[OCG] 08/22/2013 OCG Official Rulings

08/22/2013
Assorted rulings:

Q: Is it possible to activate the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades more than once in a single chain?
Example 1: Chain Link 1: Raigeki Break (targeting Number 74: Master of Blades), Chain Link 2: Number 74: Master of Blades, Chain Link 3: Number 74: Master of Blades again.
Example 2: Chain Link 1: Raigeki Break (targeting Number 74: Master of Blades), Chain Link 2: Number 74: Master of Blades, Chain Link 3: Book of Moon (targeting Number 74: Master of Blades), Chain Link 4: Number 74: Master of Blades again.
A: Number 74: Master of Blades can only activate its effect directly in a chain to a Spell, Trap, or Monster effect that targets it. Therefore, in Example 1, it is not possible to activate the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades as Chain Link 3 because it is not chaining directly to Raigeki Break. In Example 2, it is possible to activate the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades more than once per chain because it is being activated directly in a chain to an effect that targets it.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12895&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Number 74: Master of Blades and 1 other card are targeted by Icarus Attack, is it possible to activate the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades?
A: Even if multiple cards are targeted, you can still activate the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12893&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades is unable to negate the activation of a card effect that targets it, can the effect to destroy 1 card on the field still be applied? In addition, if you negate the activation of the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Dracossack to destroy 1 card on the field, but cannot destroy Mecha Phantom Beast Dracossack because there is a Token on the field, can the effect of Number 74: Master of Blades to destroy 1 card on the field still be applied?
A: In both cases, if you cannot negate the activation of the targeting effect, and destroy that card, then you cannot apply the effect to destroy 1 card on the field.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12894&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Are both effects of Number 54: Lion Heart able to activate when it battles a monster?
A: Typically, when Number 54: Lion Heart battles another monster, its effect will activate to inflict damage to your opponent equal to the amount of battle damage you took from that battle. However, if you activate its effect during damage calculation by detaching 1 Xyz Material from it, the effect that causes your opponent to take all battle damage you would take is applied. Therefore, since you did not take any battle damage, the effect that inflicts effect damage to your opponent equal to the amount of battle damage you took does not activate.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12892&keyword=&tag=0

Q: In which situations can the effect of Number 54: Lion Heart be activated? For example, if it attacks a monster with lower ATK than it, but the opponent activates the effect of Honest during damage calculation, can the effect of Number 54: Lion Heart be activated?
A: You are able to activate the effect even if the opponent’s monster’s ATK is lower than that of Number 54: Lion Heart. If the opponent activates the effect of Honest during damage calculation, the effect of Number 54: Lion Heart can be chained to it.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12891&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster targeted by the effect of Number 44: Sky Pegasus is face-down when that effect resolves, is the opponent able to pay 1000 Life Points to negate that effect? Also, even if they do not, is the targeted monster still destroyed?
A: Even if the targeted monster is face-down when the effect of Number 44: Sky Pegasus resolves, the opponent can still pay 1000 Life Points to negate the effect. If they do not, the targeted monster is still destroyed.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12884&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Gimmick Puppet Nightmare is Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted, are you unable to Special Summon any monsters for the rest of the turn, except “Gimmick Puppet” monsters?
A: Even in this case, since Gimmick Puppet Nightmare was Special Summoned successfully, you would not be able to Special Summon any monsters for the rest of the turn, except “Gimmick Puppet” monsters.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12889&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the turn that you already Special Summoned a monster(s) other than “Gimmick Puppet” monsters, is it possible to Special Summon Gimmick Puppet Nightmare?
A: If you already Special Summoned a monster(s) other than “Gimmick Puppet” monsters that turn, you can still Special Summon Gimmick Puppet Nightmare. Afterwards, you will not be able to Special Summon any monsters except “Gimmick Puppet” monsters that turn.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12890&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If you control Princess Cologne, and your opponent’s Normal Monster under your control because of Enemy Controller, is it possible to activate the effect of Princess Cologne to Special Summon a Normal Monster from the Deck/Graveyard when that Normal Monster you controlled is destroyed and sent to the opponent’s Graveyard?
A: Even if the destroyed Normal Monster was originally owned by your opponent and is sent to their Graveyard, you can activate the effect of Princess Cologne as long as that Normal Monster was under your control when it was destroyed.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12888&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to activate the effect of Princess Cologne to Special Summon a Normal Monster from the Deck/Graveyard when a Normal Monster you control is destroyed by an effect that is Chain Link 2 or higher?
A: Even if the Normal Monster is destroyed at Chain Link 2 or higher, the effect of Princess Cologne can be activated after that chain resolves.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12887&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster targeted by the effect of Mechquipped Angineer is face-down when that effect resolves (because of Book of Moon, etc.), then can that monster still be destroyed by battle or card effects that turn?
A: Even if the targeted monster is face-down when the effect of Mechquipped Angineer resolves, the effect still resolves. The targeted monster will be changed to face-up Defense Position, and will not be destroyed by battle or card effects that turn. (Also, if that monster has a Flip Effect, it will activate afterwards.)

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12886&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After the effect of Mechquipped Angineer resolves, if the monster affected by it is then flipped face-down, can that monster be destroyed by battle or card effects that turn?
A: In that case, the effect is no longer applied and the monster can be destroyed by battle and card effects. Also, even if that monster becomes face-up again, the effect of Mechquipped Angineer is not reapplied.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12885&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons