[OCG] 08/18/16 Rulings

Not your average rulebook-tier questions.

08/18/16 Rulings

Q: If a Dark Lucius LV6 that was Special Summoned by the effect of Dark Lucius LV4 destroys an opponent’s Normal Monster by battle, will its effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle be applied? Furthermore, during the Standby Phase of my next turn, can I activate the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 from my hand or Deck?
A: If Dark Lucius LV6 destroys an opponent’s Normal Monster by battle, the effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle is not applied. Furthermore, the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 cannot be activated during your next Standby Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6660&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Dark Lucius LV6 that was Special Summoned by the effect of Dark Lucius LV4 destroys an opponent’s Gemini monster by battle, will its effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle be applied? Furthermore, during the Standby Phase of my next turn, can I activate the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 from my hand or Deck?
A: Even if Dark Lucius LV6 destroys an opponent’s Gemini monster by battle, the effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle is applied normally. (It does not matter if the Gemini monster is treated as a Normal Monster or an Effect Monster.) Furthermore, the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 can be activated during your next Standby Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6781&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Dark Lucius LV6 that was Special Summoned by the effect of Dark Lucius LV4 destroys an opponent’s Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth by battle, will its effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle be applied? Furthermore, during the Standby Phase of my next turn, can I activate the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 from my hand or Deck?
A: Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth is not an Effect Monster, and has no effects. If Dark Lucius LV6 destroys an opponent’s Gaia Knight, the Force of Earth by battle, the effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle is not applied. Furthermore, the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 cannot be activated during your next Standby Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9330&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Dark Lucius LV6 that was Special Summoned by the effect of Dark Lucius LV4 destroys an opponent’s Mara of the Nordic Alfar by battle, will its effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle be applied? Furthermore, during the Standby Phase of my next turn, can I activate the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 from my hand or Deck?
A: Mara of the Nordic Alfar has no monster effects, but it is an Effect Monster. Even if Dark Lucius LV6 destroys an opponent’s Mara of the Nordic Alfar by battle, the effect that negates the effects of monsters it destroys by battle is applied normally. Furthermore, the effect of Dark Lucius LV6 that Special Summons a Dark Lucius LV8 can be activated during your next Standby Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9322&keyword=&tag=-1

Note: Mara’s text is not considered an effect. It’s a condition that cannot be negated.

Q: Tyrant’s Temper is face-up on my field, and its effect that makes all monsters on the field that I own unaffected by other Trap effects is applying. In this situation, if my opponent activates Ceasefire, and my Des Feral Imps is flipped face-up, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of your opponent’s Ceasefire, any Set monsters on the field are flipped face-up, also you take 500 damage for each Effect Monster on the field. Once the effect’s resolution is completed, the effect of Tyrant’s Temper is applied to the flipped Des Feral Imp. Therefore, since Des Feral Imps was flipped face-up by the effect of Ceasefire, its effect does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10203&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Darkstorm Dragon treated as a Normal Monster by its own effect is face-up on my field. In this situation, if Supervise is activated and equipped to Darkstorm Dragon, treating it as an Effect Monster that has been Normal Summoned again, can my opponent activate Torrential Tribute?
A: If a Gemini monster treated as a Normal Monster is equipped with Supervise, although it is then treated as an Effect Monster that has been Normal Summoned again, there was no Normal Summon actually performed. Therefore, in this scenario, if Darkstorm Dragon is equipped with Supervise, your opponent cannot activate Torrential Tribute.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6185&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Heavy Knight of the Flame is Special Summoned from the Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn. Afterward, if Supervise is activated and equipped to Heavy Knight of the Flame, treating it as an Effect Monster that has been Normal Summoned again, is it possible to equip Bashing Shield to that Heavy Knight of the Flame?
A: Bashing Shield can only be equipped to a monster that was Normal Summoned/Set. A Special Summoned Gemini monster that is equipped with Supervise and treated as an Effect Monster is not considered to have been Normal Summoned, so it cannot be equipped with Bashing Shield.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7818&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of a Spark Field in my Field Zone that banishes a face-up Gemini monster from my field and destroys an opponent’s targeted card. Afterward, during my opponent’s next End Phase, if I have no available Monster Zones, what happens to my banished Gemini monster?
A: When a Gemini monster that was banished by the effect of Spark Field would return to the field during your opponent’s next End Phase, if you have no available Monster Zones, that monster will not be able to return to the field and is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8613&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I send a DIVINE monster from my Deck to the Graveyard with the effect of Jewels of the Valiant?
A: If you activate the effect of Jewels of the Valiant when a LIGHT, DARK, EARTH, WATER, FIRE, or WIND monster is banished from your Graveyard, you can send a DIVINE monster from your Deck to the Graveyard when the effect resolves.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6835&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When resolving the effect of Odd-Eyes Fusion, if I want to apply the effect of Chain Material, from where can I use monsters as Fusion Materials?
A: If you resolve the effect of Odd-Eyes Fusion without applying the effect of Chain Material, you can use Fusion Materials from your field or hand for the Fusion Summon. At this time, if your opponent controls 2 or more monsters while you have none, you can also use appropriate monsters in your Extra Deck. (Even in this case, if you activated Chain Material this turn, you cannot attack.) Furthermore, if you wish to apply the effect of Chain Material, you can banish monsters from your hand, field, Deck, and/or Graveyard as Fusion Materials, but even if your opponent controls 2 or more monsters while you have none, you cannot use monsters from your Extra Deck. (In this case, since you Fusion Summoned by applying the effect of Chain Material, the Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase of this turn.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16597&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons