Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 08/30/22 Rulings Update

The list consolidation continues.

 

Q: When resolving the effect of Necroface that banishes the top 5 cards of each player’s Deck, what happens if one or both players have 4 or less cards in their Deck?
A: When resolving the effect, if a player has 4 or less cards in their Deck, all remaining cards in their Deck are banished. (When resolving any effect that applies to multiple cards on the top of the Deck, if the number of cards left in the Deck is less than the number specified by the effect, the effect is applied to the remaining cards in the Deck.)
Similarly, when resolving the effects of the following cards that banish from the top of the Deck, the remaining cards in the Deck are banished even if there are fewer cards in the Deck than required:
– Runick Destruction
– Runick Dispelling
– Runick Flashing Fire
– Runick Freezing Curses
– Runick Golden Droplet

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning Silent Magician by its own procedure, can I Tribute a face-down Defense Position Spellcaster monster in my Monster Zone?
A: If the monster’s original Type is Spellcaster, it can be Tributed. Similarly, when Normal or Special Summoning the following monsters, you can Tribute monsters in face-down Defense Position that are specified by their card text:
– Apoqliphort Towers
– Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance
– Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer
– DoSolfachord Coolia
– Egyptian God Slime
– Ehther the Heavenly Monarch
– Flower Cardian Paulownia with Phoenix
– Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon
– Holactie the Creator of Light
– Master Peace, the True Dracoslayer
– Rainbow Overdragon
– Silent Swordsman
– Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom
– The Legendary Exodia Incarnate
– The Legendary Fisherman III
– Thunder Dragon Colossus
– Twilight Ninja Getsuga, the Shogun
– Vaylantz Genesis Grand Duke
– Zefraath

Source

 

Q: Can I activate and resolve Advanced Ritual Art in situations where monsters sent to the Graveyard are banished instead by effects such as Macro Cosmos?
A: It can still be activated. When resolving its effect, the Normal Monsters chosen from the Deck are banished instead of sent to the Graveyard, but the Ritual Monster is still Special Summoned.
The same applies to the following cases:
– When sending a monster from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard instead of Tributing with the effect of Nekroz Kaleidoscope.
– When sending an “Odd-Eyes” monster from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard instead of Tributing with the effect of Odd-Eyes Advent.
– When sending a Normal Monster from your Deck to the Graveyard with the effect of Magikey Maftea.

Source

 

Q: If D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga is Xyz Summoned while the effect of Skill Drain is applying, will its effect that prevents other cards’ effects on the field from being activated and negates their effects for the rest of the turn apply?
A: It will not apply. The effect of D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga, which does not start a Chain, is applied in the Monster Zone immediately when D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga is Xyz Summoned. Once applied, regardless of what happens to D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga, other cards and their effects cannot be activated on the field and other cards’ effects on the field are negated for the rest of the turn. (It is not an effect that only applies while the card is on the field, such as a Continuous Effect.)
Therefore, if the effects of D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga are negated by Skill Drain at the time it is successfully Xyz Summoned, that effect is not applied. Afterward, even if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, the effect of D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga will still not apply.
On the other hand, if the first effect of D/D/D Duo-Dawn King Kali Yuga was already applied, but its effects are then negated by another card, its first effect continues to apply during that turn.
The following cards also have effects that apply in the Monster Zone immediately when they are successfully Normal or Special Summoned:
– Amorphactor Pain, the Imagination Dracoverlord*
– Brotherhood of the Fire Fist – Horse Prince
– Constellar Pollux
– D/D Orthtros
– Dodger Dragon
– Earth Golem @Ignister
– Evilswarm Castor
– Outer Entity Azathot
– Ritual Beast Tamer Elder
– Secure Gardna
– Superheavy Samurai Big Waraji
– Superheavy Samurai Transporter
– Superheavy Samurai Trumpeter
– Symphonic Warrior Miccs
– Titaniklad the Ash Dragon

Source

*Note: In the TCG, Amorphactor Pain’s text has been (repeatedly) mistranslated so that its first effect starts a Chain, so parts of this ruling would not apply to it if following that (erroneous) text.

 

Q: If a Digital Bug Corebage I control is changed from Attack Position to face-up Defense Position, can I activate its last effect targeting itself? Also, if I Flip Summon a Digital Bug Corebage I control, can I activate its last effect targeting itself?
A: Its effect can be activated in both cases. (Both cases are situations where the battle position of a monster on the field is changed.)

Source

 

Q: When Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6, which is unaffected by Spell effects, would be destroyed by battle or card effect, can I apply the second effect of Return of the Dragon Lords and banish it instead, or the effect of Therion Discolosseum and send a “Therion” card or Endless Engine Argyro System to the Graveyard instead?
A: Yes, you can. (Effects such as the second effects of Return of the Dragon Lords and Therion Discolosseum, which perform another action instead of cards being destroyed, are not effects that apply to the cards that were originally supposed to be destroyed.)
Furthermore, the effect of Therion Discolosseum can be applied even when the following monsters would be destroyed by battle:
– Cannonball Spear Shellfish while Umi is on the field
– Chaos Ancient Gear Giant
– Deepsea Warrior while Umi is on the field
– Geomathmech Final Sigma in the Extra Monster Zone
– Gladiator Beast Alexander that was Special Summoned
– Guardian Kay’est
– Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon
– The Agent of Force – Mars
– The Arrival Cyberse @Ignister
– The Legendary Fisherman III
– The Legendary Fisherman while Umi is on the field
– Torpedo Fish while Umi is on the field
– Ultimate Insect LV1

Source

 

Q: When performing a Fusion Summon by returning materials to the Deck, if I return a Fusion Monster to the Extra Deck as the material, can I Fusion Summon that same returned Fusion Monster?
A: No, you cannot. A monster being returned to the Extra Deck as a Fusion Material must be a different copy than the monster being Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck (the monster returned to the Extra Deck as material cannot be selected as the monster to be Fusion Summoned). Therefore, if you do not have a set of Fusion Materials available to use and the corresponding Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck that can be Fusion Summoned using those materials, the Fusion Summoning effect itself cannot be activated.
For example, the above conditions must be met when performing a Fusion Summon with the following effects:
– Cyberload Fusion
– Lubellion the Searing Dragon
– Myutant Cry
– Parallel World Fusion
– Tearlaments Havnis
– Tearlaments Merrli
– Tearlaments Scheiren
– Thunder Dragon Fusion
– Ultimate Fusion

Source

 

Q: Which effects are negated if Photon Orbital is banished by Called by the Grave?
A: If a monster is banished by the effect of Called by the Grave, the effects of monsters with the same original name are negated. If Photon Orbital is banished by the effect of Called by the Grave, its monster effects are negated. However, its effect that activate and apply while it is equipped (which are Equip Spell effects) are not considered monster effects, so they are not negated.
Specifically:
● When resolving the effect “equip this monster from your hand or field to that target”, if the effect of Called by the Grave that banished Photon Orbital is applying, the effect is negated.
● If Photon Orbital is already equipped by its own effect, even if the effect of Called by the Grave is applied, the equipped monster will still gain 500 ATK and cannot be destroyed by battle. (This effect is applied as an Equip Spell effect, so it is not negated by Called by the Grave.)
● When resolving the effect “add 1 “Photon” or “Galaxy” monster from your Deck to your hand”, even if the effect of Called by the Grave is applying, you still add 1 “Photon” or “Galaxy” monster from your Deck to your hand. (This effect is activated and applied as an Equip Spell effect, so it is not negated by Called by the Grave.)

Source

 

Q: While monsters in the Graveyard are treated as Beast-Type by the effect of Rebirth Judgment, if I activate the effect of the Fairy-Type Vernusylph of the Flourishing Hills and Special Summon Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest, can I activate the effect of that Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest? (Was it Special Summoned by the effect of a Beast monster?)
A: You cannot activate its effect. (It was Special Summoned by the effect of a Fairy monster.)
As a general rule, when Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest is Special Summoned by a monster’s effect, refer to the current Type of the monster that activated that effect. However, if the monster that activated the effect is no longer in the same place where its effect activated from (such as if it was moved to a different place by its activation cost or by the effect of another card chained to it), refer to its Type at the time of activation.
In this situation, Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest is Special Summoned by the effect of Vernusylph of the Flourishing Hills that activated in your hand. When Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest is Special Summoned, Vernusylph of the Flourishing Hills is no longer in the place where its effect activated from (the hand), so you refer to the Type Vernusylph of the Flourishing Hills has at the time its effect activated. Since the effect activated while Vernusylph of the Flourishing Hills was a Fairy monster in your hand, the effect of Kalantosa, Mystical Beast of the Forest cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If Daigusto Sphreez (ATK 2000) battles Mikanko of the Oohime (ATK 0), which player takes battle damage?
A: The controller of Daigusto Sphreez takes 2000 damage. An effect that makes the opponent take any battle damage instead is not applied to the damage caused by another effect that makes the opponent take battle damage instead.

Source

 

Q: While I control Naturia Sunflower and Naturia Camellia, when my opponent activates a monster effect as Chain Link 1, I apply the effect of Naturia Camellia when activating the effect of Naturia Sunflower as Chain Link 2. If my opponent further activates a monster effect as Chain Link 3, can I activate the effect of Naturia Sunflower again as Chain Link 4?
A: Yes, you can. Similarly, if you apply the effect of Naturia Camellia when activating the effect of Naturia Vein, you can also activate the effect of Naturia Vein multiple times on the same Chain.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.