[OCG] 08/23/2014 OCG rulings

Yeah, turns out there were more…

08/23/2014

Yu-Gi-Oh! Memories: Ceremonial Battle Edition:

Yu-Gi-Oh! Memories: Ceremonial Battle Edition: Black Illusion
•This effect does not target.
•This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•This card cannot be activated if you do not control any face-up DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters with 2000 ATK or more.
•This effect is only applied to face-up DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters with 2000 ATK or more you control when this effect resolves. (This effect is not applied to monsters that appear on the field after the resolution)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/card_search.action?ope=1&sess=1&pid=3315002&rp=99999

Assorted rulings:

Q: While the effect of Chain Energy is being applied, 2 monsters from the hand and 3 monsters from the Extra Deck are Pendulum Summoned.
In this case, how many LP must be paid?
A: While Chain Energy is being applied, 500 LP must be paid when a monster is Normal or Special Summoned from the hand for each monster.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, since 2 monsters are Pendulum Summoned from the hand, the Pendulum Summon is performed by paying 1000 LP beforehand.
(No LP is paid for the monsters that are Pendulum Summoned from the Extra Deck)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=158&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you have cards in your hand at the time of the resolution of the effect of Infernity Archfiend, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect does not resolve.
(The “Infernity” card is not added from your Deck to your hand)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8722&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can X-Saber Souza activate its effect and gain both “•” effects during the same turn?
Also, can it gain the same “•” effect multiple times?
A: If the effect of X-Saber Souza is activated, the “•” to gain is declared upon activation.
If the effect of X-Saber Souza is activated twice during the same turn, it can gain both “•” effects, but it cannot gain the same effect again.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10801&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you control a face-up Precious Cards from Beyond in your Spell & Trap Zone, the opponent performed a Tribute Summon using 2 or more Tributes.
In this case, can you draw cards by the effect of Precious Cards from beyond?
A: The effect of Precious Cards from Beyond can only be activated when the player who activated that copy of Precious Cards from Beyond performs a Tribute Summon using 2 or more Tributes.
Therefore, even if the opponent performs a Tribute Summon, you cannot draw cards by the effect of Precious Cards from Beyond.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13501&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Precious Cards from Beyond is active, if a Level 7 or higher LIGHT monster is Tribute Summoneed and Kaiser SeaHorse is used as 2 tributes, can 2 cards be drawn by this effect?
A: The effect of Precious Cards from Beyond can only be applied if the Tribute Summon is performed using 2 or more actual monsters.
In the proposed scenario, since the effect of Kaiser Sea Horse is used, this counts as a Tribute Summon used as 2 monsters, but only 1 actual tribute, Kaiser Sea Horse, was used. In this case, cards cannot be drawn by the effect of Preciuos Cards from Beyond.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13502&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Chain Energy is being applied, if Emergency Provisions is activated from the hand sending that Chain Energy to the Graveyard as a cost, how do LP change?
A: While the effect of Chain Energy is being applied, 500 LP must be paid to activate or set a Spell or Trpa Card from the hand.
In the proposed scenario, since Emergency Provisions is actiavted from the hand, it is activated by paying 500 LP beforehand, sending Chain Energy to the Graveyard as a cost.
(In summary, after paying 500 LP, 1000 LP is gained when the effect of Emergency Provisions resolves)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13503&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Pendulum Monster on the field is destroyed ,is Vanity’s Emptiness destroyed?
A: Vanity Emptiness destroys itself when a card is sent from the Deck or the field to your Graveyard.
If a Pendulum Monster on the field would be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, since that Pendulum Monster is not sent to the Graveyard and is added to the Extra Deck instead, Vanity Emptiness is not destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13504&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Number 101: Silent Honor Knight or Number C101: Silent Honor Dark targeted a Number 39: Utopia that has 2 Xyz Materials.
In this case, what happens with the Xyz Materials attached to Number 39: Utopia?
A: Even in that case, only the targeted monster is attached as an Xyz Material to Number 101: Silent Honor Knight or Number C101: Silent Honor Dark.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the 2 Xyz Materials attached to Number 39: Utopia are sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13505&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Token Monster be targeted by the effect of Number 101: Silent Honor Knight or Number C101: Silent Honor Dark?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13506&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster targeted by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand is flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon in a chain to the activation of its effect, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, it is not affected by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand.
(Its effects are not negated, and it does not become unaffected by the effects of other cards)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13507&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Gemini Monster in your Graveyard be targeted by the effects of Gem-Knight Obsidian or Gem-Knight Lazuli?
A: Since Gemini Monsters in your Graveyard are treated as Normal Monsters, they can be targeted by the effects of Gem-Knight Obsidian or Gem-Knight Lazuli.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13508&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After gaining an “•” effect by the effect of X-Saber Souza, if it is flipped to face-down Defense Posiiton by the effect of Book of Moon, what happens with the gained “•” effect?
A: In that case, the gained “•” effect is no longer gained.
(Even if flipped face-up afterwards once again, the “•” effect is not gained again, but it is possible to gain it again by activating the effect again)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13509&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An XX-Saber Darksoul you control is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of a Raigeki Break activated during the End Phase.
Can the effect of XX-Saber Darksoul be activated immediatly?
A: In that case, the effect can be activated during that End Phase.
However, since the effect of XX-Saber Dark Soul does not activate when it is sent to the Graveyard, in the proposed scenario, it cannot be activated immediatly when it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Raigeki Break.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13510&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the monster targeted by the effect of Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman be chosen to be Special Summoned by the part of the effect that Special Summons a monster from the opponent’s Graveyard afterwards?
A: Yes, it can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13511&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Who chooses the monster to Special Summon by the effect of Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman?
A: The player who activated the effect of Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman.
(It is not the opponent, who just had their monster destroyed)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13512&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster targeted by the effect of Elemental HERO Necroid Shaman is not destroyed as a result of Forbidden Dress being activated in a chain to that effect, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the part of the effect that Special Summons a monster from the opponent’s Graveyard is not performed. (There is no Special Summon)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13513&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Necrovalley is being applied, is the effect of Forbidden Graveyard negated by the effect of Necrovalley?
A: Since the effect of Forbidden Graveyard is not treated as affecting cards in the Graveyard, even if Necrovalley is active, it is applied normally.
(It is not negated)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13514&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is being applied, the effect of Elemental HERO Terra Firma was activated tributing an “Elemental HERO” monster.
In this case, the tributed monster is not sent to the Graveyard and is banished instead, but does the ATK of Elemental HERO Terra Firma increase?
A: Even in this case, the ATK of Elemental HERO Terra Firma is increased normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13515&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Spellcaster-Type monster affected by Black Illusion is later flipped face-down by the effect of Book of Moon, what happens with the effect of Black Illusion?
A: In that case, the effect that prevents that monster from being destroyed by battle, negates its effects and makes it unaffected by the effects of the opponent’s cards is no longer applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13516&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Spellcaster-Type monster you control affected by a Black Illusion you activated changes control by the effect of Creature Swap, whose card effects is it unaffected by?
A: Even in that case, it is unaffected by cards from the opponent as seen from the point of view of the player who activated Black Illusion.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13517&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Skill Drain is being applied and there are DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters with 2000 ATK or more with their effects negated, can Black Illusion be activated?
A: Even in that case, Black Illusion can be activated.
The DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters with 2000 ATK or more become unable to be destroyed by battle, have their effects negated and are unaffected by the opponent’s card effects until the end of the turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13518&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Shaddoll Beast affected by the effect of Black Illusion is sent to the Graveyard by a card effect, can its effect that draws a card be activated?
A: The monster effects negated by Black Illusion are only effects that activate or apply on the field.
Since the effect of Shaddoll Beast that draws a card activates in the Graveyard, it can be activated and resolved normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13519&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Spellcaster-Type monster affected by Black Illusion has its ATK reduced to less than 2000 by the effect of Shrink, what happens with the applied effect of Black Illusion?
A: Even in that case, that monster remains unable to be destroyed by battle, having its effects negated and being unaffected by the opponent’s card effects until the end of the turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13520&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dark Magician is a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster with 2000 ATK or more, but since it is a Normal Monster, it does not have an effect. Can it be affected by the effect of Black Illusion, despite being unable to have its effects negated?
A: Since Dark Magician is a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster with 2000 ATK or more, it can be affected by the effect of Black Illusion.
In that case, since Dark Magician is a Normal Monster, the end result is that its effects are not negated, it cannot be destroyed in battle, and it is not affected by the opponent’s card effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13521&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons