[OCG] 08/20/15 Rulings

And you thought I was done posting rulings.


08/20/15 assorted rulings.

Q: If the effect of my opponent’s Needle Worm sends the top 5 cards of my Deck to the Graveyard, resulting in me having 0 cards remaining in my Deck, will I lose the Duel at that point?
A: Even if your Deck has 0 cards remaining after applying the effect of Needle Worm, you do not immediately lose the Duel. Afterward, when you are drawing a card, such as during the Draw Phase of your turn, you will lose the Duel if you are unable to draw.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=208&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During my turn, after drawing a card during my Draw Phase, if I end my turn without Summoning monsters, activating effects, or declaring any attacks, etc., do I still proceed through each Phase?
A: In this scenario, after drawing during your Draw Phase, even if you wish to end your turn without making any plays, the regular turn flow will occur. (During each Phase, if your opponent wishes to activate any cards or effects, you cannot end your turn without allowing your opponent to do so.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=225&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-up Blackwing – Steam the Cloak is returned to my hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device, will its effect that Special Summons a Steam Token activate? Also, if a face-up Blackwing – Steam the Cloak is returned to my Deck by the effect of Compulsory Escape Device, will its effect that Special Summons a Steam Token activate?
A: If Blackwing – Steam the Cloak is face-up on your side of the field, and returned to your hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device, its effect still activates. Also, if Blackwing – Steam the Cloak is face-up on your side of the field, and returned to your Deck by the effect of Compulsory Escape Device, its effect does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10028&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Blackwing – Steam the Cloak has become a face-up Equip Card by the effect of my opponent’s Relinquished, and is then destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, will its effect that Special Summons a Steam Token activate?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Blackwing – Steam the Cloak activates. (In this situation, the effect will activate in its owner’s Graveyard.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=217&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a face-down Defense Position Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend be Tributed to activate Assault Mode Activate?
A: If Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend is in face-down Defense Position, its effect that treats it as Red Dragon Archfiend is not applied. Therefore, when you activate Assault Mode Activate, you cannot Tribute a face-down Defense Position Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=128&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster be sent to the Graveyard to activate Crop Circles?
A: Even while Embodiment of Apophis is treated as a monster, it is only treated as a Trap Card when it is sent to the Graveyard. The effect of Crop Circles Special Summons 1 “Alien” monster from your Deck whose Level is equal to the combined Levels of the monsters sent to activate Crop Circles. Therefore, when you activate Crop Circles, you cannot send Embodiment of Apophis to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10&keyword=&tag=0

Q: In order to Special Summon a Level 4 monster such as Alien Shocktrooper from my Deck, can I activate Crop Circles by sending a Level 6 monster such as Alien Mother to the Graveyard?
A: Crop Circles must Special Summon a monster whose Level is equal to the combined Levels of the monster sent to the Graveyard to activate Crop Circles. Since you cannot send monsters with a higher Level total than the monster you want to Special Summon, in this scenario, Crop Circles cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9315&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Graydle Alligator, Graydle Eagle, or Graydle Cobra are destroyed and equipped to an opponent’s monster by their own effects. In this situation, while treated as Equip Cards, can Graydle Alligator, etc. be equipped to a different monster by the effect of Tailor of the Fickle?
A: No, they cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13323&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Graydle Alligator, Graydle Eagle, or Graydle Cobra are destroyed and their effects are activated, can I target a monster that cannot change control such as Botanical Lion?
A: An opponent’s Botanical Lion can be equipped when the effects of Graydle Alligator, etc. activate. In this case, although it is not possible to take control of Botanical Lion, the effect that destroys it if Graydle Alligator, etc. leaves the field is still applied. Also note that if Skill Drain is activated after Botanical Lion has been equipped with Graydle Alligator, etc., and its effects are negated, the effect that takes control of it can apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10018&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the turn I activated Pot of Duality, if Guardian Dreadscythe is sent from the field to the Graveyard, will the effect that Special Summons it activate?
A: In this scenario, although you cannot Special Summon monsters, the effect of Guardian Dreadscythe will still activate and create a chain. In that case, you must still send a card from your hand to the Graveyard, but Guardian Dreadscythe will not be Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7313&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A face-up Attack Position Plaguespreader Zombie that was Special Summoned by its own effect battles a face-up Attack Position Water Spirit. At the end of the Damage Step, when the destroyed monsters would be sent to the Graveyard, but Plaguespreader Zombie is banished instead, can I activate Time Machine?
A: Time Machine can only be activated when exactly 1 monster is destroyed by battle, and that monster is sent to the Graveyard. In this scenario, since both Plaguespreader Zombie and Water Spirit were destroyed by battle, Time Machine cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6401&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During my Battle Phase, my opponent activates Magical Hats and Special Summons 2 Spell/Trap Cards as Monster Cards from their Deck. During this Battle Phase, Ceasefire is activated, and those Spell/Trap Cards are flipped face-up. In this situation, is it possible to use the effect of D/D/D Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok to equip 1 of these Spell/Trap Cards to it?
A: In this situation, you can still equip the Spell/Trap Cards Special Summoned by Magical Hats to D/D/D Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok. However, due to the effect of Magical Hats, the equipped Spell/Trap Cards will still be destroyed during the End Step of this Battle Phase after being equipped to D/D/D Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=246&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi is face-up on my side of the field. If my opponent activates Chaos Field by placing it in their Field Zone, will the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi be applied?
A: In this case, when Chaos Field is activated, the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi is applied, and the effect of Chaos Field that adds a “Black Luster Soldier” Ritual Monster or “Gaia the Fierce Knight” monster from the Deck to the hand is negated, but Chaos Field remains in the Field Zone. Note that after the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi has been applied, since it is sent to the Graveyard, the effects of Chaos Field are no longer negated after its resolution is complete. Therefore, Chaos Field will gain Spell Counters normally, and if its effect that that adds a Ritual Spell Card from the Deck to the hand is activated, it will apply normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7739&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi is face-up on my side of the field. If my opponent activates Qliphort Scout as a Spell Card by placing it in their Pendulum Zone, will the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi be applied?
A: In this case, when Qliphort Scout is activated as a Spell Card, the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi is applied, and any effect of the Spell Card that applies when it is activated is negated. Note that after the effect of Abyss-scale of the Mizuchi has been applied, since it is sent to the Graveyard, the effects of Qliphort Scout are no longer negated after its resolution is complete. Therefore, if the effect of Qliphort Scout that adds a “Qli” card from the Deck to the hand is activated, it will apply normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7742&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the second effect of Shuffle Reborn is activated by targeting a Wightprince I control that my opponent owns, how does the effect resolve?
A: You target a monster you control that your opponent owns with the effect of Shuffle Reborn. In this scenario, Wightprince returns to its owner’s Deck rather than your own. Note that since no card was returned to your own Deck, you do not shuffle your Deck. (The opponent’s Deck that Wightprince returned to is shuffled.) Afterward, you draw 1 card. (Also, the effect of banishing a card from your hand during the End Phase applies normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8880&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of Rivalry of Warlords is applying, can the effect of Construction Train Signal Red be activated? Also, if the effect of Construction Train Signal Red is activated, but Rivalry of Warlords is chained to it, how does the effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Rivalry of Warlords is already applying, and you have face-up monsters on your side of the field that are not Machine-Type, you cannot activate the effect of Construction Train Signal Red. In addition, if the effect of Construction Train Signal Red is activated, but Rivalry of Warlords is chained and you have face-up monsters on your side of the field that are not Machine-Type, Construction Train Signal Red will remain in your hand without being Special Summoned. As a result, its effects will not apply. (Note that if you do have Machine-Type monsters on your side of the field, the effect of Construction Train Signal Red is applied normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6884&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Metalmorph, Kunai with Chain, Tyrant Wing, Graydle Split, or similar Trap Cards are activated that become Equip Cards when they resolve, but Royal Decree is chained, how do they resolve?
A: If Royal Decree is chained to Metalmorph, etc., then the effect of those Trap Cards that equips them to a monster is negated, so it is not possible for them to be equipped, and they are sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6396&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Qliphort Cephalopod is Normal Summoned without Tributing. Then, the effect of Performage Mirror Conductor is activated, switching the ATK and DEF of Qliphort Cephalopod. Then, if Skill Drain is activated, and the effects of Qliphort Cephalopod are negated, what happens to its ATK and DEF?
A: In this scenario, firstly, after the monster effect of Performage Mirror Conductor is applied, the ATK and DEF of a Qliphort Cephalopod that was Normal Summoned without Tributing become 1000 and 1800, respectively. If the effect of Skill Drain is then applied, although the effect of Qliphort Cephalopod that changes its Level and original ATK is negated, its ATK and DEF will remain 1000 and 1800. Then, when the effect of Performage Mirror Conductor stops applying at the end of the turn, the ATK and DEF of Qliphort Cephalopod become 2800 and 1000, respectively.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=126&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After the effect of Genex Spare is applied, making its name Genex Controller, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Genex Spare are negated, what will its name become?
A: After applying the effect of Genex Spare, so that its name becomes Genex Controller, even if Skill Drain is activated, the effect of Genex Spare will continue applying. (Its name will be treated as Genex Controller.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11651&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Gauntlet Warrior is battling an opponent’s monster, can its effect be activated during the Damage Step by Tributing it?
A: Even if Gauntlet Warrior itself is battling an opponent’s monster, its effect can be activated at the start of the Damage Step or before damage calculation. In that case, damage calculation does not occur, and the Damage Step ends. However, if Gauntlet Warrior is the only monster on your side of the field, you cannot activate its effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=157&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons