[OCG] 08/17/17 Rulings

This week’s ruling forecast includes Weathery cards, a chance of Circuit Break, and terrible weather jokes.

08/17/17 Rulings

Q: A Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King on my field is unaffected by monster and Trap effects due to its own effect. In this situation, my opponent activates the effect of Lyna the Light Charmer and targets Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King. After that effect has resolved, if my opponent activates Forbidden Chalice and negates the effects of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Lyna the Light Charmer resolved, Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King was unaffected by monster effects, so your opponent did not take control of it. Even if the effects of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King are negated afterward, control of it does not change to your opponent.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13834&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Sea Stealth Attack is activated, is it possible to also activate its effect by banishing a face-up WATER monster until the End Phase, as part of the same Chain Link?
A: The “●” effects of Sea Stealth Attack that it gains while Umi is on the field are effects that can only be activated after the card itself has successfully resolved. Therefore, you cannot activate them in the same Chain as the initial activation of Sea Stealth Attack.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8401&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Spirit Reaper is Special Summoned by the effect of Premier Burial, is Spirit Reaper destroyed by its own effect?
A: Premier Burial targets a monster in the Graveyard, but after that monster is Special Summoned and equipped, it continues to target it. In this scenario, if Spirit Reaper is Special Summoned with Premier Burial, the effect of Premier Burial that negates the equipped monster’s effects is also applied, so Spirit Reaper is not destroyed by its own effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9578&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Special Summoning a Shadow Six Samurai – Rihan from the Extra Deck by its own procedure, can I send a face-down Defense Position “Six Samurai” monster to the Graveyard as material?
A: When Special Summoning a Shadow Six Samurai – Rihan from the Extra Deck by its own procedure, you can send a face-down Defense Position “Six Samurai” monster on your field to the Graveyard as material. When Special Summoning Shadow Six Samurai – Rihan this way, you must send monsters with different Attributes, and if you use a face-down Defense Position monster as material, its original Attribute must be different than the other monster’s Attribute.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6096&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating Shadow Art of the Six Samurai, can I send a monster to the Graveyard other than a “Six Samurai” monster?
A: The effect of Shadow Art of the Six Samurai Special Summons a banished “Six Samurai” monster, but you can send a non-”Six Samurai” monster to the Graveyard as the cost when activating it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8168&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating Trap of Darkness, can I target The Six Shinobi in my Graveyard?
A: The Six Shinobi cannot be activated unless you have 6 “Six Samurai” monsters with different Attributes on your field. Even if you target The Six Shinobi with Trap of Darkness, you must still have 6 “Six Samurai” monsters with different Attributes on your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12116&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Junk Collector, can I banish The Six Shinobi from my Graveyard?
A: The Six Shinobi cannot be activated unless you have 6 “Six Samurai” monsters with different Attributes on your field. Therefore, it is not possible to banish The Six Shinobi when activating the effect of Junk Collector.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10994&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I attempt to Normal Summon a Magibullet Shooter Caspar while I have no cards on my field, but my opponent activates Solemn Warning to negate the Summon, can I apply the effect of Magibullet Shooter Caspar and Chain a Magibullet Deadman’s Burst from my hand?
A: In this scenario, if your opponent is activating Solemn Warning in order to negate the Normal Summon of Magibullet Shooter Caspar, Magibullet Shooter Caspar has not been Summoned successfully yet, so its effect cannot be applied. In this case, you cannot activate a Magibullet Deadman’s Burst from your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14043&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Magibullet Fiend Zamiel is face-up in my Monster Zone, I activated Magibullet Never-Endorphin and Magibullet Cross-Dominator during my opponent’s turn, but my opponent chained Solemn Judgment to Magibullet Never-Endorphin and negated its activation. During the End Phase, if I activate the effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel that draws cards, how many do I draw?
A: The effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel allows you to draw cards equal to the number of “Magibullet” Spell/Trap Cards you activated during that turn, but any whose activation was negated is not included. Therefore, in this scenario, you draw 1 card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8867&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Magibullet Fiend Zamiel is face-up in my Monster Zone, I activate Magibullet Death-perado and Magibullet Devil’s Deal during my opponent’s turn. During the End Phase, if I activate the effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel that draws cards, but chain Magibullet Dancing Needle, how many cards do I draw with the effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel?
A: The effect of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel allows you to draw cards equal to the number of “Magibullet” Spell/Trap Cards you activated during that turn, and in this scenario, a “Magibullet” card chained to that effect is also included. Therefore, in this scenario, you draw 3 cards.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9060&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Magibullet Fiend Zamiel is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, my opponent activates Magibullet Devil’s Deal and Magibullet Dancing Needle during my turn. If I activate Enemy Controller and take control of Magibullet Fiend Zamiel, can I activate its effect during the End Phase?
A: In this scenario, while you controlled Magibullet Fiend Zamiel, you did not activate any “Magibullet” Spell/Trap Cards during your opponent’s turn, so you cannot activate its effect during the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7979&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of a “Weathery” monster that it gained from Sunny Weathery Pattern, can a monster other than a “Weathery” monster be targeted?
A: The effect gained from Sunny Weathery Pattern is one that Tributes the targeted monster and Special Summons a “Weathery” monster with a different name, and can also target a non-”Weathery” monster on your field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7310&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Thunder Weathery Turmer has gained the effect of returning a battling monster to the hand at the start of the Damage Step from Thunder Weathery Pattern, can that effect be activated when Thunder Weathery Turmer battles a Token?
A: Even if a “Weathery” monster that has gained the effect from Thunder Weathery Pattern battles an opponent’s Token, you can activate that effect at the start of the Damage Step. In this case, the Token disappears when it leaves the field, so it is not returned to the hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8180&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If exactly 1 monster on the field or in the Graveyard is returned to the hand by the effect of Firewall Dragon, can the effect of a “Weathery” monster that it gained from a face-up Aurora Weathery Pattern be activated?
A: The effect that a monster gains from Aurora Weathery Pattern can be activated whenever a player adds 1 card to their hand, including from the field or Graveyard. However, in this case, if a card was added to the hand by the effect of Firewall Dragon that activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, the effect gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8323&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Light of Redemption, and add a banished Thunder Weathery Turmer to my hand. At this time, if I activate the effect of a Polar Weathery Lampla that it gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern, but my opponent chains Imperial Iron Wall, how does that effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect that Polar Weathery Lampla gained from Aurora Weathery Pattern resolves while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying. The card added to your hand cannot be banished, and you cannot draw a card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12117&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.