during the next End Phase?
A: In this case, the monster Special Summoned by Qliphort Disk will be destroyed during the following End Phase(s).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13531&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Stardust Spark Dragon has applied its effect on a Pendulum Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Rescue Rat. If that monster is not destroyed during the End Phase as a result, will it be destroyed during the next End Phase?
A: In this case, the monster Special Summoned by Rescue Rat will be destroyed during the following End Phase(s).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13528&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After 2 monsters were Special Summoned by the effect of Jiaotu, Darkness of the Yang Zing, if Imperial Iron Wall is activated, so that those monsters are not banished during the End Phase, will they still be banished during the next End Phase?
A: If those monsters are not banished during this End Phase, the effect to banish them will apply during the next End Phase(s).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13529&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Starlight Road be activated in response to the second effect of Superheavy Samurai Soul Big Bang?
A: Starlight Road can be activated in response to the second effect of Superheavy Samurai Soul Big Bang. (The effect of Superheavy Samurai Soul Big Bang will be negated, but Starlight Road will not Special Summon a Stardust Dragon.) Note that Starlight Road cannot be activated in this case if the second effect of Superheavy Samurai Soul Big Bang was activated during the Damage Step.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13532&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can you Normal Summon Apoqliphort Killer by Tributing an opponent’s “Qliphort” monster that is equipped with Saqliphort and was affected by Soul Exchange, and still treat it as 2 monsters for the Summon?
A: Yes, you can Normal Summon Apoqliphort Killer by Tributing an opponent’s “Qliphort” monster that is equipped with Saqliphort and was affected by Soul Exchange. In other words, you will only need to Tribute the equipped monster your opponent controls and 1 “Qliphort” monster you control.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13533&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If an opponent’s monster is unaffected by card effects, such as by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, and it declares a direct attack, is it possible to activate the effect of Construction Train Signal Red in my hand?
A: Yes, the effect of Construction Train Signal Red can be activated in this case. Construction Train Signal Red will be Special Summoned, however the attack target does not change, meaning a normal replay occurs instead of immediately proceeding to damage calculation. If the opponent’s monster re-selects Construction Train Signal Red as the attack target, the effect “This card cannot be destroyed by that battle.” is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13550&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Skill Drain is active when an opponent’s monster declares a direct attack. If I activate the effect of Construction Train Signal Red in my hand, how will it resolve?
A: The effect of Construction Train Signal Red is an effect that activates and resolves in the hand. Therefore, even Skill Drain is on the field, it will not be negated. All of the effects are applied normally. (It will be Special Summoned from your hand, it will become the new attack target, and damage calculation will be performed. Construction Train Signal Red will not be destroyed by that battle.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13549&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Number 80: Rhapsody in Berserk equips itself to an Xyz Monster using its own effect, what happens to its Xyz Materials?
A: Since Number 80: Rhapsody in Berserk becomes an Equip Spell Card, its Xyz Materials are sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13551&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Soul Charge was activated this turn, can I activate the first effect of DDD Caesar the Wave King during the same turn?
A: No, you cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13535&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Stellarknight Trihiver be targeted by the effect of Satellarknight Sirius?
A: Yes it can. In this case, Stellarknight Trihiver is returned to the Extra Deck, but you will still draw.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13530&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Three turns have passed since Blockman was Summoned. If Blockman is banished by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter and then returned to the field, does the turn count reset?
A: Yes, recount turns starting with the turn in which Blockman returned to the field. (Do not count the turns that passed before Blockman was banished.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13537&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Warrior Lady of the Wasteland was Special Summoned, then destroyed by battle and activates its effect, can the effect of El Shaddoll Shekhinaga be used to negate the activation?
A: The effect of El Shaddoll Shekhinaga can only be activated when a monster that was Special Summoned activates its effect on the field. Therefore, it cannot negate the effect of Warrior Lady of the Wasteland, which activates in the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13523&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I control Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight and Evilswarm Heliotrope. The opponent activates the effect of their Gauntlet Launcher, targeting Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight. Can I chain the effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight and target an opponent’s monster to have it become the new target for the effect of Gauntlet Launcher?
A: The effect of Gauntlet Launcher targets 1 monster the player’s opponent controls. Therefore, if your opponent’s Gauntlet Launcher activates its effect, only monsters you control are correct targets. If you activate the effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight in response to the effect of Gauntlet Launcher, you can only target Evilswarm Heliotrope with it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13548&keyword=&tag=0

Q: The opponent activates Raigeki Break, targeting my Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight. I chain its effect, targeting an Evilswarm Heliotrope. My further chains Compulsory Evacuation Device, targeting Evilswarm Heliotrope. How will the chain resolve?
A: At Chain Link 3, Compulsory Evacuation Device resolves and returns Evilswarm Heliotrope to the hand. At Chain Link 2, since the target of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight is no longer on the field, its effect is not applied. At Chain Link 1, Raigeki Break resolves and destroys Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13547&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Raigeki Break is activated, and the effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight is chained, targeting a monster the opponent controls. When is that monster destroyed?
A: The effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight only changes the target of the effect it is chained to to another correct target. In this scenario, the monster is destroyed when Raigeki Break resolves.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13545&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Scrap Dragon activates its effect, targeting 1 card on my side of the field and 1 card on the opponent’s side of the field, can the effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight be chained?
A: In this case, since more than 1 card is being targeted, the effect of Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13546&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After Magicians Unite was resolved this turn, if a new Spellcaster-Type monster is Summoned, can it attack during the same turn?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13540&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster targeted by Magicians Unite is no longer on the field when it resolves, because it was destroyed by a chained Raigeki Break, etc., how will Magicians Unite resolve?
A: The effect to make that monster have 3000 ATK does not apply, but Spellcaster-Type monsters still cannot attack that turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13539&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster targeted by Magicians Unite becomes unaffected by Spell effects because of a chained Forbidden Lance, how will Magicians Unite resolve?
A: In this case, the targeted monster will not have its ATK become 3000, but Spellcaster-Type monsters still cannot attack that turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13538&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While Silent Swordsman LV7 is on the field, Monster Reborn is activated. If Emergency Provisions is chained, sending that Monster Reborn to the Graveyard, will the effect of Monster Reborn be negated by Silent Swordsman LV7?
A: Even in this case, although Monster Reborn is no longer face-up on the field when it resolves, its effect is still one that activated on the field, so it is negated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13536&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If you send a Pendulum Monster to the Graveyard when resolving Jack in the Box, will the targeted monster lose ATK equal to the sent Pendulum Monster’s ATK/DEF?
A: The Pendulum Monster will be placed face-up in the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard, so the effect to make the targeted monster lose ATK is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13524&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If you send a monster to the Graveyard whose ATK/DEF is changed by a card effect when resolving Jack in the Box, how much ATK will the targeted monster lose?
A: You will be able to choose a monster whose ATK/DEF is changed by a card effect when resolving Jack in the Box, but the targeted monster will lose ATK equal to the printed ATK/DEF (whichever is higher) of the sent monster.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13527&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Naturia Sacred Tree Tribute a face-down monster for either of its effects?
A: Yes, you can activate each effect by Tributing a face-down monster.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13526&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster that is already able to attack directly be equipped with Fiendish Bamboo Sword? Furthermore, can the effect of Fiendish Bamboo Sword which would allow the equipped monster to attack directly still be activated?
A: A monster that is already able to attack directly can be equipped with Fiendish Bamboo Sword. However, you cannot activate the effect of Fiendish Bamboo Sword which would allow the equipped monster to attack directly.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13522&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons